Jack Astor's Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Jack Astor's Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 178 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Peter Fowler
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "if you have a good section you can make good money(in 10 reviews)

  • "great staff, good tips, fast paced work environment(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours (typically I work 4:30 to 2 am)(in 21 reviews)

  • "Late hours and lack of clear communication(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Jack Astor's full-time

    Pros

    great management and fun people to work with opportunities to move to different locations grow in the company and corporate structure

    Cons

    hours can be long but still good money

    Jack Astor's2019-04-26
  2. "Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jack Astor's full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    If you put in the time and dedication there is a lot of opportunities for advancement - Fun environment

    Cons

    Working weekends and can be stressful when busy

    Jack Astor's2019-05-17
  3. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Jack Astor's part-time

      Pros

      Good staff at this job

      Cons

      Hours are cut short depending

      Jack Astor's2019-05-08
    • "Decent gig"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Jack Astor's part-time

      Pros

      - Learn some kitchen stuff. - Fairly flexible in time off.

      Cons

      - It's a kitchen. It's dirty, and it's hot.

      Jack Astor's2019-04-29
    • "Server"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Jack Astor's part-time

      Pros

      Great management support and understanding

      Cons

      Fast paced environment, not always reliable hours

      Jack Astor's2019-04-25
    • "Working at Jack Astor's"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Scarborough, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Jack Astor's part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -Fun and pleasant peers -Good money with tips included -Flexible hours, very good for students looking for summer work

      Cons

      -Lack of breaks (I've never had one in about a year) -Long hours (typically I work 4:30 to 2 am) -Slightly abusive management (they will punch out my time if I'm not done cleaning my section within a half hour of my last table leaving) -Management expects people to be at least 15 minutes early for their shifts, but to punch in for their scheduled time so they will be unpaid for those 15 minutes

      Advice to Management

      -Support breaks more -Pay people accordingly to how long they're working

      Jack Astor's2019-05-03
    • "Great peeps"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Line Cook in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Jack Astor's part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      good team,good communication,easy going,fun , growth

      Cons

      long hours,less pay,less appreciation if part time

      Jack Astor's2019-04-17
    • "Hostess"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Jack Astor's part-time

        Pros

        Great teamwork and communication between management

        Cons

        Gets very repetitive doing the same thing every shift and customers can be rude

        Jack Astor's2019-04-03
      • "Front of House Supervisor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Jack Astor's full-time

        Pros

        Honestly there is a lot of opportunity move up whether it is within the corporate office or in the restaurants - your manager is always checking in on your development Fair pay Flexible , with being in the industry it is hard to find a restaurant that accommodates work life balance and i feel they really make a great effort Team , i have met the most amazing people and it is fun to go to work everyday

        Cons

        Can be long days when its busy

        Advice to Management

        Keep motivating the team and thanks for making it fun

        Jack Astor's2019-03-15
      • "Enivronment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Server/Waitress 

          I worked at Jack Astor's part-time for more than 4 years

          Pros

          Fun environment to work in

          Cons

          Seniority not taken into account

          Jack Astor's2019-03-13
        Found 178 reviews