Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital Reviews

Updated Jul 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital CEO Eric J. Vandewall
Eric J. Vandewall
4 Ratings
  1. "Summer Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital

    Pros

    - Great environment - Coworkers are extremely friendly

    Cons

    None, thoroughly enjoyed every second.

    Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital2018-09-12
  2. "Under-resourced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Burlington, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers and staff were generally friendly

    Cons

    Management was terrible. Very unorganized. Staff in pay roll department were rude. Little support for new grads. You were expected to work without taking OT and with staff shortages

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to be reviewed and authorities need to listen to the needs of RNs. More support is needed for RNs to work with confidence

    Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital2019-07-05
  3. "Great people, great work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital

    Pros

    As a community hospital, you will know pretty much everyone you see walking down the halls, which makes for a lovely and positive work environment. The directors and managers are some of the most hard-working and dedicated people I've ever worked with, and I got to learn a lot from them!

    Cons

    The hospital is experiencing some growing pains from their redevelopment projects, and this can lead to some "oversight" of smaller departments. While this is fairly normal, it can be a bit frustrating to get things done - but that's part of the joy of healthcare I guess!

    Advice to Management

    Senior leadership should engage with staff more on a day-to-day, not just at big events.

    Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital2019-04-05
  4. "Volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I have been working at Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital

    Pros

    Great opportunity to meet new people Employee discounts

    Cons

    Working overtime for adminstrative duties

    Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital2019-02-20
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I worked at Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital

    Pros

    Friendly staff, new modern building

    Cons

    Parking situation is a bit difficult

    Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital2018-08-14
  6. "Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RPN in Burlington, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent for full time employees and part time employees get a good in lieu rate of pay.

    Cons

    When going on any type of disability they make it very difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Be more compassionate. When you say you are there to hear to listen to your employees don't pass them off to someone else. Take the time to listen to them. They are the ones that are going to make the difference.

    Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital2018-06-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital for more than a year

    Pros

    -Depending on department, there are nice people -IT is a great department to work for, can't speak to clinical, finance horrible, purchasing sub-par

    Cons

    - LOTS of turnover, people quit and get fired left and right (at least admin side of hospital, can't speak to clinical)- in some departments such as finance, 95% of people are there less that 1 year -Turnover on a senior management level, hospital has gone through 5 CFO's in the past couple years, other than CEO and his Communications VP buddy, everyone from senior management has been fired or left within the past... year (pattern- before that everyone had been there 2 years or less), middle management turnover -Senior management is very unapproachable and arrogant (closed doors, separate key-access office areas, priority parking) -Little to no promotion from within (in fact, several instances of demotions) -Little to no coaching by managers, no investment in staff, little consideration of staff well-being, horrible occupational health department -Staff required to park offsite (20 min away), no compensation or accommodation, no regard for impact employee ) -Un-accommodating and rude HR department

    Show More
    Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital2018-06-14
  8. "Review Title"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RPN in Burlington, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Union Great people to work with

    Cons

    You are nothing but a number

    Advice to Management

    I never had a manager for the last two years of my job. Not great.

    Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital2018-06-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital full-time

    Pros

    culture was good at one time

    Cons

    new senior leadership destroyed culture

    Advice to Management

    listen to your team

    Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital2017-03-15
  10. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are great people who care about the patients.

    Cons

    A lot of change going on.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees.

    Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital2016-07-09
Found 15 reviews