Kaiser Permanente Administrative Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Kaiser Permanente Administrative Assistant Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Kaiser Permanente CEO Bernard J. Tyson
Bernard J. Tyson
23 Ratings
  1. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Montebello, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Kaiser Permanente part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good management, free lunch, close to my house

    Cons

    no health insurance, no room to move forward.

    Kaiser Permanente2019-08-29
  2. "Not what the appear to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Depending on the department, there is flexibility with schedules. TPMG has the best benefits and finances in the regional offices.

    Cons

    Kaiser is CHEAP! The systems are out date (we just stopped using Lotus Notes and started using Outlook in 2016). Still use DOS for time card processing. Administrative Assistants move up slowly in the company if at all. Operation Specialist, EA’s Administrative Specialist, Administrative Assistants all do the same work, but are treated differently. They don’t provide parking for hospital or regional employees... so be prepared to pay outlandish daily cost for parking or public transportation. Raises are usually less than a dollar for the year.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get up to date with systems. Too many steps to do simple task. Working from home should be an option to all regional employees not just some. HR contradicts themselves by saying what guidelines are from working from home, but tell only Administrative Assistants that for them it’s “managers discretion”. Pay your employees!!!! For a top hospital, you all are cheap! I started at $7 less for the same job function... and more responsibility than when I worked at Stanford. It’s been 3 years and I still don’t make what I started at Stanford.

    Show More
    Kaiser Permanente2019-08-10
  3. "N/a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at Kaiser Permanente part-time

    Pros

    Life balance, good benefits great leadership

    Cons

    does not promote within, rather hire outside than move a current employee up

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Kaiser Permanente2019-07-08
  4. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company best place to learn different things.

    Cons

    Better salary and promote within the company.

    Kaiser Permanente2019-03-02
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time

    Pros

    Growth in the company, many opportunities .

    Cons

    None. Enjoy everything about the company.

    Kaiser Permanente2019-02-22
  6. "Staff Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kaiser Permanente for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, nice culture to work in

    Cons

    Limited opportunity for promotions , this is a reality

    Advice to Management

    Be fair with all your employees

    Kaiser Permanente2018-11-12
  7. "Nice people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Aurora, CO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people Great benefits Fun Excellent work life balance

    Cons

    At times I felt that we were running in circles

    Advice to Management

    Departments could be restructured for optimal but results

    Kaiser Permanente2018-10-19
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great company , management honors favoritism most time hiring friends rather then experiences, education and knowledge."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great, Good medical care

    Cons

    Lack of team collaboration. Stop hiring friends

    Advice to Management

    Learn to listen and observe more of your staff

    Kaiser Permanente2018-06-30
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Administrative Assistant IV"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Administrative Assistant in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Kaiser Permanente for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, organization's history, great health benefits, competitive pay, 40 hour work week

    Cons

    Not a very organized division of the organization, upper management doesn't seem to managing well, too many meetings, each team seems to have tunnel vision, difficult to understand why this company isn't just one big fat and happy company rather than several separate divisions some of which are struggling to retain members and survive while others are doing very well.

    Advice to Management

    There is a serious disconnect somewhere in this region. Policies and procedures aren't clear. Management doesn't seem as concerned with the "big picture" as they are with the trivial details. And I have never in my life experienced so many meetings. They seem to schedule a meeting for everything. They even have pre-meeting meetings. I personally believe that too many meetings distract people from actually getting... work done. It is difficult to tell (from my level) what is going on here or why the chaos (that word may be too strong but it IS somewhat chaotic) but something is not working. It must be ineffective management and gross inefficiency at the Executive Director and/or VP level(s) and up. Hopefully it isn't too late for this company to benefit from the population boom in Colorado by building a hospital in Denver (or along the front range). Due to changes in government healthcare regulations, the health care industry is volatile right now and I believe that one of the only ways for Kaiser to begin to profit in Colorado is by building at least one hospital. California divisions are apparently in line with budgets - they must be doing something right. Why this company doesn't find out what that is and put that into play in the divisions which are losing members daily is anyone's guess. Seems like a place to begin anyway.

    Show More
    Kaiser Permanente2018-05-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Growth potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kaiser Permanente full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked with them for 5 years in 3 departments. There was always potential to move horizontally or vertically within the company.

    Cons

    National offices were very competitive and often “back-stabbing” to get an advantage over one’s peers. Keep your nose clean and avoid the scammers.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your admins with respect.

    Kaiser Permanente2018-01-05
Found 57 reviews