Kaiser Permanente Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8,690 of over 9,833 reviews

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Kaiser Permanente CEO Gregory Adams
Gregory Adams
801 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good place to work for with great benefits(in 1124 reviews)

  • "Very competitive pay and benefits when in a part time or full time position(in 543 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No work life balance in member services(in 186 reviews)

  • "Sometimes upper management abuse their poison(in 135 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Great benefits

      Nov 24, 2020 - Registered Nurse in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are amazing Pay PTO Paid holidays

      Cons

      None, very satisfied with this work place

      26 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Doctors

      Jul 20, 2019 - Doctor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love it it’s so Good

      Cons

      None it’s just the best

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Average employer with some great people

      Jun 29, 2021 - HCM Consultant in Charlottetown, PE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of new projects underway, management has intent to modernize.

      Cons

      Slow moving, hard to turn a big ship around.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Kaiser- best hospital to work for

      Jul 14, 2021 - Pharmacy Technician Outpatient in Fresno, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay at Kaiser is the highest in the medical field that I know of. You have access to see how much people get paid based their position, the union they're in, and how many years they have been at Kaiser. It is union, except for any management/supervisor positions, so after your 3 month probation period it's almost impossible to get fired. The benefits are great, they are taken out of your union dues each pay period.

      Cons

      It is union so everything is based on seniority , your hire date. Even if you work your butt off, you don't get higher pay or better shifts. It can take forever to get benefited. I am still on-call after 5 years! I can technically work 40 hours a week and still not have a benefited position. This is mainly due to the fact there was a lot of people hired in my department at the same time, therefore our hire date goes by the time we applied, since we all got hired on the same day. I am one of the last people not to have a position, but the pay is worth the wait. Again Kaiser is union, so coworkers can be lazy....I think they forgot just how easy they have it and how much they get paid. Management can't really do anything to discipline , or won't do anything since our union is so strong.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great benefits, job security, but the usual bureaucracy

      Sep 9, 2015 - Program Manager in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Kaiser is a great place to work and build a career over time. In my experience salaries are above market for most positions, and the benefits are so good that many people become "lifers". The health coverage is extremely generous, and time off starts off adequate and gets better over time (18 days when you start, moving up to 33 after 15+ years - this does not include sick time). Employees truly believe in the mission of KP (at least, I do) and it's clear that this is a place where employees' contributions are valued. Although my role is not part of any of the unions, the fact that our workforce is predominantly unionized also places a positive role in KP's reputation as a good place for workers (although having unionized staff also presents many challenges). Overall, I enjoy working at KP and would recommend it to others, but understand that you are entering a big bureaucracy. A friendly, mission-driven bureaucracy, but still.

      Cons

      Cons: having lots of "lifers" means that innovative ideas and workflows are not always adopted without a fight. People have their roles deeply embedded here, and any threat to the status quo is seen as negative, even though we need to make some pretty radical changes given the new health care environment post-ACA. There's a lot of "not my job" attitudes here. It's hard to navigate the layers of bureaucracy, both in terms of personnel/HR/benefits, and in getting work done (there are often 4-5 departments at the regional and national KP levels working on similar areas, and no guidance on who does what.) Be aware that KP is not immune to reorganizations and layoffs -- they do make a good attempt to ensure workers are hired elsewhere in the organization, but there are no guarantees, and there can be a lot of turnover in certain departments. Benefits are currently generous but are always subject to downgrades in the future, so just be aware of that. Some changes to the pension and retiree medical benefits are about to hit, and with them a wave of Baby Boomers will be taking retirement, which should hopefully open up many new management opportunities for Millennials. Oh, and the biggest con of all: we still - STILL - use Lotus Notes for email. Shocking, I know, but true.

      Continue reading
      255 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      COVID testing

      Jul 29, 2021 - Licensed Vocational Nurse (LVN) in Redwood City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive pay, good benefits, great work environment, good hire on process. Great company to work for, Union work which is nice because union sticks up for you. But it’s hard to get a hold of the union for help.

      Cons

      Seniority is greater than attitude, work ethic, and experience. Kaiser keeps poor attitude employees because they’ve been there longer. It’s hard to find a position you like. You literally have to work the bottom until you land that position on top. Could be YEARS! If your interested in a position you hate.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Kaiser Culture

      Jul 18, 2021 - Senior Physician Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The organization works hard and consistently to improve what it does. It has gotten great at seeking feedback from employees and implementing changes that advance the organization towards its goals. They are not afraid of change. KP changes frequently and takes risks when appropriate.

      Cons

      The frequent change can sometimes be tiresome. I've had a different office and building every year, and my department frequently tweaks its function.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Poor management

      Jul 28, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, job security because of the union, good pay, paid tuition by the union

      Cons

      Kaiser's values and mission are great, but somehow it gets disconnected at the management level. At least in my department we are overworked and management don't care. Their answer is "We should be grateful to have a job". It can be hard to move up and go to a different department even if one is qualified.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Company poor upper management

      May 12, 2021 - Medical Social Worker (MSW) in Brentwood, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing people to work with. The best Social Work Team I have ever worked with and you really fall in love with the company and what your role is. I loved my job but I resigned because I became a target/radar for my supervisors. I would have dedicated my life career to Kaiser, and I worked my butt off to get there. I finally had my dream job, two weeks into working their things changed. Let me just say that nit picking and never giving any positive redirection just negative feedback will break someones spirit. Educate yourselves its your key to a good job!!

      Cons

      You will only get hired if you know someone and if you have years experiance. There is no room to start with kasier and to be trained as you grow in your profession. Poor communication and negative feedback is given. Director goes by the manager says about you so if your not liked by the office manager your position will not pass probation. If you have adhd and struggle with any learning disabilities do not even apply!! I resigned and left gracefully but I also was bullied by the director who has a record of bullying her employees!! And she's untouchable because her partner is the CEO of my region. Any formal complaint would disappear or get" swept under the rug" And why make eniemies that could possiably hurt me somewhere down the road.

      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      “Where much is given, much is required.”

      Jun 30, 2021 - Psychiatrist in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The benefits are second to none, particularly healthcare benefits which include unlimited outpatient visits, ER visits, and hospitalization for yourself and dependents as well as retirement benefits which include a 401k, Keogh, and pension. The people are friendly and overall the culture is very positive and supportive.

      Cons

      There is no cap on patient case loads and the demand is HIGH. You will continue to take new patients daily even if you do not have any follow-up availability for months out and it is very difficult to see a patient more frequently than once every 3 months at the most which brings up frustration for patients and physicians alike. There is not a lot of vacation time offered and it must be requested a minimum of 5 months in advance. Also, every hour of your schedule is scrupulously monitored. For example, if you generally work a 10-hour day and are off on Thanksgiving, 2 hours will be removed from your vacation time because holidays are only provided for up to 8 hours.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 8,690 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Kaiser Permanente Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Kaiser Permanente? Share Your Experiences

    Kaiser Permanente logo
    or