KUBRA Reviews

Updated Jun 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
KUBRA President and CEO Rick Watkin (no image)
Rick Watkin
53 Ratings
Pros
  • "Culture driven, social events, and company expansion(in 8 reviews)

  • "One thing that I would like to emphasize is that KUBRA employees good people(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Under industry average pay, don't do much of programming(in 6 reviews)

  • "lacks growth opportunities, uses old technology(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "You need to work here!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Administrator in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KUBRA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    KUBRA has made me feel as though my work is important (no matter how big or small the project). I feel like my ideas are heard and sometimes implemented which makes me feel like a part of the team. The company has great corporate culture, positive environment, and feedback is collected on a regular basis to ensure employees are heard. No suggestion or request is too small or too big. KUBRA's management team truly has the best intentions for their employees

    Cons

    no RRSP (yet) but we've been communicated about the future implementation (we asked and they listened!) no gym on site but my opinion is that KUBRA's wellness program is second to none.

    Continue reading

    KUBRA Response

    September 25, 2019HR Generalist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy to hear that you're having such a positive experience at KUBRA and continuing to feel that your ideas and opinions matter. Our goal is to continue to listen to the ideas and constructive criticisms of our team to allow us all to continue to grow together. With that in mind, please continue to share your feedback with us at any time at feedback@kubra.com or the various internal channels available to our people. - Matt, HR Generalist

  2. COVID-19

    "Overall good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Analyst in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KUBRA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of stuff to work on Younger TLs and easier to work with Relaxed environment Frequent events Approachable management

    Cons

    Work from home mentality isn't here yet. (covid is an exception)

    Continue reading

    KUBRA Response

    June 15, 2020HR Generalist

    Hello, thank you for providing us with a positive review and sharing your feedback! We are glad you're enjoying our social work environment, variety of tasks, and the People. We recognize that we have some catching up to do when it comes to the "WFH mentality" and that is why we had begun working on a more structured, flexible WFH policy previous to our COVID-19 response and current state whereby we mobilized the majority of Our People to work-from-home over the last several months. During this time, we believe we have done a lot of maturing when it comes to establishing a WFH-mindset and are extremely excited to roll-out our new policy during Phase 3 of our COVID-19 Return to Office Framework as recently communicated. Please feel free to provide further feedback on how we can continue to establish a WFH mindset and bring departments together at feedback@kubra.com. Thank you! Matt - HR Generalist

  3. "Great Team"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KUBRA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I had a ton of fun working with Kubra, perks are great, people are amazing.

    Cons

    Compensation was on the low end.

    KUBRA Response

    January 2, 2020HR Generalist

    Thank you for your positive feedback! We're glad you had fun and enjoyed all of the perks KUBRA has to offer. Our compensation programs are performance based, and something that is continually evolving - over the last couple of years we feel we have made great efforts to improve this area. If you have any questions, or further feedback on how we can continue to improve please feel free to contact feedback@kubra.com. Thank you! Matt - HR Generalist

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Could be a great place, but struggling with it's culture."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at KUBRA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working space is great and a lot of fun people to work with.

    Cons

    A lot of flash, but once you do a deep dive you find a lot of internal cliques that just seem to cover for each other and push people out. There was a training for the PMO, but not enough for all PM's because of course they padded the numbers with friends from other departments. Also some managers or team leads were promoted due to seniority but not the ability to lead/manage people. Thus you'd get meetings with them just cussing out their people with foul language when things went wrong. Pay is below industry standard and the performance review is sort of a joke compared to other places.

    Continue reading

    KUBRA Response

    June 15, 2020HR Generalist

    Hello, thank you for leaving us a review. We're surprised and sorry to hear that your experience did not reflect that of our Award-winning culture and I'd like to provide some additional clarification to your points. The PMO training you are referencing was specifically a train- the-trainer session for Agile, in which the invited employees were were specifically engaged with Enterprise Clients that we're transitioning to Agile. The pool of employees chosen to participate was diverse as Agile is not a PM-centric framework and methodology, so cross-functional team representation was paramount. Regarding your statements about our promotion processes, all decisions are determined based on an individual's merits and skill-sets for the position and are reviewed and approved by a committee which includes the direct supervisor, Department Head and HR. In addition, all of our Managers are put through a comprehensive Manager Development Program comprising of various soft-skills training to further prepare them for success in their role. We have not been made aware of any incidents involving foul language directed toward any employee and would ask you to please report this to HR immediately as we don't condone this type of behaviour. We'd like to ask you to submit further feedback and to continue the dialogue on the above points at feedback@kubra.com.

  5. "Regular it company"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at KUBRA full-time

    Pros

    There is a good environment in Kubra

    Cons

    Some teams are not good as others.

