J Sainsbury Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

J Sainsbury Reviews

Updated Feb 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
J Sainsbury CEO Mike Coupe
Mike Coupe
1,353 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay & many different hours available(in 437 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours and colleagues are supportive(in 157 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and often stressful as everyone must be multi skilled(in 147 reviews)

  • "When the company got rid of team leaders there is very little room for career progression(in 134 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wholesome, flexible working, great people, fun

    Cons

    political at times, unclear roles, too many levels

    J Sainsbury2020-01-29
  2. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shelf Stacker in Iqaluit, NU
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environment for the staff

    Cons

    Low pay for the staff

    Continue reading
    J Sainsbury2019-10-23
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader 

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Vacation are ok Customer are nice Work Conditions Discount for Employees Some future Opportunities

    Cons

    Management needs improvemnet Work Shifts can be unsual Pay us lower end the leadership is lacking

    J Sainsbury2018-04-18
  4. "Solid starting career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury

    Pros

    Good management, overtime available, friendly easy going and clean working environment, employee discount is always helpful especially at Christmas

    Cons

    Limited progression, not much interaction / communication between departments, not many chances to increase earnings or develop additional skills for higher positions

    Continue reading
    J Sainsbury2016-10-25
  5. "Relaxed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Team Leader in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J Sainsbury

    Pros

    It's big chain company and chain company

    Cons

    Hard to progress in the company

    Continue reading
    J Sainsbury2016-10-16
  6. "Nightshift stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at J Sainsbury

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere Friendly staff and manager Fast paced

    Cons

    staff discount only 10% Work life balance can be askew if you get overtime

    J Sainsbury2015-10-15
  7. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Watford, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, great bonus, nice work culture.

    Cons

    Hardly any. Kinda faraway from transport links. But that is me, not driving.

    Continue reading
    J Sainsbury2014-02-10
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buying Administrative in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, career development opportunities

    Cons

    Pay is quite low compared to similar job roles.

    J Sainsbury2020-02-22
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with hours and friendly management

    Cons

    The customers that play up

    J Sainsbury2020-02-21
  10. "Lovely job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in London, England

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friend,y small team, good management, fun environment

    Cons

    Small stores when not busy gets boring

    J Sainsbury2020-02-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 4212 reviews