Jump Trading "working environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Jump Trading Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated Feb 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
85%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Jump Trading COO Matt Schrecengost (no image)
Matt Schrecengost
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Smart people - state of the art tech - all resources available to be successful(in 10 reviews)

  • "Comfortable working environment allows you to be yourself and not worry about perceptions(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Young work environment can contribute to pressure to work very long hours but then this is standard in this industry(in 5 reviews)

  • "There are no cons - only one would be that the industry is niche and that isn't jump specific(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Very interesting work, high performance environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - FPGA Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Jump Trading for less than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment. Great benefits. Very intelligent team.

    Cons

    Some team members are very difficult to work with or talk to.

    Jump Trading2020-02-02
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Sweatshop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Jump Trading full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Traders sometimes bring you to expensive dinner.

    Cons

    Poor work environment. Low Pay. Long hours.

    Jump Trading2020-01-07
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Used to be a good place to work, but now there's too much politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Chicago, IL
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jump Trading full-time

    Pros

    Decent work environment, if you can handle the whole open concept type of seating arrangements. Pay seems pretty good.

    Cons

    Too much politics. Either you're in the group of golden children or you're definitely not. Too many high-level people, yet not very good project management.

    Continue reading
    Jump Trading2019-07-16
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Algorithmic Trader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Jump Trading full-time

    Pros

    Great ppl to work with. Interesting work to do

    Cons

    Not so good working environment. Also compensation completely determined by you boss, and it depends on how much he likes you. There's not really much metric to show your performance.

    Jump Trading2018-11-24
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Trader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jump Trading full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic organizational structure. Management is easily accessible. Colleagues are the best and brightest in the industry. Comfortable working environment allows you to be yourself and not worry about perceptions. Rigorous work ethic all around.

    Cons

    Five words for Cons. There are no cons.

    Jump Trading2018-08-01
  6. "Very very enjoyable experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Quantitative Research Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jump Trading for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice and smart people. Good benefit. The working environment is nice, and I always feel energetic when I was working in the firm.

    Cons

    Jump is already at the top of the HRT industry. So if comparing it within HRT industry I don't think there is any significant cons. But I think there do exist some cons for the HRT industry as a whole, that is the current market is very stable, which means there is less liquidity comparing with before. So the market for HRT is smaller now.

    Jump Trading2017-12-02
  7. Helpful (9)

    "It's not what you know it's who you know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jump Trading full-time

    Pros

    Friday lunches, travel, dynamic work environment

    Cons

    Very clicky and poor management is a common issue throughout all departments. End of year evaluations (provided by employees) should be taken seriously by senior management.

    Continue reading
    Jump Trading2017-02-20
  8. "Great people, interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Algorithmic Trading in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jump Trading for less than a year

    Pros

    As an intern, I loved how much was fit into a single summer, beginning with an introduction to finance, followed by an independent research project and concluded with rotations on multiple trading teams. It was easy to learn and work since everyone at the firm was super knowledgeable and friendly. The flatness of the trading teams produces an excellent collaborative work environment. Little to no politics, and everyone has a key role to play.

    Cons

    It it keeps up at the current rate, the firm may growing in terms of number of employees a little too fast, but perhaps it's justifiable.

    Continue reading
    Jump Trading2015-10-11
  9. Helpful (27)

    "working with some of the smartest people in world! Jump is a great place to learn!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jump Trading full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - awesome culture! casual working environment, everyday is an opportunity to learn and be better - everybody is efficient, knows what they are doing, collaboration is encourage - less grind and more thinking (word hard and be rewarded hard culture) - flat structure, no power plays and everyone is valued for their contribution to the success of the company.

    Cons

    not necessary a con: Jump is not going to hold your hand throughout and define your career path, you have to know exactly what you want and make it happen. you have to be up for the challenge.

    Jump Trading2015-01-09
  10. Helpful (8)

    "A great place to work!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jump Trading full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed working at Jump because of the working environment. I don't think anyone can work for a more laid back and friendly environment. There is room for advancement but you would have to create that path on you own. The management is great!!.

    Cons

    I do not have any Cons as to my employment with Jump. I would definitely work there again if given the opportunity.

    Jump Trading2014-12-27
Found 14 reviews