John Lewis & Partners Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

John Lewis & Partners Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1174 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Paula Nickolds
261 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Can be required to do long hours during seasonal times such as Christmas(in 52 reviews)

  • "Career progression seems quite inconsistent(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good people but terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at John Lewis & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary and Hours are very good

    Cons

    Management is not handled properly

    Advice to Management

    Hire people with more skills to manage teams

    John Lewis & Partners2019-06-17
  2. "So so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Selling Coach in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at John Lewis & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    you learn a lot from the business and John Lewis is very a good place to work.

    Cons

    sometimes you can do what your position demands and poor management, lack of staff on the floor and it system is not one of the best

    Advice to Management

    please improve your it system and your management needs to learn how to deal with issues a bit better

    John Lewis & Partners2019-06-17
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Practice Lead in Bracknell, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Lewis & Partners full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Bonus, discount, insurance, car allowance, great work ethic

    Cons

    the retail sector is tough, there are many legacy systems, things aren't as fast paced as some PLC workers may be used to.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    John Lewis & Partners2019-06-14
  4. "Respectable employers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Lewis & Partners part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are lots of benefits that come with the role, and even when working part-time and only for 8 weeks they ensured that I received these rewards. Varied work everyday and really good pay. Also, I really enjoyed the partnership aspect of the business.

    Cons

    My building didn’t have windows, which made me remember really claustrophobic. Not a reflection of the job itself though.

    John Lewis & Partners2019-06-13
  5. "Menswear Partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Menswear Partner 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Lewis & Partners full-time

    Pros

    Friendly working environment, good communication between manager and partners

    Cons

    Too many middle managers/ selling coaches making working uncomfortable

    John Lewis & Partners2019-06-13
  6. "Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Lewis & Partners part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice pay and decent managers

    Cons

    There was none for me personally

    John Lewis & Partners2019-06-12
  7. "A good company, but benefits are being eroded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Lewis & Partners full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    John Lewis and Partners don't like to call their workers "Employees" but refer to us as "Partners" as we all share in the success of the business. They're very flexible for workers, and have a wide range of benefits. Including 5 extra days holiday after 10 years service and a 6 month paid sabbatical after 25 years

    Cons

    Lots of benefits are slowly being eroded away in tough retail conditions. Bonus has gone down year on year and what was a market leading pension is becoming run of the mill. Despite asking Partners to work harder and harder for the good of the company the rewards aren't that great and don't really differentiate from other companies anymore. They often talk about being market leading towards employees and setting the way,...

    Show More
    John Lewis & Partners2019-06-11
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Manager in Newcastle, England

    I have been working at John Lewis & Partners full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fully supported Development opportunities, profit share

    Cons

    Not many opportunities to progress upwards

    John Lewis & Partners2019-06-10
  9. "Good people and environment - bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - John Lewis Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Lewis & Partners part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts are good on non-electrical items

    Cons

    Managers are unrealistic and expect you to work like a robot without emotions

    Advice to Management

    Be realistic and don't expect us not to talk to other partners

    John Lewis & Partners2019-06-10
  10. "Great first job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Selling Assistant 
      Recommends

      I worked at John Lewis & Partners part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      All the staff were friendly and extremely helpful; fast formation of relationships between colleagues made me feel very welcome (even as a temporary role); and finally, the organisation in the department I worked in was pretty good.

      Cons

      During quieter periods it was quite boring and sometimes tedious; during events (such as Black Friday sales or Member Only Nights) there was a lot of confusion between customers (and even colleagues) due to the lack of clarity on what products were on offer and what the discounts were on.

      John Lewis & Partners2019-06-09
    Found 1174 reviews