John Hancock Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
John Hancock President and CEO Marianne Harrison
Marianne Harrison
114 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Operations Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits and good working environment. There are a lot of opportunities for interesting work and there is a casual environment. Excellent work life balance.

    Cons

    Not a lot of promotion opportunities. It is a bit of a clique there. People in the clique get promoted no matter what their experience is. This can be frustrating at times.

  2. "John Hancock"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Boston, MA

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked with good people. Learned a lot about statutory accounting.

    Cons

    Work life balance was not the best.

    John Hancock Response

    January 4, 2021

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We recognize that our organization is comprised of talented individuals and are happy to hear that you value your experience with us.


  3. "Great Culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Operations Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance, many opportunities, able to expand, great office space

    Cons

    Some people were close minded in business practices

    John Hancock Response

    January 4, 2021

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We recognize that our organization is comprised of talented individuals and are happy to hear that you value your experience with us.

  4. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Support Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time

    Pros

    Super friendly, very accommodating work/life balance

    Cons

    Hard to move up/ promoted

    John Hancock Response

    January 4, 2021

    Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you are having a great experience with us!

  5. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Hancock full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance and flexible WFH schedules

    Cons

    Company tends to keep inefficient employees

    John Hancock Response

    January 4, 2021

    Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you are having a great experience with us!

  6. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at John Hancock for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people Good communication Good career growth opportunities Work life balance

    Cons

    Not as competitive pay compared to other internships

    John Hancock Response

    January 4, 2021

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We recognize that our organization is comprised of talented individuals and are happy to hear that you value your experience with us.

  7. "Good place good opportunity"

    4.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at John Hancock part-time

    Pros

    Good place to work. Nice work life balance

    Cons

    No cons. Good place to work

    John Hancock Response

    January 4, 2021

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We recognize that our organization is comprised of talented individuals and are happy to hear that you value your experience with us.

  8. "Good team"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Business Analyst Co-op in Boston, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at John Hancock for less than a year

    Pros

    Professional, good work life balance

    Cons

    Team is scattered in different locations

    John Hancock Response

    January 4, 2021

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We recognize that our organization is comprised of talented individuals and are happy to hear that you value your experience with us.

  9. "Great company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Administrator in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely love the management there, very flexible and understanding. Definitely the company to work for if you desire work-life balance. But again, it depends on the management that you report to.

    Cons

    I didn't notice any cons while working there.

    Continue reading

    John Hancock Response

    August 19, 2020

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We recognize that our organization is comprised of talented individuals and are happy to hear that you value your experience with us.

  10. "Awesome Company to Work For!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Busineess Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Hancock full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Work-Life Balance, Salary, Care about Employees

    Cons

    None of any consequence, one of the better companies out there!

    John Hancock Response

    October 4, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy to know you had a positive experience.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 86 English Reviews