Keirton Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Keirton Reviews

Updated Feb 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
95%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Keirton CEO Jay Evans (no image)
Jay Evans
22 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Employers - Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Keirton part-time

    Pros

    Keirton has been on the top of my list of any company I ever worked for or heard of. The relation between employees and employers are mutually respectful and absolutely positive. Because of this, I noticed that all employees work hard, not because they were told but because they want to. This should be a model for any company. Ultimately the culture is created by the management and the employees gladly participate. The result is something I have not yet experienced anywhere else. The company is efficient and extremely fast growing with a very happy team.

    Cons

    Everything can be improved at all times. It is hard to say what else can be improved when the output is many times above average. I don't this there is anything negative about the company.

    Continue reading
    Keirton2018-04-22

    Keirton Response

    February 17, 2020CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keirton full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is super friendly and they make you feel very welcome , you can feel completely comfortable in having to go to anyone for any questions you may have. The environment is very upbeat and energetic.

    Cons

    The bigger the company grows the more limited parking spaces have become.

    Keirton2017-10-16

    Keirton Response

    February 17, 2020CEO

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We appreciate it.

    Continue reading
  3. "Working at Keirton Inc."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keirton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    fun environment, excellent employers, Clean, very successful, goal oriented

    Cons

    nothing bad to say about Keirton

    Keirton2017-10-16

    Keirton Response

    February 2, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Jay

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keirton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome team effort with a can do attitude, great culture and fun people, fast paced and quickly growing. A strong focus on personal and professional development shows that the company really cares about the people and their personal success.

    Cons

    We work hard with a positive attitude so slackers and negative people probably won't fit in.

    Keirton2017-05-04

    Keirton Response

    May 31, 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here with us!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Supply Chain Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Assistant in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keirton part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and culture. Everyone works as a team as we all believe a team effort is needed for the business to succeed. Everyone gets along and trusts one another and it feels like a family.

    Cons

    As we are growing rapidly, space is limited due to us growing out of our current location. Sometimes it is hard to focus just with everything going on. But an easy fix is just to put on some headphones.

    Continue reading
    Keirton2017-05-03

    Keirton Response

    May 31, 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. When decisions are made at the top many factors come into play. One of them is the way it will impact all of our employees. We often have to make long term business decisions that could have negative implications in the short term. If you bear with us during our time of growth, I believe that our whole company will feel positive impact

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Keirton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keirton

    Pros

    Atmosphere is very caring. Company encourages both personal and professional growth. Great Pay.

    Cons

    Not use to having meetings/huddles on a regular basis. Can be a shock at first.

    Keirton2017-05-03

    Keirton Response

    February 2, 2020

    Thanks for sharing your experience. Yes, we do have regular team huddles that can be a shock to some at first. We really value open communication and we find the quick meetings enhance this. It also gives people a chance to connect live in person. The huddles are like brushing your teeth, you don't realize the value until you stop :) Thanks again for the feedback. Jay

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "I love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keirton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great people - Keirton truly cares about the people that work here & in return the people care about each other and the company - The industry and work is exciting - there is continual growth and change - The company is successful - the products created are industry leaders and the people who work here are quality - It's a fun, comfortable, open environment

    Cons

    - Space is limited but that's part of a growing company. - Holiday time starts at 2 weeks

    Continue reading
    Keirton2017-05-03
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Not as advertized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Keirton full-time

    Pros

    RRSP contributions extended health benefits good pay growing fast

    Cons

    No parking. Endorsement of Landmark Forum as foundation for all staff to do. Toxic environment of passive aggressiveness. The industry is not reputable or respected. Very young millennial culture, no one over 50 works there. Not a multi-cultural environment Expected to take part in all company extra curricular activities after hours. Expected to work long hours. Life insurance is only $25K value if you die on the job. Careless and reckless for the sake of getting the job done.

