J Sainsbury Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

J Sainsbury Reviews

Updated 22 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3737 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
J Sainsbury CEO Mike Coupe
Mike Coupe
1,192 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and very flexible with the different types of shifts that are offered(in 316 reviews)

  • "Fairly flexible hours for students(in 132 reviews)

Cons
  • "Big gap between staff and management which team leaders were expected to fill without support(in 122 reviews)

  • "Work life balance as long hours(in 115 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Watford, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, great bonus, nice work culture.

    Cons

    Hardly any. Kinda faraway from transport links. But that is me, not driving.

    Advice to Management

    We need more free food!

    J Sainsbury2014-02-10
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader 

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Vacation are ok Customer are nice Work Conditions Discount for Employees Some future Opportunities

    Cons

    Management needs improvemnet Work Shifts can be unsual Pay us lower end the leadership is lacking

    J Sainsbury2018-04-18
  3. "Solid starting career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury

    Pros

    Good management, overtime available, friendly easy going and clean working environment, employee discount is always helpful especially at Christmas

    Cons

    Limited progression, not much interaction / communication between departments, not many chances to increase earnings or develop additional skills for higher positions

    Advice to Management

    Rework the training program to cover other areas other than just the shop floor, HR training would be a good place to start or marketting

    J Sainsbury2016-10-25
  4. "Relaxed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Team Leader in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J Sainsbury

    Pros

    It's big chain company and chain company

    Cons

    Hard to progress in the company

    Advice to Management

    Open new vacancies

    J Sainsbury2016-10-16
  5. "Nightshift stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at J Sainsbury

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere Friendly staff and manager Fast paced

    Cons

    staff discount only 10% Work life balance can be askew if you get overtime

    J Sainsbury2015-10-15
  6. "Mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checkout Cashier in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues to work with, always great to work with

    Cons

    Management is suffocating and can let personal issues with staff get in the way.

    Advice to Management

    Become more professional and try harder to connect with the staff members on their team. Be polite and friendly rather than sharp, rude and difficult to work with.

    J Sainsbury2019-09-22
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I worked at J Sainsbury full-time

    Pros

    Work with good people everyday

    Cons

    Low pay but good balance

    J Sainsbury2019-09-21
  8. "Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Southwark, England

    I worked at J Sainsbury full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great progression, Pay is not bad

    Cons

    Shift may change weekly

    Advice to Management

    Try to fix hours so employees have time for family.

    J Sainsbury2019-09-21
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cashier 

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    Nice people even when the work was hard

    Cons

    Very stressful especially when dealing with customers

    J Sainsbury2019-09-22
  10. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Implementation Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - opportunities to grow and develop -the company cares about their employees -good benefits package compared to other retailers - most of the time I had good work life balance

    Cons

    - sometimes growing internally can be very difficult as some managers are very political - in head office only certain minorities thrive and progress such as LGBT , while others such as non British are not given the same opportunities

    J Sainsbury2019-09-20
Found 3737 reviews