Kansas State University Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Kansas State University Reviews

Updated 3 July, 2018
392 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Richard B. Myers
52 Ratings

392 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Very accommodating to scheduling and in general set up to be a very learning work environment" (in 26 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, time to do homework, lenient" (in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pretty small town but generally safe" (in 11 reviews)

  • "Pay differ according to the department, so cannot generalize, but some departments have minimum wage" (in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Masters Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Kansas State University full-time

    Pros

    Good introductory step in animal and scientific research

    Cons

    Somewhat basic research with limited resources


  2. "Grader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Kansas State University part-time

    Pros

    Made my own hours at work

    Cons

    Can get swamped working during finals week

  3. "GTA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Kansas State University full-time

    Pros

    I like the Peaceful working environment

    Cons

    Small town middle of nowhere

    Kansas State University Response

    27 Jun, 2018 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your response and being part of K-State. Manhattan might be small, but it is still filled with plenty of fun activities and attractions! Check out this link for a list of ways to stay... More


  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Great culture, friendly coworkers, overall dedication

    Cons

    Lower pay, very little parking

    Kansas State University Response

    27 Jun, 2018 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the review! We pride ourselves on the great culture that we have here at K-State.


  5. "Graduate Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kansas State University full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible Hours and friendly work environment

    Cons

    I do not have any cons

    Kansas State University Response

    27 Jun, 2018 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback! It sounds like you had a great experience, we're happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with K-State.


  6. "Custodial Student Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Kansas State University part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours
    Competitive Campus pay
    Opportunities to advance

    Cons

    Too much bureaucracy
    Poor communication skills from upper management
    Not much appreciation from management

    Advice to Management

    Be organized and stop trying to take as much power for yourself as you can. It’s confusing and makes everyone at the bottom look bad when they don’t know what’s going on because management has changed the chain of command 4 times in 6 months


  7. "EMAW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kansas State University part-time

    Pros

    family, fun, growth, schedule, hours

    Cons

    none, none, none, none, none

    Kansas State University Response

    27 Jun, 2018 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with Kansas State University. We appreciate all of your hard work.

  8. "Java Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Java Developer in Manhattan, KS (US)
    Former Employee - Junior Java Developer in Manhattan, KS (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kansas State University part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Wonderful people to work with. They care about your personal goals and where you want to go in the future.

    Cons

    You're working for the state so you may have to deal with budget cuts at time.

    Kansas State University Response

    27 Jun, 2018 – Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review! Employee growth and development is very important on our campus.


  9. "Referee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Kansas State University part-time

    Pros

    There is always a family atmosphere

    Cons

    Kansas state is a great place with little to no cons

    Kansas State University Response

    27 Jun, 2018 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review and for being part of the K-State Family. We agree, K-State has a great atmosphere to work in!


  10. "K-State Family Cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kansas State University full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexibility, relaxed environment, open and honest workplace

    Cons

    As a student employee, limited to 30h/week while classes are in session

    Kansas State University Response

    27 Jun, 2018 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at Kansas State University.


Showing 392 of 406 reviews
Reset Filters