Ingenuity Lab Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ingenuity Lab Reviews

Updated Jul 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great Opportunities & Collaboration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ingenuity Lab full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    World class team of experts Room to grow and develop Freedom to propose new ideas Meaningful, cutting edge scientific research

    Cons

    Some coworkers can be difficult

    Advice to Management

    Keep Going and Stay the Course!!

    Ingenuity Lab2018-04-10
  2. "Researcher at Ingenuity Lab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Researcher 

    I worked at Ingenuity Lab full-time

    Pros

    Smart scientists and engineers to work with.

    Cons

    Not very organized, and the work is repeating.

    Ingenuity Lab2019-07-06
  3. "Nice organization to get involved in high end R&D but not very good for long term development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ingenuity Lab full-time

    Pros

    friendly staff, flexible schedule, good resources

    Cons

    unclear structure and poor management, not very productive

    Ingenuity Lab2018-08-30
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Proofreader of Research Documents"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ingenuity Lab

    Pros

    Flexible hours Freedom of work - Little supervision Trust in employees Questions answered promptly

    Cons

    Cubicles can be a bit bland Some area have no windows

    Ingenuity Lab2018-04-06
  5. "Growing, interdisciplinary lab with great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Copy Editor in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ingenuity Lab part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Multi-disciplinary approach, focused on solving current issues, exciting research, strong and focused leadership not afraid to push boundaries and get things done. Colleagues were all friendly and always happy to help one another. As a student employee, the opportunity to work for a dynamic, young, goal-oriented research organization was an amazing opportunity. In addition, they recognized my hard work and grew... my role to meet their needs and my interests in the communications department. The leadership team were adaptive, high-energy and looked to support myself and my colleagues do our jobs and give us opportunities to grow. I have the utmost respect for them and am so grateful to have worked with them and see the front lines of the technology applied in such a variety of fields!

    Show More

    Cons

    Work split on multiple floors of building, University of Alberta Chemical and Materials Engineering manages HR and are atrocious.

    Advice to Management

    Keep blazing your own trail and avoid getting bogged down in U of A politics.

    Ingenuity Lab2018-04-06
  6. "A great lab to be a part of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Copy Editor 
    Recommends

    I worked at Ingenuity Lab part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Lab of Ingenuity was a great place for me to work. As a university student with a busy schedule, this was an opportunity for me to be a part of a professional team, and to also get work experience while in school. Everyone was always really nice, which made for a friendly workplace culture and environment. Managment was easy-going and flexible with my school schedule. The Lab of Ingenuity is doing some really... exciting research and it was cool to be a part of that team.

    Show More

    Cons

    Inconsistent hours, but that came with the part-time nature of the job and I knew that going in!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work and innovation.

    Ingenuity Lab2018-04-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Family Run Lab with Public Funding at the University of Alberta"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Ingenuity Lab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -You will learn how to handle uncomfortable environment very well. -There are some good researchers and staffs in the group.

    Cons

    - It is a public funded lab that controls by family members. This is not the issue for a private company, but it makes it really unacceptable for a public funded research group. - The family members without required credentials can override any decision easily. - The management team (the family members) spend lots of public funding for publicity -Some of the group members bend easily with wind to stay longer.

    Advice to Management

    -Presenting FALSE FACTS has expiry date! It is important to leave good name behind. -Bringing family members without any credentials on board is not being wise. - Just investing on gaining publicity is not enough. Nowadays, having output has the final say.

    Ingenuity Lab2017-07-11
  8. Helpful (3)

    "A family run business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ingenuity Lab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well funded lab with all the facilities located in the National Institute of Nanotechnology. The labs are at a great location and easy access to Tim Hortons.

    Cons

    All the administrative posts are filled with family members. No good communication between researchers and the director is surrounded by his trust worthy group of highly qualified politicians. The projects are all hypothetical and there is a lack of passion for hardcore fundamental research. They run as in commercial companies and does not belong in the NINT. They should relocate in the industrial areas of South... Edmonton.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start publishing papers in peer reviewed journals rather than cheap publicity in local and national newspapers.

    Ingenuity Lab2017-03-22
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Clouded vision of ingenuity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ingenuity Lab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of funding, this place will be in business for at least the next three years. Most of the people are a pleasure to be around.

    Cons

    There is noticeable friction between different team leads. Lack of information between groups has led to a few costly mistakes. It is run much more like a company than research group, results that can make money or be patent-able are the only goals.

    Advice to Management

    Ditch the yes-men family members that you have installed, and hire industrial trained scientists if you want the results you are looking for.

    Ingenuity Lab2016-02-09
  10. "Exciting concept and vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ingenuity Lab full-time

    Pros

    - Creative and innovative researchers - Multi-disciplinary - Easy to initiate new projects

    Cons

    -Bureaucracy of surrounding organizations (University of Alberta, Alberta Innovates, NINT, Alberta Government)

    Advice to Management

    Don't give up. Find a way to operate outside of the University.

    Ingenuity Lab2018-05-11
Found 10 reviews