Index Exchange Reviews

Updated Oct 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 171 of over 189 reviews

4.1
74%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Index Exchange President & CEO Andrew Casale
Andrew Casale
131 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fair compensation, great work-life balance(in 19 reviews)

  • "Free lunches, "unlimited sick days" (though roughly 20 sick days taken per year will affect you and your promotability negatively)(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Growing pains of any other successful company(in 16 reviews)

  • "PS: The real superstar engineers at IX are modest and great people who are regularly treated poorly as they don't play office politics(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work!

      Oct 19, 2021 - Data Center Technician in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company with so much potential! Better than any of my previous employers in the last 20 years! Good people, great communication among staff from upper management, and you feel like your apart of something great!

      Cons

      None.......still have not come across any negatives.... :)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Wonderful Place to Work

      Oct 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Such a wonderful place to work that is truly supportive of each Employee. Benefits package is great, it is a very flexible and understanding workplace, and lots of opportunities for new challenges, while also having an excellent work life balance.

      Cons

      I have no cons to share.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. The latest conversations about Tech

      Join the conversation on

      Tech

      1y

      a 

      Sales Engineer

      Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

      524

      181 Comments

      Tech

      35K Members 

      Ask candid career questions

      -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-integrated-Reviews&utm_term=Index Exchange~954292
      Join the conversation on
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company, ambitious mission and great people

      Oct 6, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - great benefits - competitive salary - friendly culture

      Cons

      - iffy management - weird engineering practice - bad resource allocation

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work in Toronto

      Sep 1, 2021 - Software Engineer II 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good wlb Great flexibility on WFH Good benefits Good compensation for area Modern toolset and engineering practices Strong growth mentality and focus on IPO in future

      Cons

      Minor growing pains Some heavy coordination sometimes involved Sometimes can be risk averse on projects

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Index Exchange Response

      Sr. Director, Engineering

      We love Toronto, and it will always be one of our key homes for Engineering. We’re really excited about our new office opening up at the Well, especially with that amazing view! We’re excited to also continue branching out to cities like Boston, Montreal, and Kitchener, even offering some remote roles. I can appreciate how important it is to work with modern toolsets and practices, which is why we’ve made it our biggest priority this year to reinvent our platforms and pipelines to support a modern tech stack. Glad to see it's having the right impact! Chris K, VPE

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Awesome workplace with growth opportunities

      Aug 25, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Kitchener, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very people centric culture, friendly/humble/smart people, opportunity to use latests technologies, strong support for education and development, inclusive leadership, growth potential

      Cons

      Industry is at the mercy of big players like Google and Amazon

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Index Exchange Response

      Sr. Director, Engineering

      Thank you for the review! We’ve been working to make our education and development options more transparent and accessible, while also looking to expand our options. Kitchener also happens to be a key area for our expanding use of Kubernetes, Kafka and more. We’re looking forward to continuing our growth in the KW area, and have open roles already in our recruitment pipelines. Chris K, VPE

    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Run in the opposite direction

      Jul 6, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Reasonable pay - 4 week Vacation and flex time

      Cons

      - Poor leaderership - Office politics - No work life balance what-so-ever. - No cloud (They will never migrate due to their clients and nature of data) - Toxic Work Environment - Bro culture - No growth opportunities - Low salary hikes - No promotions - No funds for certifications or continued learning - No appreciation will always keep your morale low - Demotivating environment - No collaboration - Works in silos

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Index Exchange Response

      Senior Director of Recruiting

      At Index Exchange we are working hard to create a positive and open culture where everyone has a voice to openly share their thoughts and challenges. We believe in the strength of our people and providing rewarding careers for all through learning and development programs as well as reimbursement for external training programs. We promote from within and provide new opportunities for our team members to enhance their skills, and attract new talent to ensure a blend of knowledge and experience is shared across our company. In fact, 17 % of positions filled this year have been through internal moves. That said, our work is not complete and we receive all feedback positively and incorporate it into creating a great place to work.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Engineer

      Jun 19, 2021 - Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits culture, food, growth

      Cons

      none, good growth and good learning

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company with excellent leadership

      May 31, 2021 - Scrum Master in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Healthy, safe and fun environment to work in where everyone looks out of one another.

      Cons

      Work from home has caused some challenges in team dynamics

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Index Exchange Response

      Sr. Director, Engineering

      Thank you for your feedback. We’re working hard to support all of our employees as we continue to work remotely, which has involved investing in tooling for whiteboarding and communication, as well as introducing things like social coffee meetings. One of Index Exchange’s core values is Support Each Other, which tells you how important it is for us to all look out for each other. Chris K, VPE

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing management

      May 26, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, great team!! Amazing company!!

      Cons

      Would like to see some flexibility around remote options.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company to work for

      May 4, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very engineering first mentality. Management and ELT are passionate and really care about their employees. Challenging problems to solve on a global scale. Index owns and operates their own hardware worldwide and place heavy investments into infrastructure, reliability and scalability. Definitely in a hyper growth stage.

      Cons

      Growing pains that are common with a company growing at their pace. Maintaining legacy monoliths written in Perl, however they’re slowly transitioning to a more modern architecture in Go. Org-wide changes are slow, but steady. Not a lot of insight into product or engineering roadmaps outside of the leadership bubble. (Eng leads, engineering managers, directors, etc.)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 171 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Index Exchange Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Index Exchange? Share Your Experiences

    or