J D Wetherspoon Bar Staff Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

J D Wetherspoon Bar Staff Reviews

Updated Jul 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
18 Ratings
  1. "Good for short term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Blackpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can have as many hours as you like, big teams where most people get along, progress from within most often

    Cons

    Those in higher positions seem to look down on other staff, a few lazy managers, very busy shifts

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-11
  2. "Not brilliant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Getting to know the regulars

    Cons

    Rigid working hours, Saturday nights suck!

    Advice to Management

    Look after your staff better

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-10
  3. "enjoyment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in Dunstable, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    meeting all types of people and enjoy my team of colleagues

    Cons

    some customers can be quite rude

    Advice to Management

    the hours should be on a more stable rota I can work start shift , mid shift and finish shift all in one week

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-07
  4. "Bar Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Louth, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours on offer to employees

    Cons

    No major issues. Issues dealt with fast.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-11
  5. "A great student job to have"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Floor Staff in Birmingham, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working behind a bar, full training was given and I liked being thrown in the deep end.

    Cons

    Weekly rota changes made it hard to plan ahead

    Advice to Management

    Have more consistent rotas

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We aim to provide a rota at least two weeks in advance and any changes agreed. We are sorry to hear this was not the case for you.

  6. "Wetherspoons Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Pontypridd, Wales
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Had a good time working here.

    Cons

    There are no cons that come to mind.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-20

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Many thanks for your review and hard work during your time with us.

  7. "not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    -Great chances for career progression - Benefits are good (50% off food and drink during shift & 20% off otherwise) - your managers are hired internally and have made their way up from your position, and so better understand your interests

    Cons

    -the pay is a bit low

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-26

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are pleased to hear that you are benefitting from the discount scheme and the chance to progress. Many thanks for you review

  8. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed it quite a bit

    Cons

    Hours weren't very flexible and they fired me for pretty much no reason whatsoever

    Advice to Management

    Train your staff more before you criticise them

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-28
  9. "What an amazing place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Culture Brilliant staff banter Lots of charity opportunities Very sociable Enhanced pay after 12am Many more Pro's

    Cons

    Would love to work more hours, but due to budgeting that's currently not possible

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing work

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-06

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are pleased you are enjoying working with us.

  10. "New start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Staff in Islington, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    left to your own devices and can work at a steady pace Management seem fair

    Cons

    Not much staff interaction and long shifts, especially for a new employee

    Advice to Management

    Provide more contact options throughout work and out of work

    J D Wetherspoon2018-12-16

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    December 18, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We will discuss your feedback in this week's meetings. I would recommend speaking directly to your pub or area manager if you think there are improvements to be made at a local level.

Found 46 reviews