KPMG Senior Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Find jobs for Senior Associate

KPMG Senior Associate Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
98%
Recommend to a Friend
Elio Luongo
0 Ratings
  1. "Company with inclusive culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at KPMG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Inclusive culture, learning opportunities in various aspects, fair performance evaluation

    Cons

    Compensation level as compared to working hours

    KPMG2017-07-03
  2. "Underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at KPMG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and a lot of growth resources

    Cons

    Underpaid for the amount of responsibility No value-add in the work we do

    KPMG2016-04-24
  3. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Senior Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at KPMG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Vibrant and young culture. Hours were long but they treated the employees well. A lot of social events.

    Cons

    Very long hours during busy season, as expected with the big 4.

    KPMG2016-02-01
  4. "Mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at KPMG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big company and lots of people to leverage on other people's skills. Great place to learn because lots of talented people trying for the CA program.

    Cons

    A very busy environment and little focus on work-life balance. Personal growth is there but everything is always secondary to finishing the work.

    Advice to Management

    Need to focus more on work-life balance.

    KPMG2014-09-12
  5. "Senior Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KPMG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues Structured career path Good pay for fresh grads/entry-level positions Quality mentorship Lots of fun work socials Great benefits (health, dental, fitness)

    Cons

    High stress Long hours High expectations High learning curve

    Advice to Management

    - Provide training that matters (i.e. lots of internal websites that was required to learn on own time how to navigate, figuring out report requirements without being taught how, and other soft skills that were not technical accounting related) - Treat staff like they will stay for more than 3 years, and they will in turn have a higher chance of wanting to stay for more than 3 years (i.e. do not treat staff like numbers...

    Show More
    KPMG2014-04-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "High Expectations for Low low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at KPMG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Well known employer, great on the resume

    Cons

    Our particular office had extremely high performance expectations - your work needed to be flawless and you were expected to function at a level above your actual role. This meant alot of your personal time was spent researching technical information to come up with answers/suggestions to questions. Always have a legitamit, well researched suggestion prepared before you ask!

    Advice to Management

    Individual office's have a culture that is set by the "tone at the top" if partners know the staff will grind amazing quality work for little recognition, they won't change. And everyone wants a CA job. Thing is, I will never recommend this firm to a future client or a company I work for, and will never refer a recruit.

    KPMG2012-10-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "good place to do good work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in Toronto, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at KPMG

    Pros

    - collabarative environment - good learning opportunities

    Cons

    - low compensation - too hung up of administrative issues

    Advice to Management

    - retain top talent

    KPMG2010-07-30
  8. "KPMG is a great place to work - However, auditing is not really a rewarding career - That was my experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Senior Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at KPMG

    Pros

    Strong support to help pass UFE exam. Excellent people. As far as audit firms go, I would recommend KPMG in Vancouver. KPMG paid overtime during my first two years, which for me was essentially travel time. I was fortunate to get the opportunity to travel within Canada, USA, Central America and Africa. These experiences alone were great. However, KPMG is big enough, that if you don't want to travel, there are plenty...

    Show More

    Cons

    Auditing was not a rewarding job for me personally. This is not a KPMG specific negative - it is more of a job specific negative. Basically, regardless of how well you build relationships with clients, they are always happy to see you leave at the end of the audit. I didn't enjoy that part of the job.

    Advice to Management

    None

    KPMG2009-01-18
  9. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at KPMG

    Pros

    The best reason to work for KPMG is the people, the social events, and the benefits. With everyone being at such a young age it's almost like an extension of university. The company also has some pretty decent benefits compared to other large companies.

    Cons

    There are a couple downsides to working at KPMG. The first is the hours, which can sometimes be brutal during the first 3-4 months of the year (busy season). The other is the compensation, which will definately be lower than industry in your first 3 years. Once in management the salary evens out a bit, but the hours are still tough.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize your staff.

    KPMG2008-08-07
  10. "Great Place to Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Senior Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KPMG full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow within and experiences

    Cons

    Long hours and unrealistic expectations

    KPMG2019-07-10
Found 9 reviews