Jump Trading "smart people" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Jump Trading Employee Reviews about "smart people"

Updated Nov 13, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
86%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Jump Trading COO Matt Schrecengost (no image)
Matt Schrecengost
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Comfortable working environment allows you to be yourself and not worry about perceptions(in 10 reviews)

  • "Smart people - state of the art tech - all resources available to be successful(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Young work environment can contribute to pressure to work very long hours but then this is standard in this industry(in 5 reviews)

  • "There are no cons - only one would be that the industry is niche and that isn't jump specific(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "smart people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great potential -but growth changed culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jump Trading full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Smart people - state of the art tech - all resources available to be successful

    Cons

    more politics than you would expect for such a small firm. Firm wants people to be collaborative but the structure and compensation model destroys team based approach over time.

    Jump Trading2018-11-13
  2. "Very very enjoyable experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Quantitative Research Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jump Trading for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice and smart people. Good benefit. The working environment is nice, and I always feel energetic when I was working in the firm.

    Cons

    Jump is already at the top of the HRT industry. So if comparing it within HRT industry I don't think there is any significant cons. But I think there do exist some cons for the HRT industry as a whole, that is the current market is very stable, which means there is less liquidity comparing with before. So the market for HRT is smaller now.

    Jump Trading2017-12-02
  3. "positive overall experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Trader Trainee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jump Trading for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, smart people, good benefits

    Cons

    career mobility paths not always clear

    Jump Trading2017-11-07
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jump Trading full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Autonomy, smart people, interesting problems. Avoids some of the drama of other financial trading firms, owners have patience with new strategies.

    Cons

    There is a definite power-law for compensation, and inefficient "price-discovery" is required to ensure you're at market rate. Technical acumen of staff varies, from world-class to not so much, but headed in the right direction.

    Continue reading
    Jump Trading2015-08-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Nice Firm, if you are in the team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jump Trading full-time

    Pros

    Strong technology, various resources, smart people

    Cons

    As a trader, your success strongly depends on the team you are in.

    Continue reading
    Jump Trading2015-09-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jump Trading for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart people, amazing infrastructure and good environment. Some of the best hardware/software stacks, focus on optimization and speed, and great engineers.

    Cons

    I have no cons at this time.

    Jump Trading2015-08-29
  7. Helpful (6)

    "A great environment for learning and doing cool things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Algorithmic Trader Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jump Trading for less than a year

    Pros

    I did an internship over the summer as algorithmic trader in Chicago. Training and the program: They have a really nice and well-established program for algo-trader interns (although they are very flexible and open to suggestions): We had four weeks of classes on everything we needed to know. (Yes! We literally had classes and even homework for classes.) They taught us basic concepts in Finance and Trading, and provided a simulated environment for manual trading. We had classes on Python, C++, and R which I found useful. Then we were given adequate data and a two week opportunity for open-ended research. After that we had the chance to do rotations with two teams within Jump. Things I enjoyed about Jump: -The company structure is extremely flat. -Your suggestions will be heard and considered; they constantly ask for your feedback. -They care about training and education. -They provide really nice housing for the interns (for free). Our apartment had swimming pool on the roof. -They organized fun activities like boat-party, rooftop happy hour, picnic, and travel to a lake house. -And last but not least, there's free lunch every Friday and free snacks and fruits everyday. Overall, I'm really satisfied with my non-stop learning experience. If you like Stats and Machine Learning, if you love working in research style, if want to work in a casual atmosphere, and more importantly if you like to work with smart people, you should consider Jump Trading.

    Cons

    Although they are located in a nice building (with gym, free shuttles, ...) it's almost a food desert around there. So many employees prefer to order from Seamless and eat at their desk. In other words, there's usually no lunch break.

    Jump Trading2014-11-01
  8. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - C++ Developer I in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Jump Trading full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, challenging. Working with smart people.

    Cons

    Limited grows opportunities. Little expose to business knowledge.

    Continue reading
    Jump Trading2014-05-07
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Department in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jump Trading full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is great, surrounded by lots of smart people

    Cons

    Sometimes felt like they focused too much on finding the best talent and not on building good teams.

    Continue reading
    Jump Trading2014-01-29
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jump Trading full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of smart people around you, and it's a good learning environment.

    Cons

    Demanding working environment, a lot of pressure and hard to have life work balance

    Jump Trading2013-10-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews