Johnson & Johnson Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Johnson & Johnson Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 628 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Johnson & Johnson CEO Alex Gorsky
Alex Gorsky
303 Ratings
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Barrie, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Johnson & Johnson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is a good place to work

    Cons

    It is a lot of work

    Johnson & Johnson2019-08-05
  2. "Credo-based company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Brand Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Johnson & Johnson full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Family-oriented, good pay and benefits, multinational company

    Cons

    Many processes, structure change every 2 years

    Johnson & Johnson2019-08-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "JNJ definitely gives your career wings, but sometimes they clip them or don't let you fly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Insights Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Johnson & Johnson full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company culture is very open and welcoming. There are a lot of great people managers and leaders. JNJ has internal frameworks for Marketing Excellence (Mx) and Market Access Excellence (MAx)...together now called Value Excellence (Vx), which keeps everyone speaking the same language, no matter what country or office you're working in...it's the same.

    Cons

    Unfairness or inequality in career progression and professional development: Some people are forced to climb a well-defined career ladder, rung by rung, while others seemingly get to jump around after 7 months. Glass ceilings exist based on discussions that you're not a part of... Sometimes they hire highly-experienced professionals from stable jobs to get them to bring new expertise into the company, only... to let them go after 18 months when the new learning program they made has been rolled out and can be sustained with current employees... It's easier to apply for an internal job if your not a JNJ employee...many times I was held back from putting my name in the hat for some job openings that I was fully qualified to do Sometimes JNJ "talks the talk", but don't "walk the walk": Example: JNJ openly says we are pursuing flexible work schedules, or additional Personal Days when they are attracting new talent, but when push comes to shove they say "it's up to your manager". Because my manager didn't want anybody working from home, ever, my team never got to unless we were sick. Example: JNJ actively hires diverse talent from different education backgrounds for the overall , but these once in the company enon-traditional hires are not given the same opportunities as those who have an MBA

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you preach. JNJ foc uses a lot on improving the Customer Experience, but sometimes is so careless or inconsistent with their own "Employee Experiences"

    Johnson & Johnson2019-07-28
  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson & Johnson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very flexible work schedule, family oriented

    Cons

    Hours can be long at times

    Johnson & Johnson2019-06-28
  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Guelph, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Johnson & Johnson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive benefits and vast opportunity

    Cons

    Large company, not as agile in making changes. Top heavy.

    Johnson & Johnson2019-05-29
  6. "project manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Project Manager in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Johnson & Johnson for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance and supportive management

    Cons

    Can't think of any really...was a great place to work

    Johnson & Johnson2019-03-06
  7. "Key Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Account Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson & Johnson full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    work from home, great conditions, 5 weeks of vacation + 5 personal days

    Cons

    a lot of pressure, very lean structure

    Johnson & Johnson2019-03-07
  8. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson & Johnson full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Flexible work place - great people - decent salary

    Cons

    - a lot of work - too many processes - results can take a while to get with lots of red tape

    Advice to Management

    Streamline processes and add more resources.

    Johnson & Johnson2017-12-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Finance Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Finance Manager in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson & Johnson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Engaged Team, Collaborative environment, highly support professional development

    Cons

    slow to change processes, outsourced many functions and processes to other countries, silo environment

    Advice to Management

    keep working on improving the "silos" environment

    Johnson & Johnson2017-12-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible company but recent cost cuts and constant change has it on the downturn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - National Account Manager in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Johnson & Johnson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible people, opportunity to learn and develop in a tier one organization, phenomenal training, great work-life balance

    Cons

    significant cost cutting led to restructuring and limited spending, taking away fun and just about last min requests/new processes weekly/constant deadlines, management was far superior in past, will be given new processes only to have them changed in a couple weeks, letting go of great people to cut costs

    Advice to Management

    compensate your current employees appropriately or else you might not retain them

    Johnson & Johnson2017-06-12
Found 628 reviews