International Institute for Sustainable Development Reviews

Updated May 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 19 reviews

3.9
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
International Institute for Sustainable Development President and Chief Executive Officer Scott Vaughan
Scott Vaughan
8 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Intern, less than 1 year

    RESEARCH INTERN

    Oct 28, 2020 - Intern in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    people are kind and willing to give advise

    Cons

    I couldn't see them in person in this situation

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Payroll

    Aug 11, 2020 - Payroll Administrator in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people to work witj H

    Cons

    Very face pace environment very busy

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Taking on a challenge with a team

    Aug 14, 2018 - Communications Specialist in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Exciting, relevant work Welcoming, high powered team Flex work time and location International exposure

    Cons

    Pay on a non-profit scale

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    International Institute for Sustainable Development Response

    HR Manager

    We greatly appreciate your feedback! We are happy to see that you are enjoying your first year at IISD and agree there are plenty of exciting and welcoming staff! We believe work life balance and exposure to the international work and challenges is key to empowering our employees. We are continuously assessing our compensation to ensure fair pay across our industries market. This is determined using a leading HRIS platform to assist IISD in paying at market compensation rates as we value our employees and the work that they do.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great

    Jan 11, 2021 - Finance Manager in Gurgaon, Haryana, Haryana
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Environment, culture, staff, location, salary

    Cons

    Far, conveyance, high rent, food

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Contractor, more than 5 years

    Punches above its weight

    Oct 15, 2017 - Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a truly non-ideological organization that promotes research and informed policy making about sustainable development. You will work with great, intelligent, concerned people.

    Cons

    Salaries are quite modest, so you will be tempted to leave.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    IISD

    Dec 18, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Incredible academics, friendly colleagues, and making a real difference in the world of international affairs and sustainable development.

    Cons

    Not much interaction between the different offices, and there is sometimes tension between them.

    3 people found this review helpful

    International Institute for Sustainable Development Response

    Director of Communications

    Thanks for your feedback. So glad you're having a five-star experience :) We agree about the incredible team who work here and the impact they have in the world. We also agree we wrestle with silos. It's a natural result of having offices spread across the planet with people focused on ambitious objectives in very different fields. We've recently added to our comms team to improve internal communications. Weekly emails and a more robust intranet are helping celebrate the work across our organization. The leadership team is also raising awareness of the different programs's grant proposals, so more of our teams collaborate across offices and time zones. And breaking down silos is -very much- on the leadership team's minds.

  7. 5.0
    Current Intern, less than 1 year

    Very helpful colleagues

    Aug 8, 2013 - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very helpful colleagues and mentors who will take time out to guide you. As a non-profit their research isn't affected by incentives.

    Cons

    there is no laptop provided for interns. also the stipend is kinda low considering the costs of living in Geneva.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    It's a good institute

    Sep 15, 2020 - Policy Analyst in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work and nice people

    Cons

    Not much interaction between different team

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Superior colleagues, great ideas and collaboration

    Aug 21, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The IISD is a great place for starting out a career. The projects are as varied and interesting as the staff. There is a lot of opportunity to find and develop your own projects.

    Cons

    The amount of over time put in for project (research) staff is not compensated with overtime pay and the large work load makes for taking off time in lieu difficult. Expect to work long hours on a regular basis.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Easy and insightful interview process

    Jul 26, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    IISD used an online video interview platform, which indicated to me that they were a tech savvy and forward-thinking company. Next step was a one-to-one chat with my manager. The process moved quickly and smoothly.

    Cons

    Remote locations make it hard to get to know colleagues on a personal level. Time zones can be a challenge, but working for a global organization is also its own reward.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

Popular Careers with International Institute for Sustainable Development Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at International Institute for Sustainable Development? Share Your Experiences

International Institute for Sustainable Development logo
or