Imprivata Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated May 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 141 reviews

3.7
57%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Imprivata Chief Executive Officer Gus Malezis
Gus Malezis
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture and employees to work with(in 10 reviews)

  • "The company cares about work/life balance(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper-Management can be very strict towards interns(in 7 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance is nonexistent, and the inmates are in charge of the asylum(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Upper management are all trying and failing to be the next Steve Jobs.

      Feb 12, 2018 - Software Engineer in Lexington, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The software teams themselves are actually trying to continue to improve and get better as individuals and a unit. Including soliciting advice from both inside and outside the company. They are the ones driving success, not c level leadership. The company cares about work/life balance. Flexible hours and vacation help that. People up to my product director we’re very willing to take honest feedback and also give it. I felt I got career and personal growth because of their input, but I had to be proactive to receive it. Day to day, most work is at the dev team level, and was a good experience for me.

      Cons

      Every 3 months upper management will spend an entire day telling the entire company about some new paradigm that one of the big 4 are using and that we’re now going to adopt to drive us to success like they have. The topic is then never mentioned again, but the expectations of improved performance remain. When upper management talk, the ratio of meaningless buzzword to actual substance is 20:1. My individual team was short at the product owner level, so it was really hard to get clear direction on projects, often leading to re-written code and wasted time.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful

      Imprivata Response

      Chief People Officer

      We are glad to hear that you were able to learn and grow during your time at Imprivata and that you recognize that Imprivata supports a work life/balance. We are sorry to hear about your negative experience. We would like to understand more, please reach out to me directly. Kelliann McCabe Chief People Officer

    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good, but could be great

      May 13, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work/life balance, supportive atmosphere, general atmosphere of humility, investment in employee growth

      Cons

      No diversity in leadership; not fully vested in modernizing engineering

      5 people found this review helpful

      Imprivata Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for your feedback. Diversity is very important to us here at Imprivata. We continuously do a lot to address and support fostering a diverse workforce. We are always looking to morph and change to align with the needs of the business and we appreciate your recognition in the investment that we have made in employee growth over the last few years. Kelliann McCabe Chief People Officer

    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Really depends on which team you work on and which office you work in

      Dec 18, 2014 - QA Manager in Santa Cruz, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart people who know what they are doing Fun company culture and great parties Nice modern offices with well stocked break rooms Solid IT and Ops teams - things seldom go down and don't stay down long - if you need it, your get it quickly Some of the best executive staff that I have had the pleasure of working with - key members of the C-level get it

      Cons

      Favoritism is strong in some team's upper and middle management resulting in a lack of work life balance for some teams and at times, poor product quality. The same management team follows ‘the three laws of performance’ religiously, demonizing team members who cannot present their message in positive way. Some key leaders are in way over their heads and are dragging down their Divisions, with their teams succeeding in spite of – rather than because of them.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The Ship is Going Down

      Dec 11, 2017 - Engineer in Lexington, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * They do cater food (once for breakfast and once for lunch) weekly. * Company kickoff is fun, they book out a hotel for everyone. * The company does spend money on training and conferences, so lots of personal growth room here. * You can go from newbie to expert in just a couple of years, if not less.

      Cons

      * It's very common that very important decisions do not get discussed with the teams, until it's too late to change anything. * In the engineering group, there was one individual who designed the entire system, and while that's not intrinsically a problem... You were often met with opposition if you questioned things, and that is a problem. * The company has a very corporate feel. They market themselves as a great place to work, but in reality you feel like nothing more than a very little cog in the system. * Decisions would be made to develop using XX, and then a few weeks or months later we'd switch to YY because it's better. Then we'd switch back to XX and point fingers at anyone who liked YY. * Work life balance is non-existent. They asked employees to justify their weekend and holiday (Thanksgiving) plans in order to make a deadline that most people objected in the first place.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful

      Imprivata Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for your feedback. We look to provide a lot of opportunity for all to thrive and we are result driven – sometimes that does require extra effort on behalf of our teams. Each employee is empowered to take time off, to speak up, and to have impact. I am sorry to hear you didn’t experience this at Imprivata. Kelliann McCabe Chief People Officer

    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Once a Great Company....Headed for the Trash Heap, Thanks to Management

      Mar 29, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The software is top notch and the people I work with are terrific. I used to rave about this company and look forward to coming to work. That was then,,,

      Cons

      This is Now...Since the purchase by Thomabravo, the work/life balance has disappeared. Reviews and raises are based on factors that employees have no control over and employees have become pawns in a numbers game. Management sees no problem in having us travel for six days in a week, four weeks in a month, with no compensation. Raises are calculated based on billable hours, which are assigned by the project managers, and the VP buries his head in the sand and lets anything happen, so long as his numbers look good. Professional Services is headed for an implosion on a large scale and upper management is content to let it happen. Stay as far away from this company as you can get,

      Continue reading
      27 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      It’s been great

      Jan 23, 2018 - Software Engineer in Waltham, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I’ve seen a lot of negative reviews about Imprivata engineering lately. They’re not wrong, but these problems are limited to one particular subgroup and do not reflect on the rest of the department. The rest of engineering enjoys a relatively low-stress work environment, great work/life balance, meaningful work with happy customers, and great colleagues. I’ve been working in the industry for decades and have enjoyed my time here more than at any other company. We are making a real difference.

      Cons

      The cloud team. Terribly managed and seems to always be in death march mode. Work/life balance is nonexistent, and the inmates are in charge of the asylum.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Imprivata Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for your review. We encourage work/life balance throughout all groups at Imprivata and we are glad that employees are having that type of experience. Kelliann McCabe Chief People Officer

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great culture and strong product help explain the consistent trajectory of high growth.

      Jun 2, 2014 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is a genuine interest in keeping the culture lively and interactive. Regularly provided food and beverage. Plenty of communication for senior management. The work life balance is solid. The open door policy is in full effect and you never have to be concerned about going directly to the source to get things done.

      Cons

      Need more regularly defined training. A training calendar would be a good place to start.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Temporary employee

      Dec 31, 2015 - Anonymous Contractor in Haverhill, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome company They really emphasize on the "life" portion of a work-life balance! Great company to get into, plus there's always food!!

      Cons

      If you are in a pilot or temporary position, you will find yourself twirling your thumbs with nothing to do

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Smoke and Mirrors

      Oct 9, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Lexington, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice work life balance. Ton of free food and discounted snacks. Employees are very knowledgeable about the industry. Free gym and parking.

      Cons

      All you hear about is culture... what culture? Management is trying its hardest to break any culture there was. People are nice but you have to break all the cliques they have established, even the face of the company, HR! They would rather hire outside then promote within. Not a good look.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Imprivata Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for your feedback. We really do encourage work-life balance for our employees. We are sorry to hear about your feedback regarding the culture we have worked hard to foster and maintain. We also take a lot of pride in the fact that we promote and transfer many internally qualified employees each year, and feel strongly that this creates a lot of growth opportunity from within. Please stop by anytime if you wish to discuss this further. Kelliann McCabe Chief People Officer

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Growth Company with Excellent Culture (but some growing pains)

      May 20, 2014 - Manager in Lexington, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, mission, products, work, benefits

      Cons

      Growing fast, alignment, work-life balance

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

    Work at Imprivata? Share Your Experiences

    Imprivata logo
    or