J.D. Irving Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

J.D. Irving Reviews

Updated 12 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
95%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
J.D. Irving CEO James D. Irving and Robert K. Irving (no image)
James D. Irving and Robert K. Irving
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great experience, great benefits, great people(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great place to work if you want a fast pace career with lots of development opportunities(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-life balance is not exactly even, even if HR is constantly stressing this(in 9 reviews)

  • "high demands and pressure, long hours(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Saint John, NB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J.D. Irving full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is a great company that offers lots of benefits. It provides extremely engaging work and fantastic benefits. There are few employers in North America that are as sophisticated with their employee development. Great place to work if you want a fast pace career with lots of development opportunities.

    Cons

    Great place to work, it is very traditional and that doesn't always appeal to all people.

    J.D. Irving2019-08-12
  2. "Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Accounting Associate in Halifax, NS

    I have been working at J.D. Irving full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Can do CPA - Company has initiatives to adapt culture

    Cons

    - None really, tons of opportunity and they pay more than firms!

    J.D. Irving2019-11-12
  3. "Honest work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J.D. Irving full-time

    Pros

    Company management are responsive to feedback from within and with regards to future outlook i.e. good safety culture, honest values are rewarded and market results are shared with employees.

    Cons

    People with a positive attitude to pressure and fast pace work will thrive here.

    J.D. Irving2019-11-12
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Continuous Improvement Manager in Moncton, NB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J.D. Irving full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Advancement opportunities, great atmosphere, colleagues

    Cons

    Can’t think of any

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on the JDI values

    J.D. Irving2019-11-02
  5. "Good bad and the ugly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J.D. Irving full-time

    Pros

    Solid benefits and training programs, decent pay. Opportunity for overtime

    Cons

    Under staffed and stressful. Too much work, too little time

    J.D. Irving2019-10-28
  6. "Overall Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Accounting Associate 

    I have been working at J.D. Irving full-time

    Pros

    Flexible, bonuses, good company culture

    Cons

    No paid overtime, large workload

    J.D. Irving2019-10-22
  7. "Great Place to get experience to build your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J.D. Irving full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great experience, great benefits, great people

    Cons

    High pressure, high expectations,

    J.D. Irving2019-09-26
  8. "HR Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Moncton, NB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J.D. Irving full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great focus on people, customers and community

    Cons

    Part of a large organisation

    J.D. Irving2019-09-11
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J.D. Irving full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities

    Cons

    Don't have a time to be with family

    J.D. Irving2019-08-23
  10. "Amazing Place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Co-Op Student in Saint John, NB
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J.D. Irving full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at JDI enhances your knowledge and understanding of real life projects. They have a great team you can be reliable upon. And apart from work, social networking is greatly encouraged with indoor and outdoor activities. It is a safe, stress-free, and sociable place to be.

    Cons

    The Lab. Technicians settle into a routine which I believe makes them very reluctant to "change".

    J.D. Irving2019-08-20
Found 136 reviews