Infrastructure Ontario Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Infrastructure Ontario Reviews

Updated Oct 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Infrastructure Ontario CEO  (no image)
4 Ratings
  1. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Infrastructure Ontario full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Good benefits even though the pay isn’t that high

    Cons

    The pace at which things progress can be slow at times

    Infrastructure Ontario2019-03-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "STAY AWAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Infrastructure Ontario full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Difficult t think of anything that is great about this place.

    Cons

    Toxic environment. Promotions based on who you know. Management does not respect employees. Everyone excels at complaining and talking about how they ae dealing with such huge project issues. It's all about the drama. If you don't drams like them, you are not appreciated. If you work hard, they hate it because it makes them look bad. Run. don't walk.

    Infrastructure Ontario2019-10-01
  3. "IO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Underwriter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Infrastructure Ontario full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Flexible work arrangements

    Cons

    There are limited growth opportunities

    Infrastructure Ontario2019-07-12
  4. "No movement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Infrastructure Ontario full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work flex environment is helpful with a family

    Cons

    Very unresponsive HR. No room for growth

    Infrastructure Ontario2019-05-27
  5. "Good place to work. Many student opportunities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Infrastructure Ontario

    Pros

    Good culture, work life balance is present.

    Cons

    Paid is below average. No bonus.

    Infrastructure Ontario2019-04-30
  6. "Excellent work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Infrastructure Ontario

    Pros

    The team is really welcoming and patient.

    Cons

    There are no cons working at IO

    Infrastructure Ontario2019-01-31
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Infrastructure Ontario full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are no real pros except for maybe the salary and benefits.

    Cons

    Honestly if I could give this place 0 stars, I would have. - My manager was a micromanager. He wanted things done his way and then he gave me a low performance rating even though I followed his exact wordings in my work. - I was told to shut up in meetings several times when I wanted to give some new ideas. Way to go IO. - My colleagues were not supportive. I had to basically train myself because no one seemed... willing to help. - Really high turnover. I joined right after 3 people quit one after the other within a week. And my team was 4 people after losing the 3 people, so 50% turnover basically. - The company thinks that because it is a provincial entity, it is entitled to receiving work so when we don't get a deal, the company takes it very badly and takes it out on the employees publicly. My manager dressed me down in a senior management meeting for a small $100k loan that I lost to a bank. - More management than required. The bureaucracy is worse than you would expect for a public company. I had to go through 3 levels of management to get approval for a small $200k loan once and then it went to board of directors as well.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Treat your employees well. - Cut the unnecessary management. You do not need a CEO, vice-president, assistant president, and then manager for like a 20-person team. - Stop feeling entitled. You are in a competitive landscape. Start dealing with it.

    Infrastructure Ontario2019-02-19
  8. Helpful (3)

    "IO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Infrastructure Ontario full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Irresponsible HR team that lacks communication with staff. Management needs to be restructured, the wrong people get let go and promoted. Not a lot of movement for growth or innovative thinking.

    Advice to Management

    Fix HR team and make management less top heavy.

    Infrastructure Ontario2019-01-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Infrastructure Ontario"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Infrastructure Ontario full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive salaries, generous vacation / time off

    Cons

    VPs and senior management protecting their own jobs, yet having little knowledge about industry. Wouldn't recommend staying for more than 2 years in this organization or you will become irrelevant in the job market. The skills you acquire will be marginal at best and non-transferable to most industries. I agree with previous reviews that the MOI should abolish this organization, it's a waste of taxpayer dollars.

    Infrastructure Ontario2018-12-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Infrastructure Ontario for more than 5 years

    Pros

    work life balance, they'll fund your education

    Cons

    The organization is completely powerless and has no real decision making power. Management is completely clueless and have limited industry knowledge. You'll be held down so that they can protect their own jobs. Don't stay here for more than 3 years or you will become completely irrelevant in the job market. The skills you acquire will be marginal at best and non-transferable to most industries. The ministry... should abolish this organization because it's a waste of tax dollars, it's actually quite shocking.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    groom & grow employees, get rid of middle management

    Infrastructure Ontario2018-10-10
Found 31 reviews