J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1187 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
486 Ratings
  1. "not the worst, not the best job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good benefits, not a bad job at all for young people wanting to start a career

    Cons

    very hard work. work/life balance isn't the best.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-14
  2. "Generally good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Got stock bonus to prevent us wasting. Management were understanding and kind and didn’t let customers abuse us.

    Cons

    Shift patterns were weird, training wasn’t very interesting

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-09
  3. "Fine job and good team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Bar Worker in Plymouth, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good team work amongst staff members

      Cons

      Not enough staff to work busyhours

      J D Wetherspoon2019-05-09

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      Many thanks for your review and hard work.

    • "s"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

      Pros

      it is very reliable and interesting

      Cons

      lots of people and friends

      J D Wetherspoon2019-05-08

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    • "If you fit the part then sure, if not AVOID"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Bar Associate 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good pay, frequent bonuses, 50% off meals

      Cons

      Long shift hours, Very rude customers, Finishing at 3AM, Management pick who they like and treat the rest like dirt, for example I requested to be bar trained but was refused due to having a little facial hair, which I shaved off and was still refused. Management granted me holidays but then took my last day of my holiday away without advising me and I got a disciplinary for not turning up for work, Shift patterns are...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Speak with your staff about issues instead of jumping the gun on certain issues you have with them. Treat all staff equally regardless of facial hair or any appearance, Stop speaking to staff like children, Work out fair shift patterns instead of random each week. Take the time to actually thoroughly train your staff instead of throwing them in the deep end.

      J D Wetherspoon2019-05-23
    • "A great student job to have"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Bar/Floor Staff in Birmingham, England

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I really enjoyed working behind a bar, full training was given and I liked being thrown in the deep end.

      Cons

      Weekly rota changes made it hard to plan ahead

      Advice to Management

      Have more consistent rotas

      J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      Thank you for your review. We aim to provide a rota at least two weeks in advance and any changes agreed. We are sorry to hear this was not the case for you.

    • "Kitchen Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

      Pros

      Monthly Bonus, Quarterly Bonus, Good Teams

      Cons

      Long-ish hours, but very flexible

      J D Wetherspoon2019-05-06

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      It’s great to hear you are benefitting from the bonus scheme. Thank you for your hard work

    • "Awful"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Bar Associate in Canterbury, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      20% discount, and nothing else

      Cons

      Literally everything except the discount

      J D Wetherspoon2019-06-09
    • "Spoons"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good pay Part paid break Holiday pay

      Cons

      Late closes Open later on bank hol

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-29

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      Thank you for your review and best wishes for the future.

    • "Hard Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Kitchen Shift Leader 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good hours, well paid, great promotion opportunities

      Cons

      Bad management, focus not on staff

      J D Wetherspoon2019-05-13
    Found 1187 reviews