    KUBRA Response

    January 2, 2020HR Generalist

    Hello, thank you for your feedback. At KUBRA, we're revolutionizing the way people interact with their Utilities, so we think ourselves to be quite an extraordinary IT company, with extraordinary people, who work hard to create exceptional experiences for our clients and end-users. If you have any constructive feedback as to why you think some teams are not as good as others, and how we can help to improve all of our teams at KUBRA, please submit further information to feedback@kubra.com. Thank you! Matt - HR Generalist

  6. "Average"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at KUBRA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teams work well on collaborative projects

    Cons

    Nothing really stood out as bad

    KUBRA Response

    November 25, 2019HR Generalist

    Hello, thank you for providing a positive review. We're glad to see that your overall experience was a positive one. If you can think of any opportunities for improvement, we'd be happy to hear your suggestions which can be submitted to feedback@kubra.com. Thanks! Matt, HR Generalist

  7. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - NOC Specialist in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at KUBRA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work culture is amazingly inclusive and positive. The employers seem to care about you and insist on a work-life balance. They try to ensure you don't suffer from burn out and minimize office politics.

    Cons

    The agile workshop tends to be a little too agile at times. Documentation tends to fall out of date for technical process flows and their is not much in the way of salary increases.

    KUBRA Response

    November 20, 2019HR Generalist

    Hello, thank you for providing your feedback. We regularly evaluate our compensation/benefits packages and compare and benchmark them to our competitors in each of the areas in which we operate. The compensation programs we have in place are designed to recognize and reward our people based on performance. For new hires, merit increase reviews are based on performance and are conducted on a annual basis or at the same time when year-end merit reviews are conducted. Regarding your comments on Agile processes and documentation, we'd love to learn more about how we can improve in these areas. Feel free to provide further feedback and suggestions at feedback@kubra.com. Thank you - Matt, HR Generalist

  8. "A Roller Coaster journey"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Analyst in Brampton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at KUBRA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -People there are brilliant. With the latest tools developed, an entire implementation can be completed through configuration; almost like a CMS! Shoutout to idoxs, docweb teams, Level 2/3 teams who are highly capable and dynamic. Whenever you found a killer bug; they'd create a foolproof antidote fairly efficiently. -Strong value proposition for the clients who may want both print and digital solutions with the same vendor. Props to the Sales/CRM team who can acquire/keep client relationships for decades! -Room for growth: I started off in level 1 support where I was appreciated for being well rounded and client friendly. Then I moved to QA to identify the problems customers usually encounter; much earlier in the SDLC. Eventually, three of my ex-colleagues followed a similar path. Many of my peers eventually moved into developer roles, some into Project Management. You don't necessarily have to move vertically, lateral moves can be more...Agile. -Team spirit is top notch. I enjoyed building constructive relationships with various teams organically. *Overall I'm grateful I got the chances given to me and experiences that will benefit the pastures elsewhere.

    Cons

    -24/7 culture. QA used to be part of the product and implementation teams until they abdicated this function to IT operations. You could not catch every single bug, but there was an unhealthy tendency to rely on 24/7 support to undo the problems. This was a business decision that became personally damaging. If you catch the bugs ahead of time; this diminishes the 24/7 'value' of patching problems after the fact. Some Peers may depend on this after hours of overtime. If you're young and have no kids: weekly sports, personal events and part time classes can be a write off. -Requirements gathering: Every department has its own tool to track requirements. Sales has salesforce, PMs have Clarizen, Product has Jira, IT operations was seeking its own ITSM tool. This is evident by the job descriptions. Not every use case will be relevant to all three departments. I can understand the value of having your own space where you can prioritize things your own way, especially when you have hundreds of developers and a handful of QA analysts

    Continue reading
  9. "Fun & fast paced work environment!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at KUBRA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great HR team that keeps the work environment fun, people who work there are great.

    Cons

    1. Salary. Not competitive 2. Work Culture. Not very advanced. Work from home or remote working mindset is still not there.

    KUBRA Response

    December 12, 2019HR Generalist

    Hello, thank you for your feedback! We regularly evaluate our compensation packages and compare and benchmark them to our competitors in each of the areas in which we operate. The compensation programs we have in place are designed to recognize and reward our people based on performance. If you’d like to discuss your concerns or salary in more detail, we encourage you to speak with your Department Head. - Matt, HR Generalist

  10. "Commute kills if you live far"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KUBRA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work-life balance, good corporate culture, fun place to work

    Cons

    health benefits are below expectations

    KUBRA Response

    December 12, 2019HR Generalist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Annually, we review and benchmark our compensation and benefits packages against the market and our competitors as we continually strive to provide Our People with the best coverage possible. Based on this year's analysis, we were happy to announce significant increases to our health benefits for 2020. If you have any further feedback on how we can continue to improve our benefits, please reach out to hr-benefits@kubra.com or feedback@kubra.com. Thank you! Matt, HR Generalist

Found 91 reviews