Knowledge First Financial Reviews

Updated Oct 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
88%
Recommend to a Friend
Knowledge First Financial President and CEO Carrie Russell
Carrie Russell
0 Rating
Pros
  • "Great learning curve and work environment(in 6 reviews)

  • "Work from home is readily available; get out early on long weekends; fruit Mondays; employee celebrations(in 3 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Very good job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Knowledge First Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    self-employed pays very well flexible hours career opportunities

    Cons

    There are no major downsides

    Knowledge First Financial Response

    November 17, 2020

    We’re so glad you are having a positive experience! Thank you again for your commitment to helping Canadian families maximize their education savings through RESP specialists.

  2. "Working in KFF"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Knowledge First Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company - friendly environment, flexibility of working from home

    Cons

    The salary is very low compare to the load of works

    Knowledge First Financial Response

    November 17, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate hearing your feedback regarding compensation and workload. We regularly benchmark our pay against the marketplace to ensure we remain competitive. In addition, we offer a variety of avenues for employees to express any concerns (including those around workload) and we encourage them all to speak to their managers, a member of the HR team, or through the anonymous channels the company offers.


  3. "Good for first job. Bad for long term prospects."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Knowledge First Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues. Nice work environment. Fun place to work.

    Cons

    No long term prospects. They have a fixed budget for every department for very few full time employees. They hire based on that budget. One cannot get a full time permanent position until someone else leaves. One is stuck in a contract position. No proper forecasting. So they hire and fire at will without any proper planning then scramble at the last minute to meet the needs. Employees are not promoted based on skills but based on preferences and rapports with the top management.

    Continue reading

    Knowledge First Financial Response

    November 17, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and the opportunity for us to address your concerns. You are correct, we do have a core team and at times we need to augment that team with contract help. You are also correct that there is no opportunity for full-time positions until we have turnover in that core team. The turnover of our full time positions is low, so the opportunities are limited. Our business does have seasonality which means that our requirements fluctuate up and down, and we have had some challenges in forecasting but we are working hard to improve. There is no doubt that we do on occasion lose good contract people that otherwise we wish we could retain. As far as your comment about individuals only being promoted based on their rapport with top management, we work hard to make sure that that is not the case. Rapport is certainly a key factor on whether an individual will be promoted but it is meaningless without the correct skill set. Thank you again for your feedback as it will help us improve, and we wish you continued success in your future endeavors.

  4. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    Former Employee - IT Analyst 

    I worked at Knowledge First Financial full-time

    Pros

    Work from home is allowed

    Cons

    i can not identify any at the moment

    Knowledge First Financial Response

    November 17, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your experience!

  5. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Software Developer 

    I worked at Knowledge First Financial full-time

    Pros

    A small and easy going team

    Cons

    Not paid as per market

    Knowledge First Financial Response

    November 17, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We appreciate your candid feedback regarding compensation. We regularly benchmark our roles against the marketplace to ensure we offer competitive total compensation packages. We encourage all employees to express their concerns to their manager, through employee surveys, a member of the HR team, or through anonymous channels the company offers. If you didn’t have the opportunity to provide feedback before your departure, please send your contact info and we would be happy to send you a survey link.

  6. "This company is good for starters"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Supervisor in Calgary, AB

    I have been working at Knowledge First Financial full-time

    Pros

    For new comers are this company helps a lot to teach the required skills

    Cons

    Extra work loads at time

    Knowledge First Financial Response

    November 17, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Like most businesses, we have a peak season during which our volumes go up. We truly appreciate the hard work that our Call Centre Representatives put in to ensure our customers receive great service. Thank you again for your commitment to helping Canadian families maximize their education savings.

  7. "RESP Sales Rep"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Knowledge First Financial full-time

    Pros

    Great flexible career with a great mission!

    Cons

    100% Commission which could be a pro and con at times.

    Knowledge First Financial Response

    November 17, 2020

    We’re so happy that you are having a positive experience! Your success in a commissioned-selling environment is supported by the branch leadership and a Head Office team that is equally committed to helping Canadian families maximize their education savings through RESP specialists.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Software Developer"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Software Developer 

    I worked at Knowledge First Financial full-time

    Pros

    It is a good company to start your career with. Salary and benefits good.

    Cons

    No room for growth even after your hard work. They will let you go doesn't matter how much you have given to them.

  9. "Meaningful work, grow your own business with support and earn commissions and incentives reflective of your efforts."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Knowledge First Financial

    Pros

    Work here if you want to be rewarded for your direct efforts and results. Work here if you are motivated by incentives to perform. Work here if you are creative, resourceful and can connect easily with people. Work here if you are smart and you like to be creative in a marketing kind of way. Work here if you want a career path to follow. Work here if you like psychology and people and advising. Work here if you are a believer in goal setting. Sales skills and fact finding skill set is an asset.

    Cons

    You have to manage your time well as your hours are your own. It takes effort and time to develop the new sales skill if you don’t have one to get results. You need to be patient and determined and have humility with clients to earn their trust and for you to get a result. You need the mindset that you need to invest in your own business first (time and money often) to get results. It requires consistency and persistence.

    Continue reading

    Knowledge First Financial Response

    November 17, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! Your observations on what it takes to be successful in a commissions based sales role are completely valid and correct. It takes work and dedication like any other role. Training is key to success in a commissioned-sales environment, and we will be sure to share your feedback with the management team.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Workplace"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Knowledge First Financial full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance good benefits

    Cons

    reliance on outdated systems and technologies

    Knowledge First Financial Response

    November 17, 2020

    We appreciate hearing your feedback. We are constantly trying to improve all areas of the business, including our systems and technologies. Innovation is one of our organizational values, and we push all our employees to find ways to make us better. In doing this, we are moving away from outdated systems and technologies. Thank you for your feedback, and we will share it with the management team.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 48 English Reviews