Cover image for Index Exchange
Logo

Index Exchange

Engaged Employer

Index Exchange

Add a Review

Index Exchange Reviews

Updated Nov. 28, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 194 of over 222 reviews
4.2
82% Recommend to a Friend
Index Exchange President & CEO Andrew Casale
97% Approve of CEO

Found 192 of over 222 reviews

4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Index Exchange President & CEO Andrew Casale
Andrew Casale
150 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fair compensation, great work-life balance(in 20 reviews)

  • "Index Exchange is somewhere that you can bring your whole self to work(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The company is growing FAST and typical growing pains of a company are always challenging(in 18 reviews)

  • "No work life balance what-so-ever(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company, Good WLB, High technical challenge

      Oct. 13, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great company culture - Real canadian culture - Flexible Remote or In-person - Great work life balance - Modern tech stack - Opportunity to work with highly challenging problem

      Cons

      - Many senior leaving company. Not sure why. Probably salary gap? - No Bonus. - Private company. Stock uncertain

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Review

      Nov. 28, 2022 - Software Engineer in Kitchener, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fair compensation. Excellent growth potential. Allows for fully remote

      Cons

      Too much emphasis on social activities

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. Join the Index Exchange team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Excellent Place To Work

      Nov. 17, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      One of the best experience I have had in my career. A place where I grew, learnt , and helped opened doors for me in my career in the future. Always applying the most recent ways of working and reinventing themselves in new ways.

      Cons

      Management is a bit over protective. Younger staff are often not given the stage in the presence of more senior person to perform and learn through faliure.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Disrespectful and Micromanaging Exec

      Oct. 5, 2022 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really enjoy the day to day work and love the diversity of the tech stack.

      Cons

      Since the new exec have taken over, there has been a lot of issues. The quality gates they are interested in implementing are making it impossible to get the tiniest changes out and the level of micromanagement and harassment in the meetings involving VPs has created a lot more work stress. This is no longer an environment where mistakes are learning opportunities but rather something to be publicly shamed about.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Index Exchange Response

      Thank you, we appreciate your feedback and the time you took to leave a review. We strive for an environment where everyone feels valued and encouraged to learn. We will be passing your thoughts on to applicable stakeholders. If you would like to chat further or share any additional feedback, we would welcome the conversation. Please reach out to your HRBP directly or email us at peoplepartner@indexexchange.com – The Index People Team

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Brownian Motion Progress...

      Oct. 8, 2022 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Decent work-life balance - Mostly transparent management processes - Strong corporate reputation in the business world

      Cons

      - Ideas are hard to develop with methodical effectiveness, i.e., there's a lot to do and not much time to do it... - ... and then even if it is identified as an issue, there's a lot of hand-wringing about getting it wrong, possibly because turning the ship is tough - Some projects fly under the radar because there's no roadmap to develop them to their fullest and then get neglected - New management seems to be cargo-culting large-corporation practices without understanding whether or not they are actually valuable and how and why

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Overall fine, toxic in higher up circles.

      Sep. 14, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good stable business, solid revenues. Good benefits and perks OK salary

      Cons

      Lots of toxicity high up in management Lots of politics Top down management, unrealistic, unvetted roadmaps dropped on engineering Unclear requirements Employee churn rate

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Index Exchange Response

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review; we appreciate your tenure at Index. We value all feedback as it helps us on our continuous journey to be a great workplace. We welcome you to share further feedback with the team to help us as we evolve. Please feel free to reach out to the people team directly at peoplepartner@indexexchange.com – The Index People Team

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company

      Jul. 7, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are nice and helpful, benefits are nice and the company provides lots of things for employees.

      Cons

      Fast paced with a steep learning curve Expectations not always given

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Jun. 9, 2022 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance, but also has opportunities with tremendous support to achieve and learn what you want in your career.

      Cons

      I didn't get my onboarding package and I really wanted some swag from Index ;(

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good place to work if you want to grow

      Jun. 2, 2022 - Engineering Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really smart people, technically capable leaders, meaningful investment in employees, collaborative environment

      Cons

      Heavy workload, lots of moving pieces

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      recruiter

      May 2, 2022 - IT Technical Recruiter in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very friendly work culture, lots of support from teams

      Cons

      nothing much really, would like to see how the company expand globally

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 192 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Index Exchange Reviews FAQs

    Index Exchange has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 222 reviews left anonymously by employees. 82% of employees would recommend working at Index Exchange to a friend and 66% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Index Exchange employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Index Exchange. This rating has improved by 9% over the last 12 months.

    82% of Index Exchange employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Index Exchange 4.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Index Exchange Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Index Exchange? Share Your Experiences

    Index Exchange logo
    or

    Reviews by Job Title

    Index Exchange Photos

    + Add Photo
    Index Exchange photo of: IX on ice!
    Index Exchange photo of: IX London Holiday Party
    Index Exchange photo of: IX &amp; Kaboom! Charity Day
    Index Exchange photo of: IX Summer Barbeque
    Index Exchange photo of: IX at Cannes
    Index Exchange photo of: IX London
    Index Exchange photo of: IX NYC
    See All Photos

    Index Exchange Job Seekers Also Viewed

    Casale Media Logo
    Casale Media

    3.0

    29 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 222 Index Exchange reviews submitted anonymously by Index Exchange employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Index Exchange is right for you.