    Continue reading
    Keirton2017-05-02

    Keirton Response

    February 4, 2020CEO

    Thank you for the feedback. I have to admit, we are very late in responding to this review and we now respond much quicker. At the time of this review, we were undergoing a big transition in the business and we placed too much focus on quick hiring vs staying true to our Core Values and finding the perfect fit. This has been a big lesson for us and we have made some significant improvements. I will do my best to address each point made. Parking can be a challenge, particularly when we had some local construction at our Surrey location. Today, 95% of staff can park within staff parking. Some people do have to park on the street which is less than a 1-minute walk to the door. We do endorse the Landmark Forum, however, we do not make it mandatory. We also endorse Dale Carnegie, Tony Robbins, Ken Blanchard, and various other personal development programs. Learning and growth is very important to us and those who don't value this will likely be more comfortable in a different organization. We understand it isn't for everyone and we are now very upfront about this. We find these programs improve both personal and professional lives, while giving us a common language we all understand and can support each other with. I can't speak directly to a toxic environment or passive-aggressiveness you mentioned. Both are not acceptable and we take this very seriously. We do set high standards and move quite fast so it can be uncomfortable for some people who are not accustomed to this. In terms of our industry not being respected...we design products, many of the products are for the production and processing of cannabis. We started with medical cannabis and are proud we were able to make such a positive impact on patients and this industry - now medically legal in over 30 countries. We encourage people to get to know us as much as possible before joining the team and we will do whatever we can to facilitate this. I’m uncertain how you could have joined without knowing the industry we are in. If there is something I am missing, please contact me at Jay@keirton.com As for the demographics of our team, we do have a fairly young and energetic group - this includes someone over 60 :). A quick look at our website photos will highlight the diversity amongst us - we speak many languages. I acknowledge we did have a period where we really encouraged our leaders to take part in activities outside office hours. We pay for go-karting, paintballing, softball, restaurants and various activities. We went through an extensive period of hiring and found this to be a great way for various teams to spend time together. None of these events after hours are mandatory. Long hours can be involved in some leadership positions during certain periods of the year - typically late September and early October. We are an entrepreneurial company with big goals. We also recognize balance and do our best to get ahead of staffing requirements but admit we can fall short on occasion. As for our Life Insurance, I looked into it and you are correct, it is currently $25k. We are going to conduct a review and see how we can make an improvement in this area. I’m sorry that you saw anything careless or reckless to get a job done - that is not something we want to be known for. We encourage risk taking and we embrace mistakes, as long as we learn and grow. Integrity is very important to us, so much so that ‘Honour our Word’ is a core value. We have been known to commit to customer dates and then move mountains to get there. I can see how this could look careless at times. It is also important we don’t sacrifice safety. Safety is something we are constantly improving. This is definitely something we will discuss further as a team. Thanks for bringing this to my attention. This review was very useful and enabled some much-needed reflection. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We will use this feedback to improve. Jay

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President of Operations in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Keirton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We do amazing things with amazing people. Everyday is a new, fun and exciting challenge. We wear a lot of different hats and there are plenty of opportunities to learn about all aspects of the business.

    Cons

    We are growing fast and keep running out of space!

    Keirton2017-04-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Growing Quickly!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Keirton full-time

    Pros

    -dedicated and passionate ownership -staff all have a family feeling among each other -Great efforts for team building -leaders in thought and innovation -YOY growth is astronomical

    Cons

    -fast growth seems to result in large workloads for various departments -no diversity/multiculturalism

    Continue reading
    Keirton2017-05-03

    Keirton Response

    February 17, 2020CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I acknowledge this response is very delayed and we are committed to being more responsive. It's important we address your concern about diversity. While we admit we may not be the most diverse or multicultural company on Glassdoor (in particular, a few years ago), we are certainly a broad mix of people now and will continue to improve in this area. As our diversity widens, we notice increased creativity and innovation from a broader spectrum of perspectives. I hope you will agree with the positive change. In terms of increased workload due to growth, yes.... this has been a challenge at times. We do our best to increase the team size or structure and help people grow their skills to be more effective. This is a mountain with no top, something we will continue to climb and work at. It is what allows us all the opportunity to grow. Thank you for being part of our journey. Jay

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 34 reviews