Jack Astor's Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Jack Astor's Reviews

Updated Feb 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Jack Astor's CEO Peter Fowler (no image)
Peter Fowler
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "great staff, good tips, fast paced work environment(in 16 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, very good for students looking for summer work(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and not enough coverage for sick days(in 28 reviews)

  • "Late hours and lack of clear communication(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jack Astor's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing group of people to work with, very fun culture, will get to be best friends with coworkers and management if you stick around

    Cons

    Cliquey at times, job hours not great until you've been working there for a while and got to know management, until then you got stuck with bad sections

    Jack Astor's2020-01-16
  2. "Part Time at Jack Astor's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host in Whitby, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jack Astor's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good Hours -Tips + tips out -great workers/work environment

    Cons

    -often long hours -few sick days -working with people/customers all day

    Jack Astor's2020-02-22
  3. "Not worth the stres"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fry Cook in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jack Astor's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Above minimum wage + tips for an entry level job Accommodating with taking vacations

    Cons

    High pressure from arrogant expo staff to get food out Couldn't even get water myself; had to ask servers who would 9 times out of 10 forget about you Extremely long hours with no proper break (around 7 hours on your feet cooking and cleaning); my only breaks were when I went to the bathroom Pressure from management to do "split shifts" which were basically 13 hour shifts with 1 hour break Servers are incredibly rude and don't give you the time of day If you smoke you can take a break whenever you want Kitchen management was an absolute joke (1 was a hands off, turn the other cheek if they saw you struggling type and the other was a push over who wasn't even there half the time) Very little in the way of support Everyone was just so uptight

    Continue reading
    Jack Astor's2020-02-11
  4. "fun workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jack Astor's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible, fun, great way to meet people

    Cons

    great entry level/ for student

    Jack Astor's2020-01-11
  5. "Fun company, lots of growth opportunities, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jack Astor's full-time

    Pros

    Lots of intensives and perks. Lots of coaching and leadership learning moments.

    Cons

    Very heavily dictated by corporate. Can be frustrating at times when trying to make certain decisions.

    Jack Astor's2020-01-10
  6. "Jack astor's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Chef in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Jack Astor's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to work in, fast paced

    Cons

    Hard work with long hours

    Jack Astor's2020-01-20
  7. "Good Tips, benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jack Astor's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fun atmosphere, good tips, can get benefits for full time even if your hourly, discounts

    Cons

    get sent home early if is not busy, big focus on sales

    Jack Astor's2020-01-03
  8. "Best Management job I've had in the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jack Astor's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I absolutely love everything about my position with Jack Astor's. I've been a Manager in a previous company and I can honestly say the detailed training programs, time spent for coaching and communication, developmental plans, delegation of tasks and support from the Directors have been so rewarding. I also have a great team which I feel I am so lucky to have in my location

    Cons

    Some team members don't treat the job as their career which I guess can be understandable to some which can also make it a bit challenging being a Manager in the restaurant industry.

    Continue reading
    Jack Astor's2020-01-03
  9. "jack astors salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter 

    I have been working at Jack Astor's part-time

    Pros

    great environment, great people to work with

    Cons

    exhausting, some bad nights, management could use some work

    Jack Astor's2019-12-31
  10. "Okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waitress in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jack Astor's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Clear guidelines as to what is expected of you

    Cons

    Some guidelines (amount of jewelry that must be worn) is a bit over the top

    Jack Astor's2019-12-19

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 213 reviews