K12 Personal Admissions Liaison Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2017

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
25%
Recommend to a Friend
K12 Executive Chairman Nate Davis (no image)
Nate Davis
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Micromanaging nightmare"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Personal Admissions Liaison in Alcoa, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at K12 for less than a year

    Pros

    The money is good. Most of the parents are wonderful. And there's air conditioning.

    Cons

    The systems are clunky and illogical. The scripts don't flow. The requirements are near impossible to accomplish if you care at all for customers or giving good service. Management micromanages and makes it impossible to actually take care of the families. You're instructed to place families on hold so you can finish entering notes into the system, no matter how irritated they might be getting. And they fuss at you for EVERYTHING. 2 minutes late back from lunch will earn you a verbal warning. Do it twice and its a written warning. Seriously. If you like being treated like a child who has no brains inside your head its the perfect job. If you actually have empathy and care about the families you should probably look elsewhere because this job will crush your soul.

    Continue reading
    K122017-08-04
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Call center"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Admissions Liaison in Alcoa, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Help kids, work with families, great training team

    Cons

    Call center, sales atmosphere for some supervisors, supervisors coach on performance but not all are equal

    Continue reading
    K122017-06-09
  3. Helpful (2)

    "PAL"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Admissions Liaison in Alcoa, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are friendly and overtime is offered.

    Cons

    Micro managed, no room to grow or opportunities for growth. Lots of favoritism lack of professionalism. They only care about numbers not people if you don't constantly dial you get reprimanded also if you sit idle you get reprimanded. It's a call center not a family support center. You have only so many minutes to help a family of you get reprimanded for call time. This place is a class action lawsuit waiting to happen. Management says the only way for possible promotion is special teams and there is nothing special about that team. Only that no one wants to be on it.

    Continue reading
    K122017-05-14
  4. "PAL"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Admissions Liaison in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at K12 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great compensation for level of work. During busy season unlimited overtime is offered and bonus structure can be extremely lucrative. Potentially able to double monthly income during busy season. Busiest time of year is July through September. January can be very busy as well.

    Cons

    It is a true call center experience. If you're not willing to clock in and make phone calls all day you won't be happy in this position. Bonus structure changes occasionally. Depending on budget projections from corporate the bonuses can change, however, that is typically given plenty of time in advance.

    Continue reading
    K122017-01-10
  5. Helpful (6)

    ""Family Support Center""

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Admissions Liaison in Alcoa, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is a lucrative bonus program based of your Units of Business (this is one of two things depending on what exact kind of agent you are, called Enrollment and then Admissions. Enrollment is basically where a brief overview of programs and schools is given and Admissions is helping parents with said enrollment process after their application is submitted (different states have different guidelines and documentation you are required to submit). It's also based on your Quality Assurance scores. All in all when you do what you're supposed there is definitely the potential to bonus big. It all just depends on how much you're willing to put it in! Which is a definite plus Benefits; benefits such as Health Insurance, Dental, Vision, 401k. The dental and vision programs are super cheap especially the vision, health insurance is a little more on the expensive but the actual programs are offered are pretty decent. If you have ongoing medical conditions itll come in handy but if you're in good health like myself it'll probably be a boon. Good coworkers, overall there is a lot of decent people working there from the agent level to mid level management level. Beyond that I can't really. There is a serious effort put forth to keep us engaged in off site activities as well on site ones such potlucks, contests, picnics, etc. etc. and recently some teams have started team building exercise. This is good and creates a more positive work environment. Good families...mostly. MOST Of the people you will talk to a generally pretty easy to deal with. You do have your fair share of people who by nature rude or even just plain ignorant, but that comes with any job. One should be advised this is not any regular call center job despite what it said. Overtime opportunities as well as opportunities to work on the weekends (optional) during peak season times

