L.E.K. Consulting Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

L.E.K. Consulting Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
L.E.K. Consulting CEO Stuart Jackson
Stuart Jackson
171 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people - especially at the associate level(in 26 reviews)

  • "Steep learning curve with responsibilities from day 1(in 25 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Senior Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L.E.K. Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Data driven process gives great grounding in excel and PowerPoint for future roles; Great opportunities to travel within the company. Great place to start career

    Cons

    Long hours could be avoided with better upfront preparation; Can feel like a resource rather than an employee when office is busy

    Advice to Management

    Good luck

    L.E.K. Consulting2017-09-28
  2. "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L.E.K. Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company with very friendly people

    Cons

    None to share so far from my experience

    L.E.K. Consulting2019-11-13
  3. "Great place to start and grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at L.E.K. Consulting full-time

    Pros

    You get to work with uniformly intelligent, hard-working, motivated people,. I have been blown away by the quality of people on each one of my project teams. Lots of interesting projects, and opportunities for hard-working top-performers to quickly get promoted into positions of increasing stature and professional responsibility. Develop life science sector expertise, while also developing consulting,... problem-solving, and financial skills which will be useful regardless of your future career. The life science industry in Japan is going through a period of transformative change which should make life science consulting a lucrative professional opportunity in coming years. Even if you don’t stay in consulting long-term, the skills you learn here will be useful and applicable regardless of your future career. Work-life flexibility. This is not meant to say that the work isn’t intense or demanding (it is, and I address that below in the cons), but you will have the flexibility to arrange work around your personal life. If you have personal issues to attend to (droppoing children off at school, etc) work can accommodate that as long as you complete your work on-time. Furthermore, people in the company are generally very good about respecting weekends and holidays. The office has recently taken measures to strengthen the HR function. The recruiting and on-boarding system has been revolutionized and made much much faster, bringing headcount in the office more in-line with the workload. A systematic training program has been put in place – each quarter, a day is set aside just for training and project work is not allowed to take place during this special training day.

    Show More

    Cons

    IT infrastructure is appallingly bad. The hardware is bad. The computers are slow, flitchy, and routinely crash, significantly impeding work productivity. We have all gotten in the habit of routinely saving our work every 3 minutes to avoid losing work to crashes. New joiners are commonly given old machines in a bad state of disrepair, further exacerbating the problem. The network is appallingly slow. It takes... too long to send and receive e-mail, and too long to transfer files to the network, again significantly impeding productivity. Frankly, given L.E.K.’s stature as one of the world’s top strategy consulting firms, I am shocked at the state of the IT infrastructure. Furthermore, there does not seem to be any motivation within the company to do anything about it. We are routinely given the opportunity to provide feedback on IT (i.e. through internet surveys, one-to-one meetings with IT personnel) and nothing ever improves.

    Show More
    L.E.K. Consulting2019-11-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at L.E.K. Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair performance review and regular promotion cycle (4 times a year) Strong in healthcare and life science industry Good compensation Smart colleagues with high professionalism

    Cons

    Tokyo office is still small in size which limits the flexibility of project allocation, etc.

    L.E.K. Consulting2019-10-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to build a career in healthcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L.E.K. Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Very strong in healthcare and lifesciences; doing truly strategic and transformative work and supporting very innovative companies with their Japan strategy - Very international, diverse environment - Flat hierarchy - Transparent, sincere culture - Smart and hardworking team members - Offers pathways to a range of other good opportunities, including good grad school options, marketing / strategy roles at... leading healthcare and tech companies, private equity and equity research, etc. - Global brand that is recognized in US, EU and beyond

    Show More

    Cons

    - Some projects have long working hours - Healthcare focus isn't for some - International environment may not be so good for people who want too immerse themselves in Japanese corporate culture

    Advice to Management

    - Try to work smarter and not just harder - Try to build diversity at all levels

    L.E.K. Consulting2019-10-28
  6. "Fast paced, good learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I have been working at L.E.K. Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart colleagues, you will learn a lot through sheer number of hours worked,

    Cons

    Long hours, employees can feel undervalued by management

    L.E.K. Consulting2019-10-28
  7. "L.E.K., Great Employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L.E.K. Consulting full-time

    Pros

    Strong PE focus, career perspective, company events, great spirit at junior staff, less travel, salary, international swap program, car allowance.

    Cons

    Work life balance, Munich as the only German office

    L.E.K. Consulting2019-10-25
  8. "Great experience, but wouldn't go back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Life Sciences Specialist 

    I worked at L.E.K. Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Diversity of work, great colleagues

    Cons

    Sweat shop, high turn around creates staffing problems

    L.E.K. Consulting2019-10-18
  9. "Great DD house, but long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L.E.K. Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    interesting projects, generally pleasant people

    Cons

    Very very long hours (80+)

    Advice to Management

    better management team (especially junior partners....)

    L.E.K. Consulting2019-11-02
  10. "Great first job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L.E.K. Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You learn quite a bit in a short period of time.

    Cons

    Very very VERY long hours.

    L.E.K. Consulting2019-10-18
Found 440 reviews