Cover image for JustAnswer
Logo

JustAnswer

Engaged Employer

JustAnswer

Add a Review

JustAnswer Reviews

3.9
76% Recommend to a Friend
JustAnswer CEO Andy Kurtzig
76% Approve of CEO
3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
JustAnswer CEO Andy Kurtzig
Andy Kurtzig
175 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

916

81 Comments

Tech

2190.5K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - /Community/technology

Got a burning question about JustAnswer? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with JustAnswer employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What are your colleagues talking about?

Find your private company bowl on Community, join the hottest conversation with your colleagues anonymously.
Join the conversation

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Excerpts from user reviews, not authored by Glassdoor

Pros
Cons

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of JustAnswer and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email

Found 233 of over 272 reviews

Updated Sept 17, 2023

    1. 3.0
      May 24, 2023
      Online Homework Helper
      Former Employee
      Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work and enjoy meeting people online.

      Cons

      There are some bad people working there.

      Hi there, I don't believe you were a JustAnswer employee. It sounds like you may have served as an Expert on the platform. We always welcome feedback about improving the Expert experience. I encourage you to please reach out to the Expert team to share your experience so we can assist. Thanks.

      1. 5.0
        Sept 15, 2023
        Lead Software Engineer
        Former Employee, more than 5 years
        Lviv
        Recommend
        CEO Approval
        Business Outlook

        Pros

        I really like the company movement to top performance with the usage of Accelerate guide. Moving applications to CI/CD, gathering metrics related to deployment frequency is great. Leveraging Lean approach during the development is cool. A/B testing, MAB for testing is also nice.

        Cons

        Being in product company improves your skills inside this company. To be competitive on the market you need to do homework(pet projects with using trend technologies). Otherwise, it'd be hard to find a job after you fall under lay off. Also, I don't like the business model of the company. The company exists for 20 years as a startup. This is a marketplace for people who need to get an answer and for people who knows that answer. With ChatGPT appearance, I think, the company doesn't have a chance to go under IPO.

      2. Join the JustAnswer team
        See Our Latest Jobs
        1. 1.0
          Sept 17, 2023
          Online Support Specialist
          Current Employee, more than 1 year
          San Francisco, CA
          Recommend
          CEO Approval
          Business Outlook

          Pros

          You can make some money and learn how successful fraud can be. We trick people into monthly subscriptions as a key component to the business model.

          Cons

          Zero values. This applies to customers so it is hard to believe it is any different with employees. You are disposable, just like the client. People at the top getting rich off the backs of customers and employees.

          1. 3.0
            Sept 1, 2023
            Software Developer
            Former Employee, more than 1 year
            Bangalore Rural
            Recommend
            CEO Approval
            Business Outlook

            Pros

            Free food, WFH, Insurance & team activity. Work life balance depends on teams.

            Cons

            No job security. JA is already get effected by chat GPT, they do not have any backup plan yet. Not much progress in term of growth. There is no intention of company to retain their customer, for many customer it is just a scamming website.

            Hi there, thank you for taking the time to share your perspective. We care very much about the employee and customer experience and are always open to feedback to improve it.

            1. 2.0
              Jul 21, 2023
              Product Manager
              Former Employee, more than 5 years
              Recommend
              CEO Approval
              Business Outlook

              Pros

              Overall nice people and colleagues Good WLB Fully remote

              Cons

              Since 2023 this company is not profitable, it just laid off many employees to cut cost and the future is ambiguous as its business model doesn’t prove to be sustainable. It had obvious problems of building customer trust as you can see in many Google reviews. The layoff was sudden. Management team kept it top secret until announcement and left everyone in shock.

              6

              We appreciate your feedback and understand your concerns regarding recent layoffs at JustAnswer. We acknowledge that such decisions can be difficult and have an impact on employees and the overall perception of the company. At JustAnswer, we strive to be transparent and empathetic during challenging times. Layoffs are never easy for anyone involved, and we are deeply sorry for any distress caused. Our main priority remains the well-being of our team members, and we are continuously working to improve our processes and provide support to those affected. Please know that we take all feedback seriously and are committed to learning from our experiences. We value our employees and community, and we are determined to build a better future for everyone at JustAnswer.

              1. 1.0
                Aug 22, 2023
                Anonymous Employee
                Former Employee, more than 1 year
                Recommend
                CEO Approval
                Business Outlook

                Pros

                Permanent remote role, good work life balance.

                Cons

                Not a good company for long term association as the company lacks clarity in its vision. They will hire when in need in bulk at any cost and then fire at any time without prior notice in the name of cost cutting. The India team doesn't hold any power, everything is drived by SF office

                1. 2.0
                  Aug 29, 2023
                  Human Resources
                  Former Employee, more than 1 year
                  San Francisco, CA
                  Recommend
                  CEO Approval
                  Business Outlook

                  Pros

                  Co-workers are great. Good perks.

