Indeed Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Oct 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Indeed CEO Chris Hyams
Chris Hyams
478 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work life balance is great especially in the sales team as there are strict hours that you can be online(in 138 reviews)

  • "amazing people, free food, fun events(in 127 reviews)

Cons
  • "No structure in how a week would look just what is your sales number as it needs to be brought to senior management(in 24 reviews)

  • "Lead generation - the replenishment of leads is sub par(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "I WISH I COULD RECOMMEND Indeed , BUT I CANT"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Indeed full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work-life balance was fantastic. Met lots of other employees during my time here who's advice I still seek out from time to time. However, times have changed and we are no longer having such an opportunity.

    Cons

    Career progression and rewards and recognition would need to improve. Zero budget put in for training, upskilling. People leave and do not get replaced. Senior management leaving bad sign of a sinking ship. New technology could be improved. Salaries also could be improved. Most of the management I was exposed to had been field promoted. Because someone had some technical skill does not make them a good manager. Time served and who you spent time with in work seemed to matter most. If you worked hard and did well in your job, you would never leave it.

    Continue reading

    Indeed Response

    October 26, 2020Senior Employer Brand Specialist

    Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your current experience working for our Sales team in Dublin. We are saddened to read your comments and would like to take an opportunity to address your concerns and to learn more. Training and development for employees is paramount and we believe that adequate training is provided for employees alongside an extensive online learning platform that can also be accessed outside of the sales training offered. We believe our career progression structure has been established over the past few years, and paths to promotion should be discussed with your direct management team or HR if further advice is required. In this instance, we would ask for you to reach out to your local HR Business Partner to discuss your comments confidentially so we can address accordingly and hopefully provide you with the support you require.

  2. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "Choose the team you apply to very carefully"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Indeed full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good perks, some great teams (direct sales teams, marketing, hr and IT) nice office

    Cons

    Middle management (outside of direct sales), particularly those linked to sales daily function are very poor. A lot come from well known corporate tech companies and have a school teacher approach. Promotions are rare, demotions are common. Up to roughly 2 years ago company was booming, but big changes in Senior Management and hiring of extremely young inside sales reps, changed the dynamic completely. Massively relient on minimum wage type jobs for site, mid to Senior jobs do not perform well on site, at all. Warehouse workers, HC assistants etc are reason for volume of monthly visit numbers. Missed big chances to develop into a game changing company, other companies, new software and Covid will have really significant repercussions for the business

    Continue reading

    Indeed Response

    July 9, 2020Senior Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your time working at Indeed in Dublin. We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t have the experience we would expect when working for us. Our mission has never been more important than it is today and we remain steadfast in our commitment to help people get jobs. The rapid spread of COVID-19 has had a profound impact on the way we live and work, growing beyond a health concern into an economic one. We are very proud of the way our employees have navigated these challenges so far, and continue to serve employers and jobseekers. We would also like the share we have strong standards and processes in place to ensure our leadership has the experience, tools and resources to access career development opportunities within their teams, and are providing their team members with the right tools and resources to be successful as they advance in their careers. Indeed supports employees on their development needs through internal training programs and encourages employees to leverage on our internal development team and HR Business Partner team to discuss and provide guidance on their training needs. If you’d like to give us any further feedback please feel free to reach out to us at inside@indeed.com for a confidential chat.


  3. Helpful (13)

    "Avoid UK Acquisition too damaging for your mental health."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Indeed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The money is excellent and there are free lunches on Wednesdays. The vast majority of the people are great. Stunning office and general perks.

    Cons

    There are limited excellent managers. The majority of individuals in the acquisition business are either friends of or close ex-colleagues of the senior directors. They promote each other and a cult-like culture internally known as boys club. There is a huge diversity and inclusion issues and this has been made aware to senior management however it is being shut down and made a non-issue. There are consistent issues with women not being promoted and recognised specifically; however, this issue spreads across all diversity channels including race, age, LGBT and mothers, etc. It is talked about constantly but never raised as an issue pubicly to allow the image of excellence to be maintained. An easy search of directors in the acquisition business of Indeed on LinkedIn will prove this point (ALL MEN). The issues include but are not limited to sexual harassment, public scolding in Gap Analysis from Senior Directors due to poor performance which makes people feel like leaving the business due to the horrible nature of feedback, removal of progression based on not being part of the click that is deemed highest (Boys Club). There is an average of one girl per team of ten. We are told we have a voice but this is non-existent.

