JOEY Restaurants Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

JOEY Restaurants Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
74%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
JOEY Restaurants President & CEO      Jeff Fuller  (no image)
Jeff Fuller
131 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours and can get very intense(in 24 reviews)

  • "Dress code can be difficult for women - working long hours in heels is very painful(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at JOEY Restaurants full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Advancement, Clean Environment, Family atmostphere

    Cons

    Long Hours, Pay could be better

    JOEY Restaurants2020-01-06
  2. "Wouldn't Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at JOEY Restaurants part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Although customers were nice and some coworkers were nice and willing to help you if you were first starting out, most of the staff are rude and unhelpful. Money can be good if you work a double shift.

    Cons

    There is a big highschool atmosphere here. No one likes the new girls and they do not try to include you in anything. Management does not care as they are their own little "prestigious" highschool group. An employee tried to steal my tip on a shared party and manager just laughed and said be careful of him? Doesn't seem very managerial.

    JOEY Restaurants2020-01-05
  3. "Great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at JOEY Restaurants part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing hardworking staff always supporting each other All managers are amazing and supportive

    Cons

    A lot of testing/knowledge Hard to move up to top 20

    JOEY Restaurants2019-12-17
  4. "Amazing company to work for. Family. Challenging. Rewarding."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Office: Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JOEY Restaurants full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This company invests in the growth of their people. Managers truly care about the people on their team and they give them the freedom and autonomy to create new visions and challenge the status quo.

    Cons

    Extremely competitive, so you need to enjoy that type of an environment.

    JOEY Restaurants2019-12-10
  5. "Not worth it..terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JOEY Restaurants part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sometimes make decent money, some regulars are nice.

    Cons

    Tip out is very large. Rude/needy customers Terrible management People quitting all the time Micro-managing Strict Play favorites Only like people who are pretty Discriminate

    JOEY Restaurants2020-01-13
  6. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Saskatoon, SK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JOEY Restaurants part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good tips and nice working environment

    Cons

    Not many shifts,minimum salaries even worked for more than 1 year

    JOEY Restaurants2019-11-26
  7. "Lasted 3 Months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - FOH 

    I worked at JOEY Restaurants part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They offer some schedule flexibility

    Cons

    Not great on team alignment, every server is working for themselves, excessive micro-management

    JOEY Restaurants2019-12-10
  8. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at JOEY Restaurants part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good money, and love the people I work with. Can create great friendships with regulars

    Cons

    Superficial environment, management is not very good

    JOEY Restaurants2019-12-09
  9. "Great place to work part time and develop serving skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at JOEY Restaurants part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good coaching, competitive, great tips, fun staff events, major discount and an abundance of hot girls.

    Cons

    Cliquey, booking time off can be difficult, and reviews can be overly harsh

    Advice to Management

    Take more time into considering people's personal time and use a better scheduling tool than Excel.

    JOEY Restaurants2019-11-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not what I expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JOEY Restaurants part-time

    Pros

    -Great environment to meet people -Ambiance is okay -Food is good -The company puts in great work to attain objectives and they do -Good looking people -Good career opportunities

    Cons

    -Very fake management -Expectations for partners are way too high -The concept of romancing is good but they are pushing it ; it's good for the clients to know what's in the meal but listing every item to them when they order is too much. We are not in the kitchen to know all that. The clients themselves do not always want to hear all that. The staff is doing too much. -Stressful work environment -Short shift, possibility to get cut after one hour -Favoritism from the staff management -Tipout is insane, you will tipout half of what you make to be honest -Staff Management is on you 24/7

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more understanding that not everyone will fit into the mold, people learn at their own pace. We are here to work and our job is to serve. Serve with kindness and hospitality. It's not normal for employees to come in stressed because we do not fit the expectations that you are pressuring us to be. Other than that, you will meet interesting people in the staff and while serving.

    JOEY Restaurants2019-11-25
Found 333 reviews