J Sainsbury Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

J Sainsbury Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3331 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
J Sainsbury CEO Mike Coupe
Mike Coupe
1035 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and very flexible with the different types of shifts that are offered(in 270 reviews)

  • "Fairly flexible hours for students(in 127 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Solid starting career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at J Sainsbury

      Pros

      Good management, overtime available, friendly easy going and clean working environment, employee discount is always helpful especially at Christmas

      Cons

      Limited progression, not much interaction / communication between departments, not many chances to increase earnings or develop additional skills for higher positions

      Advice to Management

      Rework the training program to cover other areas other than just the shop floor, HR training would be a good place to start or marketting

      J Sainsbury2016-10-25
    • "Good Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Team Leader 

      I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Vacation are ok Customer are nice Work Conditions Discount for Employees Some future Opportunities

      Cons

      Management needs improvemnet Work Shifts can be unsual Pay us lower end the leadership is lacking

      J Sainsbury2018-04-18
    • "Relaxed"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Team Leader in London, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at J Sainsbury

      Pros

      It's big chain company and chain company

      Cons

      Hard to progress in the company

      Advice to Management

      Open new vacancies

      J Sainsbury2016-10-16
    • "Nightshift stocker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at J Sainsbury

      Pros

      Friendly atmosphere Friendly staff and manager Fast paced

      Cons

      staff discount only 10% Work life balance can be askew if you get overtime

      J Sainsbury2015-10-15
    • "Software Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Engineer in Watford, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Good pay, great bonus, nice work culture.

      Cons

      Hardly any. Kinda faraway from transport links. But that is me, not driving.

      Advice to Management

      We need more free food!

      J Sainsbury2014-02-10
    • "Pretty good, I liked the night hours"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Online Picker in Sunderland, North East England, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Enjoyed the night shift 4am to 8am. Management was pretty cool. You don't get called into speak to the manager unless there is a problem. Colleagues were excellent and helpful.

      Cons

      Punctuality is important. You need to be adaptable for the hours, if you're not used to 4am to 8am already.

      Advice to Management

      Doing pretty good already.

      J Sainsbury2019-05-19
    • "Student Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - GM Assistant in Leeds, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Relatively small contracts so can fit around student timetables Dependent on shop, usually a good team, quite a lot of students working in larger cities so a good team to work with Can usually find cover for shifts

      Cons

      Getting time off at Christmas and Easter to go home from University can be hard if you dont transfer from home store Pay as with most retail isn't high enough

      Advice to Management

      Increase pay

      J Sainsbury2019-05-19
    • "Groceries Online Shopper (Former Employee Review)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Groceries Online Shopper in Taplow, England
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The management are good and helpful Tasks given are not strenuous The system they use when I was there was easy to learn Employees are friendly Opportunities for more hours if you require

      Cons

      Pay is not the best Unsociable Hours

      J Sainsbury2019-05-19
    • "Amazing place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in London, England

      I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great management Pay is good

      Cons

      It Could get ridiculously busy sometimes

      J Sainsbury2019-05-18
    • "A real great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service in Exeter, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      -Friendly co-workers -Helpful and supportive management -Lot's of opportunities within the company

      Cons

      - None, love working for the company :)

      J Sainsbury2019-05-19
    Found 3331 reviews