JOEY Restaurants "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

JOEY Restaurants Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Feb 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
74%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
JOEY Restaurants President & CEO      Jeff Fuller  (no image)
Jeff Fuller
136 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours and can get very intense(in 24 reviews)

  • "Dress code can be difficult for women - working long hours in heels is very painful(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at JOEY Restaurants part-time

    Pros

    Great place to work great people good money

    Cons

    Seniority system for amount of shifts

    Continue reading
    JOEY Restaurants2019-01-23
  2. "Average restaurant overall."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JOEY Restaurants full-time

    Pros

    Great people. Overall a great place to network and meet great friends for the future.

    Cons

    Inconsistency among leadership. Managers tend to be more reactive than proactive, which leaves a feeling of unease in the air.

    JOEY Restaurants2019-02-13
  3. "Great job for school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at JOEY Restaurants full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Fun environment - They hire great people - We CAN wear flats, and they're much less shallow than when I had first started with the company - Best restaurant I've ever worked in - They hold meetings for staff to discuss how management is doing - Drink and food seminars to learn about the products - Room for development - Scheduling is usually pretty good if you have seniority

    Cons

    - No benefits if youre not in management - Favourtism - Very tiring and you always have to put on a happy front for their stance on hospitality - Must be willing to be coached and constantly guided (Wouldn't recommend for senior servers who are looking to not be constantly given feedback)

    JOEY Restaurants2018-11-10
  4. "Part-time server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Server 

    I worked at JOEY Restaurants

    Pros

    work alongside some great people well organized

    Cons

    very high standards and somewhat unreasonable tips are okay not great stressful at times

    JOEY Restaurants2017-10-31
  5. "Shift leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in Calgary, AB

    I worked at JOEY Restaurants part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, great food and atmosphere

    Cons

    Pay needs to increase for management

    JOEY Restaurants2017-08-04
  6. "A fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JOEY Restaurants part-time

    Pros

    Fun and exciting atmosphere especially during the lunch rush, the opportunity to meet lots of new and great people, flexible scheduling, AMAZING training, opportunities to move into head office

    Cons

    Scheduling outside of availability (but its pretty easy to get shifts covered), cliquey servers, short hours, sometimes the management can be petty

    Continue reading
    JOEY Restaurants2017-07-30
  7. "Serever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Etobicoke, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JOEY Restaurants part-time

    Pros

    Great team setting and fun place to work Opportunity for growth and learning Cash-money every night! Great people including leaders, managers, cooks, servers, EVERYONE!

    Cons

    Not enough incentive to buy food b/c it is pricey even with discount.

    Continue reading
    JOEY Restaurants2016-12-16
  8. "Great for young, eager workers; bad for mature, ambitious workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at JOEY Restaurants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is an entry-level job in a somewhat serious kitchen using decent ingredients. For young people, this is gold. There are some great people who bust their butts for this company. The senior, senior management (regional chefs and up) are all seasoned chefs who care a great deal about the company. Hard-working people who are dedicated will get good hours. Thorough apprenticeship program for the ambitious.

    Cons

    The pay for cooks, even compared to unserious kitchens, was below par. Sous chefs seemed to work hard to keep wages down. Hard-working people almost had to beg to move to another station (incurring a raise). There was a clear clique consisting of sous chefs in this store. It was unclear if any of these people were ever held accountable for all of their foibles. Those identified as potential sous chefs were treated like prized possessions and were given a plethora of coaching and opportunities; those who were not were treated as expendable, regardless of work ethic and dedication. As soon as the sous chefs turned on you, you were an inconvenience. The promising apprenticeship program was an inconvenience for the sous chefs, who were too busy to attend to it. Although the sous chefs preached transparency there was a fair amount of scheming and politicking done behind closed doors. Hard-working people do not like unexplained drops in hours.

    Continue reading
    JOEY Restaurants2016-07-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "best part-time job i've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Server 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at JOEY Restaurants

    Pros

    -i make at least $20 an hour on a bad night -great people -fantastic management

    Cons

    -tip out is pretty high almost 6% when other restaurants have a 4% tip out -hate the dresses we have to wear

    Continue reading
    JOEY Restaurants2016-05-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good way to get your foot in the door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prep Worker/Line Cook in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JOEY Restaurants full-time

    Pros

    Easy job, ability to do a culinary apprenticeship, great people, hires without previous culinary experience, set schedule

    Cons

    Compressed work week sucks (4- 10 hour days a week, no overtime), no women in leadership positions in kitchen, promoted a cook to head chef even though he's told people he doesn't care about cooking and he yells at swears at his staff, wouldn't give people raises unless they kissed his butt. Way too political. Would hold quarterly meetings where the Regional would ask various staffers how things were going and tell them there'd be no retaliation. There were definite consequences for those who did speak up. Head chefs make $150k, line cooks make $12 an hour. It's a gross difference.

    Continue reading
    JOEY Restaurants2016-01-26

    JOEY Restaurants Response

    January 29, 2016Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for providing your open and honest feedback about your time at JOEY Restaurants. Our partners insights are very important to us and something we take very seriously. We pride ourselves on having a fun, flexible work environment which allows our partners to unleash their full potential. Our kitchens have a 60:40 ratio between males and females and we definitely encourage female chefs to apply so that they can build their culinary career with JOEY. To ensure that we continue to provide a great work environment for our partners, we initiated a company-wide engagement survey which has allowed our partners to provide their feedback. If you are willing and able to, we would like to hear more about your experience. Please email careers@joeyrestuarants.com. Thank you again - JOEY Careers

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 21 reviews