JOEY Restaurants Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

JOEY Restaurants Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 290 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Jeff Fuller
113 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company with some really great people(in 21 reviews)

  • "Potential to make good money (if you’re willing to work long hours and tipout half of what you made)(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours some times working 6 days a week(in 18 reviews)

  • "Dress code can be difficult for women - working long hours in heels is very painful(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Dishwasher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JOEY Restaurants part-time

    Pros

    High paying job and very friendly

    Cons

    There is no cons

    JOEY Restaurants2019-05-15
  2. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 

    I worked at JOEY Restaurants part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The team service helps the restaurant run smoothly

    Cons

    The requirement for “date ready servers”

    JOEY Restaurants2019-07-11
  3. "Be prepared to work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 

    I have been working at JOEY Restaurants full-time

    Pros

    People, tips, food and drink discounts

    Cons

    Late nights, split shifts, large tip out

    JOEY Restaurants2019-06-22
  4. "JOEY Restaurants honest review."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Marketer 

      I have been working at JOEY Restaurants full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I like it a lot.

      Cons

      Sometimes I don't enjoy it much.

      JOEY Restaurants2019-06-21
    • "Bar Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Bar Manager 

        I have been working at JOEY Restaurants full-time

        Pros

        Fun, social, Lots of opportunity

        Cons

        Stressful, lack of specialized training, low pay

        JOEY Restaurants2019-06-02
      • "Kind of Scummy"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Server 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at JOEY Restaurants part-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        You make great tips, opportunity for advancement

        Cons

        harassment, belittling, told me to wear more makeup

        Advice to Management

        Do not tell staff to be prettier when coming to work.

        JOEY Restaurants2019-06-13

        JOEY Restaurants Response

        June 18, 2019Recruiting & Employment Brand Manager

        Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Former employee feedback is extremely important to us and we take it very seriously. If you’re willing to provide a few more details about your experience it would be greatly appreciated. Information such as location and dates ...

        Show More
      • "Working as a student"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Server in Lansdowne, ON
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at JOEY Restaurants full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Very fun environment and everyone is usually around the same age

        Cons

        It's a fast pace environment and very demanding on multitasking.

        JOEY Restaurants2019-05-24
      • "Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at JOEY Restaurants

        Pros

        The co workers are nice and friendly. Some are very rude though.

        Cons

        Managers are underpaid 17$ an hour for all the hard work and running they do. You do way too much and Management is never happy with what you do.

        Advice to Management

        Stop giving customers free stuff every time they are upset and pay you floor leaders more. They work really hard. This was the worst job I’ve ever had in my life

        JOEY Restaurants2019-06-20

        JOEY Restaurants Response

        June 24, 2019Recruiting & Employment Brand Manager

        Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Former employee feedback is extremely important to us and we take it very seriously. If you’re willing to provide a few more details about your experience it would be greatly appreciated. Information such as location and dates ...

        Show More
      • "Server"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at JOEY Restaurants part-time

          Pros

          Good training program and excellent management

          Cons

          High tip out, not great employee discount on food.

          JOEY Restaurants2019-05-09
        • "great employer highly recommend"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at JOEY Restaurants full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          team driven, shared accountability, social

          Cons

          no room for advancement unless moving, long hours

          Advice to Management

          none

          JOEY Restaurants2019-04-29
        Found 290 reviews