    Continue reading

    Indeed Response

    February 14, 2020VP Sales & CS EMEA

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about working at Indeed. We are aware that there is still work to be done in increasing diversity in some of our teams, and we appreciate the feedback you have given on this. The Diversity, Inclusion and Belonging team is currently working in partnership with HR and senior leaders to develop action plans that will support sales management in recruiting and retaining a broad slate of candidates. Indeed places significant emphasis on creating a culture of inclusion and belonging for all employees, and ensuring we hire people from diverse backgrounds remains a priority for us. We take any form of harassment at Indeed very seriously and have internal training, policies and procedures in place to support this. Please reach out to me directly or your local HR or DI&B representative to discuss this in more detail. Derek Diviney, VP Sales & CS EMEA

  4. Helpful (2)

    "UK Sales- Mental Health- Overall"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Indeed full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people, environment , Diversified to a point.

    Cons

    Call centre environment almost like a cult, only one thing matters in there and that is the sales number . At one point asked to work from home while out sick with a cert. There are more meetings than make sense and to look busy management will sit in with you on a phone call - that's all they do just so it seems that they are busy and justify their roles. Never asked are you ok it just what a are your numbers for next week. Its a boys world in there and only friends or friends of will progress, not one female director in AB or AA. No structure in how a week would look just what is your sales number as it needs to be brought to senior management .

    Continue reading

    Indeed Response

    March 3, 2020VP Sales & CS EMEA

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your time at Indeed. We are sorry to hear that it has not always been a positive experience, and we are open to hearing more about this if you are comfortable reaching out to me directly or to our local HRBP support. We do not expect anyone to work from home while sick and are sorry to hear this was your experience. We will ensure that managers are reminded of both our policies and practices regarding sick leave. Diversity, Inclusion & Belonging is one of our company values and we are working hard across UK Sales to drive this value. An example of this work is building a diverse pipeline of talent for all of our teams. These long-term, sustainable changes do not happen overnight, but we are committed to taking a number of actions to make an impact. Derek Diviney, VP Sales & CS EMEA

  5. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best company I have worked for!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Indeed full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Free Inhouse Snacks & Cold drinks -Breakfast & Lunch -Work Culture -Manager (Depends if you are designated to the right one. My manager was like big brother to me. HINT : He heads the growth team -Fun activities and they celebrate even tiniest of the tiniest things like Smiley day, world health day etc. I loved it :)

    Cons

    -This is not a place for you to grow if you are fully compliant. Please literally used all kind of techniques and found the loopholes to manipulate the system and achieve the targets. People who dont will try & try and finally give up. -No hike on the CTC unless u get promoted. -No appreciation for hard work. -Even though the senior management in India are aware of the system getting manipulated, they hardly took any actions against it.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Good company marred by bad management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Indeed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great locations -Beautiful offices and facilities -Fair basic wages with good compensation -Some excellent people there with good cultural diversity -Snacks/Breakfast daily, lunch on Wednesdays a plus -Good fitness activities

    Cons

    -Your career happiness will be defined by your manager (director). Bad manager, bad time at Indeed. -Borderline bully culture (was told on several occasions that I/we were "replaceable" by management) -Unlimited PTO is a myth and is only available for certain employees at their managers discretion -I have witnessed some excellent and inspiring people completely burn out mentally and there's zero structure for dealing with this although they say there is -Essentially a call centre. Some people who do not need high output metrics yet still bring in astonishing revenue and smash targets are not considered successful. -Senior management is vastly different between certain orgs under the same structure and it shows - Far too much micromanagement

    Continue reading

    Indeed Response

    November 29, 2019Employer Brand Program Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review about working at Indeed Dublin. We take great pride in both of our office environments in Dublin so we’re happy to read that you appreciate the perks, benefits and compensation we offer our employees. The open PTO (Paid Time Off) is intended to be used by everyone. We want employees to take off as much time on holiday as they need, as long as they are hitting their targets and have manager approval. Everyone’s circumstances are different, but the PTO numbers (time taken off) reported globally have increased every year since we added the benefit. Bullying is not something we tolerate from anyone in our organisation. We hope that our current employees will reach out to their team members or HR if they witness such behaviour, so we can address it immediately. We’d love to talk to you further about your review so please do reach out to us on inside@indeed.com

  7. Helpful (9)

    "Burn and Churn"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Indeed full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Great pay -Awesome company to start your career -Unlimited PTO -Office Perks -Gorgeous NYC office -Teaches you hard work

    Cons

    -Works you to the bone -Inexperienced leaders -Lack of diversity on the sales floor -Frat environment -Used to approach Senior Management asking for help/guidance - they responded with "If you can't do what's asked of you, maybe this job isn't for you" -Leaders lead by fear and not by motivation -Consistently hit quota and it was NEVER enough. "Do more, Be better" attitude.

