Kennametal Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Kennametal Reviews

Updated Sep 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 312 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Kennametal CEO Ronald De Feo (no image)
Ronald De Feo
71 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "To much un-certainty with upper management(in 9 reviews)

  • "Plant manager, production manager, quality manager- all mangers incompetent, seriously(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Temporary 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kennametal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent community with great chance for advancement if you can push yourself to learn and take all the hours available.

    Cons

    Training can be tough if you can't teach yourself and only depend on others for direction.

    Advice to Management

    So far they are treating me better than any job I've ever had. Constant encouragement, opportunity and available hours.

    Kennametal2015-07-01
  2. "Needs to pay more attention to strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Manager in Belleville, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kennametal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good bunch of people to work with

    Cons

    too many initiatives and not properly priortised

    Advice to Management

    Focus on key priorities so people dont get burned out

    Kennametal2016-10-24
  3. "A good company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kennametal full-time

    Pros

    Fast growing company, stable work.

    Cons

    Slow promotion in our department.

    Advice to Management

    To provide more chances.

    Kennametal2013-12-28
  4. "Good Company has its flaws"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Latrobe, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kennametal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Reasonable healthcare and benefits Nice work environment

    Cons

    Lack of effective training on new devices.

    Advice to Management

    Structure a better training program for new Engineers using software and equipment that is internal to the company.

    Kennametal2019-09-03
  5. "Good very good excellent ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kennametal full-time

    Pros

    Place to learn and work together

    Cons

    Not appreciable to the effortd

    Kennametal2019-08-26
  6. "Very good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager Raw Material Procurement in Latrobe, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kennametal full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great long term career company

    Cons

    No negative comments. Tough business with Chinese controlling W prices and supply.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Kennametal2019-08-21
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Extrusion Operator 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Kennametal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Willing to teach if you was willing to put in the work and try

    Cons

    It has closed down many of its plant

    Kennametal2019-07-22
  8. "difficult to recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Poznań, Greater Poland
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Kennametal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good benefits for new starters

    Cons

    unstable environment and too complicated structure

    Kennametal2019-08-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kennametal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pay is okay (if you're content living outside of a metro area for the rest of your life), corporate campus is nice with amenities (e.g. cafeteria and fitness center) and the generic benefits such as health insurance, retirement, etc. are competitive. However, if you're looking for the more modern benefits that the truly competitive employers offer today (think flex time, work from home, 9/80 schedules, etc.),... forget about it.

    Show More

    Cons

    While I wouldn't say I had a horrible experience here, this is not a company I would recommend now or at any time in the near future. Constant change in direction and significant headcount reductions within the finance organization have led to high stress, low morale and an overall poor culture in the workplace (i.e. many employees now doing the jobs that 2-3 people did just two years ago). If you're a millennial,... avoid at all costs. The company talks a big game regarding attracting and retaining young talent and then cultivating that talent from within, when in reality, the complete opposite occurs. The company has lost a significant share of it's young, growing talent over the past few years.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Corporate politics run rampart - get that under control. Also, the constant change at the top needs to stop. There is absolutely no meaningful direction from management, and on the rare occasion there is, it changes constantly. I've witnessed so many good employees put in a position where they were setup to fail because of this, and I've seen countless others leave because of this. And lastly, start investing more... time and money into your employees like you tell Wall Street you do so that they 1. stay, and 2. actually enjoy working there.

    Show More
    Kennametal2019-08-18
  10. "Dont work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Goshen, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kennametal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pass Go. Collect 200 dollars

    Cons

    Save your time and apply somewhere else

    Advice to Management

    They wont change

    Kennametal2019-08-07
Found 312 reviews