Iovate Health Sciences Reviews

Updated Apr 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
41%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Iovate Health Sciences President Paul Gardiner (no image)
Paul Gardiner
71 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great gym and free product every 2 weeks(in 15 reviews)

  • "free gym facilities for employee use(in 13 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iovate Health Sciences full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunity in my professional career

    Cons

    I don't have anything to say

    Iovate Health Sciences2020-04-21
  2. "Kudos to Iovate management for looking after their employees during COVID 19 pandemic"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time in Oakville, ON

    I have been working at Iovate Health Sciences full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Living up to it's vision to be the number one Employer, Nutrition and Weight Management Company

    Cons

    Some members of the ELT are, for lack of a better word, egotistic

    Continue reading
    Iovate Health Sciences2020-03-26
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Good people under poor management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Iovate Health Sciences full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are fantastic The pay is great if you can take a mental/emotional smackdown for several months at a time Can get promoted quickly since people rotate in and out of the company Lots of self development - there is no training program in place but you can learn a ton on your own Most employees are very helpful because they understand the lack of training Gym available at any time - people even go and take a 2 hour workout at lunch Cafe Free volleyball, football, softball and ice hockey leagues HR team is solid - they're actually trying to update their policies and environment Summer hours Basketball court in the parking lot Free vitamins and product every month Christmas party Good benefits

    Cons

    High turnover - people are treated poorly because management has no time to care for their teams, or management is under so much pressure that they distance themselves from their team Lack of strategy - people work in silos and keep secrets from each other because they are told to High school environment - some of the senior leadership love to gossip about anything in the industry, even within their own walls. Sometimes it's funny, though Managers pick their favourites and foster their development/advancement within the company over other more deserving people Lots of odd, unproductive, and unnecessary meetings Zero accountability - cross-functional alignment is a loose term thrown around so that everyone can just nod their head to a decision that no one wants credit for because it's a terrible idea No one understands their bonus payouts You can get promoted multiple times in a year if you know how to use big words that no one else knows Watching the parent company's stock online is a roller coaster - lots of rumours float every day About half of the employees don't even know what products the company they work for makes

    Continue reading
    Iovate Health Sciences2020-03-14
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Company with great potential if only executives allowed staff to do their job"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Sales 

    I worked at Iovate Health Sciences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong brands; fun and growing industry

    Cons

    Executives micromanage staff and create an immense amount of unnecessary internal work distracting teams from winning in the marketplace.

    Continue reading
    Iovate Health Sciences2020-02-11
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Disorganized Company and Processes"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Iovate Health Sciences full-time

    Pros

    Good location, nice facilities, social activities

    Cons

    - Very unprofessional work environment (shady business practices, out-dated processes, inappropriate work relationships) - Terrible internal communication between departments - Individuals in senior and management positions are not qualified for their jobs - New ERP system does not work because they bought a basic version when the business really needs a more comprehensive, upgraded version (as said by our 3rd party integration team)

    Continue reading
    Iovate Health Sciences2019-12-06
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Have a thick skin and you'll thrive"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Iovate Health Sciences full-time

    Pros

    Rating is rounded up. If I could give half points, it would be 2.5 stars. You'll work with smart, ambitious young professionals. There's youthful, vibrant energy, and your limits will be pushed. There's a genuine desire to be among the best, which can result in some people doing what it takes to climb the ladder.

    Cons

    Senior team only focuses on the flavour of the month, so be ready to change priorities very quickly. Nobody from the C-suite is trained in leadership, so there is no long-term strategy, no interpersonal skills, no encouragement, a lot of lip service, a lot of finger-pointing and blaming, and nothing but a focus on sales. Old school thinking doesn't allow for flexibility in work hours or location. If you work with the C-suite, be ready for emails demanding answers, even when you're at a funeral.

    Continue reading
    Iovate Health Sciences2019-10-20
  7. Helpful (13)

    "If you are sane, stay away (watch out for all the fake reviews from HR team)"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales/Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Iovate Health Sciences full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    An old gym and ok cafeteria. A few good people still there, but trying to get out for sure If you are good at blowing smoke and sucking up, you might get a decent pay without having to actually work

    Cons

    Where do I even start? - The current CEO is a joke - fostering a gossipy, back-stabbing culture. Only love for the "trusted" and other people ain't matter - If you work too much or if you actually work, you'll likely get thrown under the bus all the time - If you are female or an immigrant, you might get "mocked in a friendly way" by the "Iovate Elite" who form their own big boys' club with boomer-era views of diversity - If you don't work in sales, you are useless to the company - Most sales people don't do any work - Business is going down, don't expect much bonus - A lot of incompetent people who have been there all their lives and don't know how to manage business, but are good at Iovate politics - People get fired all the time

    Continue reading
    Iovate Health Sciences2019-11-02
  8. Helpful (7)

    "stay away"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Product Development 

    I worked at Iovate Health Sciences full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    cool people, great gym in the building

    Cons

    terrible hours, no work life balance, toxic environment

    Continue reading
    Iovate Health Sciences2019-10-24
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Mostly Good and Enjoyable"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iovate Health Sciences full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I am a bit unsure of some of the reviews on here as I have had a pretty good experience thus far. I do enjoy my work, feel fairly compensated and rewarded, but I can see some other departments/managers struggling, so I guess it really does depend on who you work for in the organization. I feel challenged in my work most days and as though I am continually learning new things. There are some issues here, but there are issues at every place you can work. Iovate has been good to me and there have been some rough/bad times but no worse than you would possibly experience anywhere else.

    Cons

    Workload can sometimes be overwhelming, but there are tough times in every job/organization. I do see some people present themselves as a "yes man" and move forward within the company quicker than I would have imagined, but again I feel there are politics in every workplace. No real work from home policy - although it does appear as though they are working towards developing some flexibility on this and I hope it increases in frequency/develops into a proper allowance.

    Continue reading
    Iovate Health Sciences2019-07-10
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Sales"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Iovate Health Sciences full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None, sinking ship, terrible environment to work in

    Cons

    HR team is out of this world. You’ve been warned...

    Iovate Health Sciences2019-07-27
Found 109 reviews