J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Assistant Reviews

Updated Apr 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
1 Ratings
  1. "Wetherspoon review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is very good and the managers are always friendly and there has never been any issues related to my availability when having more uni work

    Cons

    It gets really busy sometimes

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-23

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    It is great that you are enjoying the role and have the flexibility to work around your studies. Thanks for your feedback

  2. "Corrupt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount of meals but not drinks

    Cons

    High pressure Immature staff Corruption within the manager Severe attitude problems

    Advice to Management

    So many people left the Counting House, even within the first few weeks, the staff turnover rate is embarrassing that they increased the wage, only go if you're desperate, but be prepared to get depressed. The only nice people were the floor staff, the bar and kitchen staff had constant mood swings, even the manager to. Good luck.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-06-11
  3. "Positive workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Bath, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits Workers rights respected Very affordable food on shift No prior experience required Possibility to pick up extra shifts when wanted. Training provided

    Cons

    Very high pressure work at busy times

    Advice to Management

    I felt like I was treated fairly and that my management team was well trained and approachable. I hope the management is continuing this.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Worst job I've EVER had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was good Discount on food

    Cons

    Regularly worked 6 hours+ on the night shift (6-12am officially but clean up often took much longer than that) without so much as a toilet break (I'm a woman so you can imagine the implications of that) whilst other people on the shift were sent for their breaks. Never got to enjoy the food discount as when I did get a break it was never long enough to eat. Once scalded myself on steam from a lasagne yet had to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Social media is no place to conduct your business. Sexism is not ok. Make sure that the shift leaders are aware everyone is entitled to a break.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-15
  5. "Kitchen Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Minehead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great friends, Great atmosphere, Good fun

    Cons

    Long hours, Hot, Constant standing

    Advice to Management

    its all going great

    J D Wetherspoon2017-09-14

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    September 26, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Many thanks for your review - this will be passed on to the area manager and discussed further within the company. I would encourage you to speak with your Pub manager if improvements can be made.

  6. "Part Time Kitchen Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Wimborne Minster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Hours Good Team Ethic Chance to learn new skills and train for other roles Decent pay and discounts

    Cons

    Short staffed during some key shifts Management could be more organised

    Advice to Management

    Better awareness of making sure there are more than enough staff available working in the kitchen, on the bar and the floor during busy times of the day and during busy times of the year.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-07-25
  7. "Food was microwaved"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to get too , transport, gets very busy and is very popular, for group parties and offices and on football match day

    Cons

    There is a strict dress code for entering the establishment, they to realise some people can't afford to wear expensive clothes

    Advice to Management

    Change way food is prepared

    J D Wetherspoon2016-03-02

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 8, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave this review.

  8. "Customers and management need to show more respect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    It was a job I could get in my local area at the time. An eventual share scheme. Some discount.

    Cons

    There were occasional bonuses base on wether a pub passed its internal inspection or not. Typically it would be 1% off of achieving, the same was said for the London area pubs I worked and the Midlands. The share plan was dreadful, they took them from me when I left?!

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff more. Many of them want fixed hours, but the stability isn't provided. Increase their wages, it's a joke, especially when you hear Tim Martin blathering on in your commute's paper about how it's wrong to pay more or wrong to give more hours.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-01-21

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 25, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for the review. We do offer fixed hours contracts for employees if they are requested, and we have recently increased our minimum starting rate to £7, and even higher in some pubs.

  9. "Not too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay + Friendly Enviroment

    Cons

    Hours provided can be incredibly short

    Advice to Management

    Fix up hours

    J D Wetherspoon2015-12-19

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    December 21, 2015Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, and for your positive feedback. Please discuss any issues with your manager - they should be able to address them for you. Happy Christmas!

  10. "weatherspoons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    good training and development programme, plenty opportunity to progress, fast paced, busy, more than the national minimum wage, 50% off food while on shift and 20% when off for you and 4 others and bonus scheme when audits are passed.

    Cons

    ZERO HOUR CONTRACT....very long shifts!! not enough hours to go round!! To many people above you for example not just kitchen manager but shift leader and team leader so far to many people in charge at once.

    Advice to Management

    stop hiring kitchen staff and give the staff that are already supposed to be in full time employment the hours also sack the zero hour contracts and give people actual contracts for the hours they need.

    J D Wetherspoon2015-11-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 18, 2015Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review - we are really pleased to hear that you have lots of positive comments about the company. With regard to your hours, please take time to speak to your manager or Area manager about this - there may be something we can do to help.

Found 11 reviews