    Cons

    The pay itself is pretty decent starting at 12.50 an hour. However, take away the bonus potential which is certainly easy to lose due to a failing QA score and then look at the job itself and you will see that is very stressful for what the base pay is. This may hold especially true if you have trouble with doing specific tasks in a computer. If it weren't for the bonus program myself including many other would definitely not stay. Micromanaged mania, There is a massive, overwhelming amount of micromanagement that goes on. For one you only have 15 seconds between each call before you go back to receiving calls. So that's 15 seconds to complete whatever notes you working on in which they expect us to be pretty detailed with them as well and to "keep the parent on the phone" while we complete them. There is definitely a dial dial dial attitude even if this means calling people literally every day to go over the same things over and over again. Management tends to stay obsessed with this notion of being team "green" which basically means no ones go over on breaks, lunches, etc. etc. or else the world falls apart. With all this emphasis on getting as many dials, and such as units of business in, this notion that it's a "family support center" is complete ludicrous. It's a cal center with a high stress sales environment plain and simple, and this can be further backed by simple googling "K12 in Media". Time Off Policy leaves a lot to be desired, if you leave work unplanned you may accrue "points" in which if you accrue too many you are at risk of termination. There's ways to work off points, get them turned over etc. But the very concept of this is middle school. They are also very stingy on vacation time in the summer, as this when we are most busiest. Paid time off needs some work as well, they recently updated the policy to where we lose 5 full days of sick. There are more specifics surrounding this but ultimately we lost 5 full days of what could have been used as Planned Time Off Payroll Problems, payroll problems are common, such as the bonuses coming late (they are supposed to be paid on the 2nd paycheck of each month). Whenever this happens they conveniently say "don't rely on the bonuses" but the bonus is what they shove in our face to encourage us to get more Units of Business. A coworker was missing a chunk of their bonus entirely and even months later they were still "working" on it. A common phrase is "Things are always changing at K12". I don't know if this is some pathetic attempt at comic relief but a company constantly changes the way it operates and it's policies is NOT a positive thing. It creates stress, problems, etc. etc. A need to constantly change things just shows their is a problem with mid-level or high-level management due to their inability to do things that make sense in the first place The computer we use are know to frequent lock ups, crashes etc. etc. Technical issues are aplenty from the agents end of the business, to the supervisors, to the parents who are trying to use our products. Not everyone knows what their doing and this can be frustrating for those who do as this can sometimes involve a lot of different sometimes opposing things to be told to a parent. Sometimes sheer laziness and lack of accountability is the main issue. Most people put in the best effort but there's also another portion which a pretty good chunk who are simply lazy, or incompetent. Work life balance is non existent, especially if get locked into one of their later shifts. There are supposed to be opportunities to where you can move into earlier shifts but so far this has not happened. The call center itself may have the illusion that K12 is out there to help families with their education but if some research is done you will clearly see that their goal is enrollments to profit. So the notion again, that we are a Family Support Center, is a bold faced lie and this can be validated with a little bit of research.

    Continue reading
    K122016-03-16
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Approach with caution"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Personal Admissions Liaison in Alcoa, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at K12 for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay rate is great, at least 40 hrs/week

    Cons

    Poor management, poorer time management

    Continue reading
    K122015-10-25
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Not a great experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Personal Admissions Liaison in Alcoa, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at K12

    Pros

    The pay was decent, and you got unlimited overtime during the summer months.

    Cons

    There are so many. Here's a brief list: -No work/life balance -Pay was decent but not high enough for what you do -Overtime was optional but most times during the Summer months you get pressure from management to sign up -I was never able to get time off approved even with a doctor's note -The job was not as described during the interview - it ended up being a sales job

    Continue reading
    K122014-12-08
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Dishonest"

    1.0
    Former Contractor - Personal Admissions Liaison in Herndon, VA

    I worked at K12

    Pros

    The only pros to this company is that it was a job for the time that I was employed. It kept food on the table and clothes on my children's back.

    Cons

    I was actually only a temp at K12 but was told the entire time that I was working towards a bonus. K12 employed over 75 temps (at least) during the summer months and this is what was told to all of temps and FT employees. I was employed in the summer of 2011 but am still friends with someone that I worked with while being employed at K12, who was just laid off in 10/2012. What they did not tell the temps was if you were laid off after making the bonus but before bonus was awarded, that you would not receive this bonus. Now I'm not talking about being fired, I'm talking about being laid off due to lack of work, which is something temps expect. But what you don't expect being a temp, is when you're promised something especially money or a check by a company that you worked for to break that promise, especially a company that just laid you off, knowing there's absolutely no jobs out there. Now my friend has been told the exact same thing. How dishonest can you be as a company.

    Continue reading
    K122012-10-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews