Jack Astor's Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Jack Astor's Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 190 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Jack Astor's CEO Peter Fowler (no image)
Peter Fowler
15 Ratings
  1. "Unorganized Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Server in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Jack Astor's for less than a year

    Pros

    - Fun, upbeat workplace - Team spirited with supportive coworkers

    Cons

    - management was very unorganized and didn't seem to communicate clearly between one another, i.e. employees would schedule time off and have it cleared by one manager, only to have another manager later dispute and revoke the already granted request - Management couldn't keep up with high stress of restaurant environment

    Jack Astor's2019-01-08
  2. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jack Astor's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Serving is always a flexible job to have. You make your own hours, take time off whenever you need it and it's always super fun.

    Cons

    The biggest con would be relying on the gratuities. It's hard to budget what you will earn in a day, week or month.

    Advice to Management

    Sometimes more direction is needed to execute our jobs properly. Sometimes there is a lot going on and it's important for employees to know what's up.

    Jack Astor's2018-12-23
  3. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Jack Astor's full-time

    Pros

    Great staff and environment is usually friendly

    Cons

    Lots of duties for this style of restaurant

    Jack Astor's2018-12-31
  4. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Jack Astor's full-time

    Pros

    Organized system and understanding management

    Cons

    Depends on location, money can be very high or low

    Jack Astor's2018-12-13
  5. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vaughan, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Jack Astor's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great people great food great job

    Cons

    long hours. hard work. low pay

    Jack Astor's2018-11-10
  6. "Coworkers were Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jack Astor's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with lively, fun people; you had the freedom to be silly and guests would love it, tips were great.

    Cons

    Managers were stressed often, nonsensical corporate micromanagement at times.

    Advice to Management

    To the restaurant management, you do a fine job balancing the heavy and often unrealistic needs of higher-level corporate oversight and the flexibility needed to define a location's own identity. Senior Management, more autonomy for locations to build a unique culture around guests would be sublime. I get the importance of brand consistency, but more adaptability to local communities resonates strongly with... die-hard returning guests.

    Show More
    Jack Astor's2018-11-09
  7. "Waiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Jack Astor's full-time

    Pros

    My coworkers were amazing, and felt like family Everyone helps each other out Training was really good

    Cons

    Didn't get enough hours when I applied for a full time position

    Jack Astor's2018-11-18
  8. "long interview process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter 

    I have been working at Jack Astor's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    you work really hard but make money

    Cons

    the hours are long so you'll be on your feet

    Advice to Management

    be fair with hours and sections with staff

    Jack Astor's2018-11-02
  9. "Fun place to work but be prepared to work hard!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jack Astor's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All employees have very similar personalities Potential to make lots in tips Ability to move up to management if interested

    Cons

    Long shifts (up to 10 hours) Very large restaurant Not much say in how the place is run

    Jack Astor's2018-10-15
  10. "Its an okay first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Cook/Dishwasher in Brossard, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jack Astor's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of the staff are very friendly

    Cons

    Unstable Hours, Fast paced environment

    Jack Astor's2018-10-21
Found 190 reviews