Kaiser Permanente Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Kaiser Permanente Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Kaiser Permanente CEO Bernard J. Tyson
Bernard J. Tyson
2,415 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Doctors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Doctor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Love it it’s so Good

    Cons

    None it’s just the best

    Advice to Management

    None they are great and good

    Kaiser Permanente2019-07-21
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best healthcare system and nursing job in the country, currently.

    Cons

    Lack of diversity in senior management.

    Kaiser Permanente2019-11-19
  3. "THRIVE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admitting Clerk 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good pay. free healthcare once you're a part time or full time employee. psp payout every year, raises once a year according to what the union negotiated. they support continued education and offer classes.

    Cons

    hard to get in, start off as on-call. once you're in, you'll have better opportunities to move around to other departments.

    Kaiser Permanente2019-11-20
  4. "pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time

    Pros

    excellent benefits. friendly people.

    Cons

    frequent changes in policy and procedures.

    Kaiser Permanente2019-11-18
  5. "here to open"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacist 

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, pay, most coworkers

    Cons

    Understaffing is ongoing issue, hours being cut, unions can be good and bad

    Kaiser Permanente2019-11-18
  6. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Access Representative in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, retirement, vacation and pay. Assisting patients with their needs.

    Cons

    My position was starting to be less patient-centered and more numbers-oriented.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the people who work there. Focus on patients not profits.

    Kaiser Permanente2019-11-17
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A good place to settle down and build a life

    Cons

    probably not the best place if your looking to set the world on fire, but great if you want a nice job with good benefits

    Advice to Management

    spend a little less on facilities and more on workers

    Kaiser Permanente2019-11-10
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the few health systems that invests in its employees

    Cons

    Fragmented systems in their different operating regions

    Kaiser Permanente2019-11-16
  9. "Love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LVN in Riverside, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay. Amazing benefits. Great workflow. I’m on-call but usually get 40 hours a week. Love my manager and my department coworkers are amazing.

    Cons

    Union...so you don’t get recognized or promoted based on being a great employee...it’s all about how long you’ve been here. I got my Bachelors in Healthcare Administration But can’t get interviewed for any entry level administration positions.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize staff. Promote internal employees.

    Kaiser Permanente2019-11-15
  10. "High pay in IT Dept, excellent array of benefits, flexible work schedules"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Operations Analyst, Consultant in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Many employees work from home full time, within the IT department, while others chose to come into the office maybe 2 or 3 times per week. Flexible schedules, outstanding benefits including 401(b) retirement matching IN ADDITION to a full pension, free healthcare, and a company culture that focuses on "thriving" mentally and with your physical health. The IT organization goes so far as to mandate "no meetings... Friday" after 1pm so employees can regroup, catch up on emails, clean and organize, to on a walk, whatever! Also, KP has put in place a "people fuel" energy project reminding employees that they need to maintain mental wellness, spiritual connections, and moments for rejuvenation throughout the work day, encouraging walking breaks outdoors, intermissions during long meetings to allow for group "stretch breaks", and lots of healthy eating and exercise campaigns throughout the year. KP is also committed to green energy movement with LEED certified buildings, and mature recycling programs within work spaces and offices. Bonuses are paid out annually at KP, that typically equal two paychecks. Having come from the cut-throat competitive telecom industry in a past life where profits were king and employees were widgets, I can't tell you how refreshing it's been to work at Kaiser Permanente for the past decade, a non-profit organization, that puts people first.

    Show More

    Cons

    KP is large, with about 220,000 employees overall. I think the management level in the IT organization is "top heavy" with too many VPs and directors. Some managers have only 2 or 3 employees which is ridiculous. Also there are clunky, bureaucratic processes still in place here and there (IT vendor and sourcing process is far from being agile for example), and those broken processes greatly effect-- negatively--... our efficiency goals/outcomes, quick business responses, and ultimately cost the company money.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support the "people fuel, energy project" initiatives by walking the talk, allowing for the healthy/thrive culture to grow and evolve. Continue the great benefits and keep communications transparent between executives down to the regular employee base. My hope is that KP will grow the company not just in the 8 states they are currently operating within, but will actually expand into new states.

    Kaiser Permanente2019-11-13
Found 6301 reviews