Infrastructure Ontario Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Infrastructure Ontario Reviews

Updated Feb 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
38%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Infrastructure Ontario President and CEO Ehren Cory (no image)
Ehren Cory
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There are no cons working at IO(in 5 reviews)

  • "My manager dressed me down in a senior management meeting for a small(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Infrastructure Ontario full-time

    Pros

    It's such a refreshing and great culture at Infrastructure Ontario, to work with like minded people helping to achieve a common goal. The office is modern, leadership keeps everyone involved, and teams work collaboratively.

    Cons

    Nothing is a con at this moment

    Infrastructure Ontario2020-02-13
  2. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Infrastructure Ontario full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Dedicated, staff who care about work - Work Life Balance is fantastic

    Cons

    - Often staff get stuck with more work, no compensation for extra work - HR policies are convoluted and not easily understood, could be communicated better

    Infrastructure Ontario2020-02-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Equitable, diversified and equal opportunity workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at Infrastructure Ontario full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits with work-life balance and exciting projects to work on. Lots of young talents (unlike most Govt. agencies) who came from the private sectors. Strong HR and workplace value alignment. Overall, a good place for career progression.

    Cons

    Dealing with bureaucracy in the Govt can be frustrating as it slows down processes and systems.

    Infrastructure Ontario2019-12-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "weak culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Infrastructure Ontario full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    work life balance; good benefits

    Cons

    mediocre culture; very political; seems that the a-holes are the ones who get promoted

    Infrastructure Ontario2019-12-03
  5. Helpful (2)

    "lots of discrimination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Infrastructure Ontario full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Success is more likely if you're white, Toxic work environment with racism. The staff at the top are mostly friends and family and this leads to staff injustice when the top is the problem. They pay according to race it seems not experience.

    Cons

    Nothing to appreciate. They gave fake promises. but nothing worked as per they said. They falsify documents to past reviews on a glass door, do not trust them it has been posted by HR.

    Continue reading
    Infrastructure Ontario2019-12-16
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Stay Away -- I will be running out when I get another JOB!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Financial Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Infrastructure Ontario

    Pros

    Salary, benefits and other employees going through the same problems in the workforce. The benefits are soo good that we can take stress and mental health leave from what management put us through.

    Cons

    There are managers and directors that still have the 80's and 90's management techniques. They have to realize we're in the millennial years and the techniques have changed. They need to get EVERYONE that have direct reports take leadership courses at least every month. Does the company not see the statistics on how many employees are on stress and mental health leaves? The culture of this particular government is very poor and has really need to be changed asap before their turnover gets even worst than it already is. It is so sad to see that they are hiring younger employees coming straight out of university and they require deal with this old version of management techniques.

    Continue reading
    Infrastructure Ontario2019-12-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of efficiency and waste of public money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Infrastructure Ontario full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Business areas are well achieved and well managed. Salary and benefits are reasonable.

    Cons

    The overall IT leadership is quite poor and mismanaged. Public money is wasted to the extreme and for many years. Lack of strategic thinking, being managed like a kindergarten student classroom. Superior work life balance as there is hardly any work. Skill sets are misappropriated and not suitable for efficient operation of IT.

    Continue reading
    Infrastructure Ontario2019-12-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Infrastructure Ontario full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work life balance is great

    Cons

    can be political, management is in flux

    Infrastructure Ontario2019-10-28
  9. "Excellent Emloyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Infrastructure Ontario full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have an opportunity to do interesting work and great work life balance. Salary is ok and benefits are excellent.

    Cons

    Some employees still feel sense of entitlement but culture is starting to change

    Continue reading
    Infrastructure Ontario2019-10-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Real Estate Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Infrastructure Ontario full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance makes IO tolerable short term.

    Cons

    Management is shockingly inept.

    Continue reading
    Infrastructure Ontario2019-11-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 41 reviews