Jack Astor's Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Jack Astor's Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 178 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Peter Fowler
12 Ratings
  1. "Increased tip out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Pickering, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jack Astor's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers Tip 50% off food during shift, 25% off food otherwise Laid back

    Cons

    Poor hours, never get off on time Poor management ( seniority) Increase in tip out 3.5% No gratuity

    Advice to Management

    Include 15% gratuity on parties larger than 8

    Jack Astor's2018-06-06
  2. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess/Server in Barrie, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jack Astor's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The fun atmosphere, great menu and awesome hours

    Cons

    The split shifts can be tiring

    Advice to Management

    Low end employee help keep the place running, be nice and keep them happy and busy.

    Jack Astor's2018-05-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Jack Astor's Brutal Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jack Astor's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good tips if you actually get a good section (hostesses favour friends so its hard

    Cons

    Horrible management, no respect for their employees whatsoever. Called in sick and got the response "ha no you're coming in to work today" and they hung up on me. Really just the worst restaurant I've ever worked in

    Advice to Management

    This is Front and University in particular. May be better other places, but learn to treat your employees (not just your friends) with respect.

    Jack Astor's2018-05-17
  4. "Workplace Letdown"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waitress in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Jack Astor's for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good tips and is a family like environment.

    Cons

    Overwork the servers. Disrespectful to its workers. Have to write tests continuously. Favouritism played to people that make everyone else's work harder. Has values and promises that it says are top priority and have to memorize, but follows through with none.

    Advice to Management

    Review ideals.

    Jack Astor's2018-05-16
  5. Helpful (2)

    "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Jack Astor's part-time

    Pros

    fun, good people & busy patio,

    Cons

    dead season is slow, but its slow anywhere

    Jack Astor's2018-04-05
  6. "Definitely Not for the Average Person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Newmarket, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jack Astor's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Keeps you busy, helps keep you fit

    Cons

    Long hours, poor treatment of staff, low pay, low morale, indifferent management, no career growth, no breaks, kitchen is dirty and poorly ventilated, bad for health, immature gossiping serving staff, poor attitudes of most staff and managers, some of the worst management I've ever worked with in over 10 years of doing this

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff! Don't act superior because of your position. Look busy even if you're not! Nothing more frustrating than working to exhaustion while managers just shoot the breeze with servers. Don't always shoot down raise requests - had to threaten to quit EVERY time I wanted a raise

    Jack Astor's2018-05-15
  7. "Fine for short term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jack Astor's full-time

    Pros

    Flexible shifts Benefits were offered Co-workers made the work fun

    Cons

    Little chance of moving up Long hours Clique-y atmosphere

    Jack Astor's2018-04-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, ON

      I worked at Jack Astor's part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      flexible hours and good tips

      Cons

      bad management and job security

      Jack Astor's2018-04-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Server"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Food Server in Whitby, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Jack Astor's full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Lots of Hours, hardworking management, awesome culture and staff.

      Cons

      short day shifts, initial training is long

      Jack Astor's2018-04-01
    • "Good boss, hectic job."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Hostess in North York, ON

      I worked at Jack Astor's part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Worked at the North York location as a hostess. Management was great and supportive, pay was okay.

      Cons

      Incredibly busy location, customers were not the greatest & shifts were often very long and hectic. Often did not get breaks until late in the day. Exhausting job, especially in the summer.

      Advice to Management

      Hire more staff and more full-timers, especially a little older in age, to better manage influx of guests during the summer. Otherwise good job

      Jack Astor's2018-04-04
    Found 178 reviews