JOEY Restaurants Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

JOEY Restaurants Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 280 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Jeff Fuller
110 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company with some really great people(in 21 reviews)

  • "Potential to make good money (if you’re willing to work long hours and tipout half of what you made)(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours some times working 6 days a week(in 18 reviews)

  • "Dress code can be difficult for women - working long hours in heels is very painful(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Dishwasher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JOEY Restaurants part-time

    Pros

    High paying job and very friendly

    Cons

    There is no cons

    JOEY Restaurants2019-05-15
  2. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at JOEY Restaurants part-time

      Pros

      Good training program and excellent management

      Cons

      High tip out, not great employee discount on food.

      JOEY Restaurants2019-05-09
    • "great employer highly recommend"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at JOEY Restaurants full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      team driven, shared accountability, social

      Cons

      no room for advancement unless moving, long hours

      Advice to Management

      none

      JOEY Restaurants2019-04-29
    • "Overly Competitive, Very unsupportive"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at JOEY Restaurants part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Competitive wage, decent hours, good tips

      Cons

      No real support after training

      JOEY Restaurants2019-05-15
    • "Server"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at JOEY Restaurants part-time

      Pros

      Good tips and nice customers

      Cons

      competitive environment and fast paced

      JOEY Restaurants2019-04-19
    • "A good place to work."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at JOEY Restaurants part-time

      Pros

      Learn lots of skills Fun people

      Cons

      Weird hours. On your feet a lot.

      JOEY Restaurants2019-04-04
    • "Cook"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at JOEY Restaurants part-time

        Pros

        Fun environment, easy training, lots of hours available

        Cons

        Management, demanding, get yelled at for little things

        JOEY Restaurants2019-03-22
      • "Server"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at JOEY Restaurants full-time

          Pros

          lot's of fun ,fast paced

          Cons

          lot's of favouritsm, very disorganized, lot's .of gossip

          JOEY Restaurants2019-04-03
        • "Culture"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at JOEY Restaurants part-time

            Pros

            Decent environment where you are measured on clear metrics. Performance is compared to other servers to create competition.

            Cons

            Sometimes managers may not be very effective when dealing with situations, leaving the server to take care of it themselves.

            JOEY Restaurants2019-03-14
          • Helpful (3)

            "Server"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Server in Edmonton, AB
            Doesn't Recommend
            Neutral Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I worked at JOEY Restaurants full-time for more than 2 years

            Pros

            Engaging workplace activities IE- menu roll outs & food/drink educational sessions. If you are a strong server, there is room for improvement; however you would make more money serving/bar tending than you would whilst shift leading or having a lower-management role. The GM of my location had an infectious personality and inspired those under her to be better at their job!

            Cons

            I was just a server (female). This company showed gender discrimination quite a bit. They often were turning away employment applications because they did not wish to have any more male servers on the floor (though very few male servers worked at my location). I remember management pulling aside all of the girls one day to touch base on areas of improvement; such areas included wearing more makeup, and high heels.

            JOEY Restaurants2019-03-23
          Found 280 reviews