Industrial Light & Magic Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 186 of over 244 reviews

4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Industrial Light & Magic President and General Manager Lynwen Brennan
Lynwen Brennan
89 Ratings
Pros
  • "projects good(in 9 reviews)

  • "Great people, talented artists, high end projects(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The history of wokflows and pipeline of the company some times gets in the way(in 16 reviews)

  • "Long hours and lots of overtime(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      Jun 19, 2022 - FX Technical Director in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company morale is generally high. Good respectful work/life balance (people don't contact me after 6pm, good social event culture). Cool Disney benefits too

      Cons

      People can be a bit standoffish about their status

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      May 10, 2022 - Nuke Compositor in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great life work balance , cool work

      Cons

      I don't have anything quite negative to say

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Salary

      May 15, 2022 - Production Assistant in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work on incredible movies and see the work of great artists.

      Cons

      Hierarchical Very Low pay for a company that makes billions in revenue on a yearly basis.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good place overall

      Apr 20, 2022 - VFX Artist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good salary good team good food

      Cons

      projects could be better, too much OT

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      So disappointing

      Feb 12, 2022 - VFX Production Coordinator in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They offer benefits and pay OT, which should be standard. and most of the crew are lovely. Stagecraft will be an interesting addition to the studio.

      Cons

      Movement through the company is based on favouritism not skillset. Lower than average pay Management ignores feedback Tons of surface level actions that have no impact, like announcing 'no meeting fridays' and then continuing to fill Fridays with meetings. As one of the longest running VFX studios they should be much more on top of things, operates like a start up.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Rampant Nepotism

      Dec 21, 2021 - 3D Artist in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      looks good on your resume I guess

      Cons

      There is such obvious favoritism in this place it's crazy. The people who go out drinking with management and supes get all the special treatment, which includes promotions, raises, and all of the best shot work. So if you are more introverted, or you don't drink alcohol, then you probably won't get any good work. If you really need this ILM credit on your resume, then just be careful and watch your back. The artist managers do not follow through with their promises and you will have fight tooth and nail to get your work recognized. But if you don't really need it then just don't even bother working here. It's not worth it. I was on one show where the supervisor was extremely disorganized and would give me very unclear direction, he was verbally abusive towards other artists, and more than once tried to blame me for his own mistakes. On another occasion, one supervisor actually propositioned me WHILE I was an artist on his show, and I was genuinely concerned that turning him down would negatively affect my career. All of my end of show reviews were overwhelmingly positive, but still over 5+ years I was only getting the grunt work on every show. Meanwhile certain artists around me were getting super long vacations and amazing hero shots for their demo reels. If everyone was so happy with my work, why after 5+ years do I have nothing to show for it in my reel? To top this all off the pipeline is extremely onerous and messy. Simple tasks take forever to accomplish. Communication between departments is terrible and continuing to decline. Do yourself a favor and just work elsewhere, the ILM legacy is long gone.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Only good for your resume

      Dec 1, 2021 - CG Artist in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's pretty stable with decent benefits. nice office space

      Cons

      - they underpay people since they know people want that ILM credit on their resume - really messy pipeline - really bad communication, and it seems to be getting worse - only friends of management get promotions and raises - talent is not recognized - unreliable artist managers that don't keep promises and are not transparent in their communication with you - many many artists have left for all of these reasons so there's a high turnover rate which is creating even more confusion

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      great place

      Oct 6, 2021 - 3D Animator in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great team to work with

      Cons

      production deadline smaller and smaller

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Place to work

      Sep 21, 2021 - Pipeline Technical Director in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Titles Diverse Hires Transparent System Hardware provided for working from home

      Cons

      I havent been to the studio

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      Sep 17, 2021 - Animation Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good salaries good people good times

      Cons

      None to note that I can think of

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 186 Reviews

    Industrial Light & Magic Reviews FAQs

    Industrial Light & Magic has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5, based on over 244 reviews left anonymously by employees. 83% of employees would recommend working at Industrial Light & Magic to a friend and 57% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 9% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Industrial Light & Magic employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Industrial Light & Magic. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

    83% of Industrial Light & Magic employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Industrial Light & Magic 3.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Industrial Light & Magic Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Industrial Light & Magic? Share Your Experiences

    Industrial Light & Magic logo
    or