KPMG Audit Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

KPMG Audit Associate Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
KPMG CEO Elio Luongo  (no image)
Elio Luongo
0 Ratings
  1. "Company with inclusive culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at KPMG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Inclusive culture, learning opportunities in various aspects, fair performance evaluation

    Cons

    Compensation level as compared to working hours

    KPMG2017-07-03
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Clerical/Technical (Audit)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Associate in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at KPMG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Will hire new grads with little experience, entry-level role for diploma grads or people who aren't interested in their CPA

    Cons

    Managers/seniors encourage you to eat your time (you end up doing unpaid overtime) Performance rating system is rigged and highly political If you're not in your early twenties you will have trouble fitting in the office culture Compensation system is a joke, considering how much unpaid overtime you'll do

    Advice to Management

    Don't create a clerical/technical audit role promising work-life balance and then expect them to conform to the toxic culture of the articling program

    KPMG2017-09-29
  3. "Underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at KPMG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and a lot of growth resources

    Cons

    Underpaid for the amount of responsibility No value-add in the work we do

    KPMG2016-04-24
  4. "A great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Audit Associate in Toronto, ON

    I worked at KPMG

    Pros

    A big name firm which has a great reputation worldwide. You will have no trouble being recognized within the business community.

    Cons

    Hours are sometimes long and brutal. Sometime the competition is very cutthroat within the firm amongst coworkers.

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone with respect. Give everyone the opportunity to prove themselves. Hire the right people for the job.

    KPMG2015-10-02
  5. Helpful (4)

    "A huge mistake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Associate in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at KPMG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - You can move internally to better opportunities - Good start in your career - Great intro into Finance/accounting

    Cons

    - Year 1 - no raise - Year 2 - 10 - 20% Salary cut - Work hours - 9AM - 9PM on average (Busy season = 11PM +) - Office politics

    Advice to Management

    None - I've given up on this company

    KPMG2014-11-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "The opportunities are there if you are able to get them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Associate in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at KPMG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    a lot of exposure, international firm, great opportunities

    Cons

    a lot of internal competition, firm suffering, cannot compete with smaller firms as overhead is too big

    Advice to Management

    do not pick and chose who to give experience to, you will suffer a lot

    KPMG2013-10-21
  7. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at KPMG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities long term within the firm and outside Great insights into business operations and finances

    Cons

    Low salary at the start but picks up

    KPMG2012-08-29
  8. "KPMG is a great place to work - However, auditing is not really a rewarding career - That was my experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Audit Senior Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at KPMG

    Pros

    Strong support to help pass UFE exam. Excellent people. As far as audit firms go, I would recommend KPMG in Vancouver. KPMG paid overtime during my first two years, which for me was essentially travel time. I was fortunate to get the opportunity to travel within Canada, USA, Central America and Africa. These experiences alone were great. However, KPMG is big enough, that if you don't want to travel, there are... plenty of local jobs.

    Show More

    Cons

    Auditing was not a rewarding job for me personally. This is not a KPMG specific negative - it is more of a job specific negative. Basically, regardless of how well you build relationships with clients, they are always happy to see you leave at the end of the audit. I didn't enjoy that part of the job.

    Advice to Management

    None

    KPMG2009-01-18
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Associate in Accra

    I worked at KPMG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best place to learn and develop as a young professional.

    Cons

    Poor people management skills by the firm

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to managing young professionals with respect and dignity.

    KPMG2019-10-14
  10. "Senior Auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Audit Senior Associate in Petaling Jaya

    I have been working at KPMG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very lively environment since everyone is young and energetic

    Cons

    Long working hours and political environment. Management doesn't listen to staff's opinion/take care of staff's well being.

    KPMG2019-10-15
Found 8 reviews