J D Wetherspoon Shift Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

J D Wetherspoon Shift Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
38 Ratings
  1. "Mixed Bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Burnley, England

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Discounts for food and soft drinks. Job security. Meet friends easily. Management wage is very competitive. Share incentive scheme.

    Cons

    Unsociable hours and late weekends. Unempathetic to life commitments out of spoons. Managers/area managers/head office procrastinate too much at advancing or sign people off on training done - leaving members of staff feeling used and frustrated. Lack of thought for members day off - after a 1am close but before a 6am open leaves little of day off left after sleep.

    Advice to Management

    Take a little more care of the team and they might care a little more about the business

    J D Wetherspoon2017-01-13

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 31, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are improvements to be made at a local level.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Nice but challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Shift Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training program Friendly environment Career opportunity

    Cons

    Bad working hours Abusive customers Poor support when really needed

    Advice to Management

    I would improve the control over managers. Too often Pub managers do little or nothing leaving everything on shift manager and staff shoulders

    J D Wetherspoon2016-12-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    December 12, 2016Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

  3. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Chester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Shift work can be good Good to get to know some great people

    Cons

    Work life balance No over time Always want more from you

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff well, they can get a lot of abuse in this job that you won't ever hear about

    J D Wetherspoon2016-10-26

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 15, 2016Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that some things were not as you had expected and will work to resolve such issues.

  4. "Challenging but not always for the right reasons."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Chester, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Free shares Bonus when achieved Progression opportunities sometimes available The people you work with can be great

    Cons

    Poor work/life balance Blatant favouritism in some cases Management salaries for shift managers not as good as they once were when compared to competitors within the industry. Regularly understaffed. It's difficult not to come across as negative given the atmosphere on my particular area over the last couple of years.

    Advice to Management

    Make the career path to Pub Manager more clear and assist Shift Managers in achieving this goal if they want it. Promote staff based on merit not on length of service or who puts in the most unpaid hours. Telling a shift manager that they are bad at their job, only work their contracted hours (especially when told this on a week where they have put in at least an extra 15-20) and that you are going to block their application...

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2016-09-02
  5. "Real"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Its challenging at times but what was meant to be a pit stop of a job has turned in to a career and I wouldn't have it any other way.

    Cons

    Not everyone sees it as a business oppurtunity

    J D Wetherspoon2016-07-26
  6. "Crap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Blackpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good customers. Some decent staff

    Cons

    Salaried as a shift manager and they believe in getting there moneys worth. more and more to do before you get away Hard work and just another number

    Advice to Management

    Less office work

    J D Wetherspoon2016-06-27

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 5, 2016Recruitment and Training Manager

    Thank you for your comments

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Worst experience of my life!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food, employee discount. You can leave with only a weeks notice when you realise you have made a big mistake with this company.

    Cons

    Pub falling apart, daily dramas, discrimination rife, customer service non existent, dirty, rats, bonus's impossible to hit, rude management. Just about everything to be honest.

    Advice to Management

    Train your staff yourself and do it properly. Pay well for the amount you put your staff through, make bonus's achievable, DO NOT allow your staff and management to discriminate and tarnish others, treat your staff with the respect they deserve. The list is endless!! I have worked in the industry for 10 years, in those 10 years i have managed lots of different bars & restaurants and worked for multiple companys. Wetherspoons...

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2016-06-06

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    June 13, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for your review, I note you no longer work for the company, and wish you all the best in your next career move. We will pass your review to the Area Manager for the area you mention for further review.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Shift Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager Grade IV 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Training - Job satisfaction - Good hours now they have been reduced - Progression - Free meals

    Cons

    - Pay - No support from area managers - No recognition rom Op's directors, GM's, or AM's - Having to save too many associate hours

    J D Wetherspoon2016-04-17

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 25, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

    thank you for your feedback - greatly appreciated

  9. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Beccles, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    If you want a career with great progression oppourtunities, or just a job to get you some extra cash while you study, Wetherspoons have it. The job is genuinely enjoyable, and you get to meet a real mix of people. Pay and bonuses are good too!

    Cons

    What is a weekend? Chances are, youre going to work some shifts that put a dent in your social life. (Though being able to rush around the supermarket because you have a monday afternoon off and everyones at work is quite good...)

    Advice to Management

    Its definitely all about people. Ive worked with a variety of managers in my time, and having a good manager makes all the difference.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-03-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Shift manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager Grade IV in Rotherhithe, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free food, meeting new people Mainly staff sometimes customets

    Cons

    Money Abuse Bonus Management that haven't got a clue how to run a bath let a lone a pub

    Advice to Management

    Work!! Set an example Stop moaning about work when your the highest paid in the pub

    J D Wetherspoon2016-03-15
Found 62 reviews