    Continue reading

    Indeed Response

    November 11, 2019Senior Employer Brand Specialist

    Thanks for leaving a review of your work experience and for your over three years of work at Indeed. You helped grow the company during this time frame to where we are today, and we are where we are thanks to you and others like you.As you mentioned, we provide employees with great benefits to ensure that they have a healthy work-life balance so they can be as productive as possible.We don%E2%80%99t want anyone to feel marginalized or devalued at Indeed, and the views and voices of all employees matter. Managers are held accountable to their leadership roles and we%E2%80%99re monitoring this through our employee engagement and manager feedback surveys. This provides us with insights on the employee experience, and we take it seriously. No company is perfect, and we will always continue to improve based on the feedback former employees such as yourself provide to us. If you have any additional feedback, please send us an email at inside@indeed.com. All emails are kept confidential and only used only for feedback to senior leadership.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good products"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Indeed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, direct report, fun enviroment

    Cons

    Pay, senior management, salary, direction

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great perks, low pay"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Success Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Indeed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -open pto available in the company (needs approval first) -happy hours almost monthly -breakfast, lunch, and snacks provided -friendly coworkers

    Cons

    -micromanaged -pay is low -promotion opportunity within the department is very difficult -senior management tends to overlook the shared department

  10. Helpful (26)

    "So much potential... but....meh"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Stamford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Indeed full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Indeed is a lot of things. Coming out of college, it was a perfect place to start. Everything about Indeed attracts recent grads - “unlimited “ PTO, happy hours, lax dress codes and plenty of socializing. It has incredible training and they do invest a lot in their new employees. They have snacks at all times, Friday has beer at wrap up, etc. I wouldn’t change this being my first job for the world.

    Cons

    That being said, the real problem comes after 1 - 1.5 years of employment. The shininess of Indeed and all it’s perks goes away, and you see that it is a bandaid solution to keep their employees happy. Indeed has become a churn and burn type of place. Senior management has NO idea how bad the morale on the ground is. Most of the sales job (especially with a closed book in growth) is complete luck. I know amazing reps who had no chance of hitting due to their books and people who are new hires pacing to 150%. These discrepancies are very well known, but nothing is ever done about it. If your book is trash, youre just screwed. Management is THE DEFINITION of micromanagement. Managers don’t care about how much you close, they care about the KPI’s they need to report up to their bosses. If you ask for help or say a problem, there is no solution other than to make more dials. That “unlimited” PTO is a wash for sales. You will be guilted any time you need to take time off, whether it is for sickness, vacation, or safety. Last snow storm, everyone got sent home BUT sales. Sales was pressured to stay by their directors, and it took all of us HOURS to get home and many got in car accidents. My biggest issue in general is career pathing. There is NO clear career pathing and an absurd lack of opportunity to move up. You become a Senior Account Manager based on quota attainment, but then there is nothing - and forget about any forward movement if you aren’t a straight white male in the direct employer segment. In Stamford, there is not ONE female director or team lead in the DE-ACQ segment. In DE-growth, there is not ONE team lead that is not a straight white male. Out of 14 teams, there are TWO female directors who came from Account Management. This is 100% an old boys club so good luck moving up if you aren’t an aggressive man with a wolf of wall street attitude in which you want to work your team to the bone. Look, it’s not all bad. I met amazing people. My personal bosses were incredible people who respected me and coached me to become the sales person I am today. I made lifelong friends. The training was amazing! But in the long run, it is not worth the consistent stress and obvious favoritism. In the end, all you are as a sales person is a replaceable cog in a corporate machine. To all the Sales people working there - don't drink the koolaid. You WILL make more money outside of Indeed. It is NOT the best opportunity you have. And honestly, after the reorg, the money wasn't that good anyway unless you blew it out in ACQ.

    Continue reading

    Indeed Response

    April 30, 2019Program Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review about working at Indeed in Stamford. Your feedback is invaluable and we are listening. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the sales training that is offered. It sounds like this is something that will benefit you as you grow in your sales career. We are also glad to hear that you made close friends while working at Indeed. Working with great people is what makes work more enjoyable and fun. Managers are held accountable to their leadership roles and we’re monitoring this through our employee engagement surveys and manager performance feedback. This provides us insights on the employee experience, and we take it seriously. Capturing this information allows our HR Business Partners to take action immediately by delivering direct feedback and actionable recommendations to managers. Once again thanks for your feedback, we are listening and constantly trying to growing and improving as a business, especially when it comes to our culture.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 English Reviews

Work at Indeed? Share Your Experiences

Indeed logo
or