                  Cons

                  Zero job security. Pay is awful.

                  Hi there, thanks for sharing your perspective. Our total compensation for our positions includes benefits, fun perks, competitive pay, and more. We frequently review our pay philosophy and benefits offerings to ensure we are in line with the market, and are always open to employee feedback.

                  1. 3.0
                    May 31, 2023
                    Customer Support Executive
                    Former Employee, more than 3 years
                    Bengaluru
                    Recommend
                    CEO Approval
                    Business Outlook

                    Pros

                    Good Salary and benefits. Recognition of efforts from the Customer Support leaders from US office are always very inspiring and they are truly amazing people to work with. The company is growing good. Andy is a best CEO and his help to Ukraine during the War time is so much appreciated by every employee.

                    Cons

                    They changed my role without caring about the employee's willingness. The lady who heads the HR team at India is arrogant and ignorant of employee concerns. She intentionally mis-interpreted and changed the referral policy to deny me a referral bonus for one of the employee I referred before leaving. I suggest the management to really look into it as this HR Head is nowhere contributing in building an employee friendly culture and growth. I have heard from many other employees too that they have often faced issues with her attitude and false claims.

                    Hi there, thank you so much for the feedback. I appreciate the balanced review of your experience at JA. I have shared this feedback with the India leadership team. Wishing you much success in your future endeavors!

                    1. 3.0
                      Aug 16, 2023
                      Engineering Manager
                      Current Employee, more than 3 years
                      Bengaluru
                      Recommend
                      CEO Approval
                      Business Outlook

                      Pros

                      Salary on time Permanent Work from Home

                      Cons

                      Job instability (after recent firing) Indian managers are dummy (everything driven by SF) Yearly salary increment based on some SF reference and not based on Indian market

                      1. 5.0
                        Aug 18, 2023
                        Senior Technical Associate
                        Current Employee, less than 1 year
                        Bengaluru
                        Recommend
                        CEO Approval
                        Business Outlook

                        Pros

                        Flexible Opportunities Supportive management Learning opportunities

                        Cons

                        Less salary Less team connect bonding

                      Viewing 1 - 10 of 233 Reviews
                      </>Embed

                      JustAnswer Reviews FAQs

                      JustAnswer has an overall rating of 3.9 out of 5, based on over 272 reviews left anonymously by employees. 76% of employees would recommend working at JustAnswer to a friend and 67% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -11% over the last 12 months.

                      According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, JustAnswer employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at JustAnswer. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

                      76% of JustAnswer employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated JustAnswer 4.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.1 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

                      Popular Careers with JustAnswer Job Seekers

                      JobsSalariesInterviews

                      Work at JustAnswer? Share Your Experiences

                      JustAnswer logo
                      or

                      Popular Conversations

                      image for bowl

                      Interview Tips

                      Feel free to post any interview questions you might be asked and I’ll help you compose an effective response :)

                      190.6K

                      Administrative Assistant

                      Gave two interviews recently and got a feedback that I wasn’t able to explain my role as effectively, because of which I won’t be able to transition as fast into a fast-paced environment. I have worked in one small firm and one small-mid firm, and I personally feel I am ready to take up more responsibilities and move to a bigger firm for more exposure. Not sure how else I can explain my roles effectively, even after walking them through everything, how am I supposed to utilise this feedback?

                      4
                      1 Comment

                      Generalist

                      Im really interested in applying for Walmart but I'm not interested in the bs that comes along with it. Especially when nowadays the difference between poverty & not living on the streets is a full-time job (If you're lucky) 🥴🥴

                      3
                      7 Comments

                      Reviews by Job Title

                      • Senior Software Engineer(8)
                      • (6)
                      • Software Engineer(6)
                      • Content Quality Analyst(4)
                      • Analyst(3)

                      JustAnswer Photos

                      + Add Photo
                      JustAnswer photo of: Talent Acquisition Team
                      JustAnswer photo of: Office happy hours start here
                      JustAnswer photo of: Stairs to the Halloween party
                      JustAnswer photo of: Off the Grid at our door step
                      JustAnswer photo of: Peak into our "fish bowl" conference room
                      JustAnswer photo of: Secure bike storage
                      JustAnswer photo of: JustAnswer at the Wipeout Run
                      See All Photos

                      JustAnswer Job Seekers Also Viewed

                      TPG Logo
                      TPG

                      4

                      220 reviews
                      Compare

                      Glassdoor has 272 JustAnswer reviews submitted anonymously by JustAnswer employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if JustAnswer is right for you.