Jessops Reviews

Updated Apr 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Jessops Executive Chairman David Adams (no image)
David Adams
20 Ratings
  1. "Not a bad place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jessops part-time

    Pros

    If you are into technological items its a great place to learn.

    Cons

    Head office are very big on turn over rather than long term customer service.

    Continue reading
    Jessops2018-01-21
  2. "A good place to work, though head office should listen to staff on the shop floor a bit more."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jessops for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working for Jessops. A great team to work with in the shop. A good atmosphere was present and people enjoyed using and selling camera equipment.

    Cons

    The pay could have been better (having said that I was given a pay rise when I didn't even ask for one). Store managers swapped too often which was maybe the result of head office being too demanding.

    Continue reading
    Jessops2017-11-24
  3. "Too many chiefs!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Expert in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jessops part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount was reasonable Customers were lovely Processing was fun and interesting Nice incentives for certain cameras.

    Cons

    Too many managers all having different opinions which conflict! Too little recognition for sales colleagues! Never see higher ups! Contract isn’t in stone, can be changed with no notice and you’re still expected to wait 4 weeks before leaving! No appreciation from management! Management refuse to acknowledge a problem within the team after 3 people quit because of certain members, because they hit high numbers it continued!

    Continue reading
    Jessops2017-11-29
  4. "Nice experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Jessops

    Pros

    Good company to work for, many incentives

    Cons

    Customers prefer buying online more

    Jessops2017-11-23
  5. "Great Staff, Terrible management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Expert in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Jessops full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great people work there

    Cons

    Terrible management both at store and national level. Minimum wage despite the fact all employees are expected to learn about every camera that is sold.

    Continue reading
    Jessops2017-11-26
  6. "Jessops"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jessops part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you love photography and cameras it's the place for you, getting to grips with the latest tech and gear and talking about it all day long Keeping film photography and print alive opportunities to work in the Academy

    Cons

    Low pay for the amount of responsibility for the team leader retail work means you don't get much of a weekend, ever Vague contract Interference from area managers and head office, who don't know how different stores work

    Continue reading
    Jessops2017-10-28
  7. "Sales expert"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Expert in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jessops part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loveliest co-workers, good discount on most items, fun talking about cameras and photos all day

    Cons

    Head office were a joke , poorly managed and area managers were horrible. Company system hard to use. management don’t care about your health whether it’s mental or physical

    Jessops2017-10-17
  8. "Work at jessops"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Kingston upon Thames, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jessops part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    So friendly and helpful for the customer, we always try to do the best for our customer to make them happy, grate atmosphere, we always share the new information about new product, working as family

    Cons

    Some days is so quiet getting board, they have kind of old fashion it for out system to searching for stock and doing our best for customer

    Continue reading
    Jessops2017-09-27
  9. "High pressure, minimum wage, sales."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jessops part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good selection of cameras Get to meet customers who work professionally as photographers Colleagues were supportive of one and other Job is varied from sales, fixing cameras and working in photo lab Nice regular customers, who appreciate service Get to learn about cameras and photography tips from staff Flexible hours during term time

    Cons

    Too much pressure to sell warranties with ZERO incentive. My supervisor only got paid £1 more than me an hour, but has to manage shop by themselves as manager is rarely in store. Camera hardware sales are seen as meaningless unless you sell a warranty with it. Only chance of wage rise is if minimum wage goes up, regardless of how long you've been with company, and even if you hit your target each month. No sales training offered at monthly review even if you ask for it No wage increase even once you're fully lab trained (I wasn't but the lab manager worked on minimum wage) High turnover of staff, reviews were used to give staff warnings about their job.

    Continue reading
    Jessops2017-09-19
  10. "Assistant Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jessops full-time

    Pros

    Great environment Great clients Good opportunity to develop your self

    Cons

    Low paid Beside that is nothing else

    Continue reading
    Jessops2017-07-08
Found 59 reviews