Imperial Oil Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Imperial Oil Reviews

Updated Oct 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
82%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Imperial Oil CEO Rich Kruger
Rich Kruger
86 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance can sometimes be a challenge(in 23 reviews)

  • "Ranking system was based more on if your boss liked you versus your actual work results(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imperial Oil full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of development, flexible working hours, international opportunities, lots of training

    Cons

    Company bureaucracy and forced ranking system

    Imperial Oil2019-10-21
  2. "Good company to work at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Imperial Oil full-time

    Pros

    Great Place to work at.

    Cons

    You would believe that they will pay more.

    Imperial Oil2019-10-20
  3. "NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Imperial Oil full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work with good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Excessive workload and cutthroat work environment.

    Imperial Oil2019-10-29
  4. "Good job but has it's flaws"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imperial Oil full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flex hours, rotating job positions creates opportunities, pension, high safety standards, relatively safe during downturn

    Cons

    High turnover in finance department, overtime ( management brags about the number of hours worked) no days in lieu despite OT, no bonus, doubts on pension paying out, no longer in downtown core/ secluded location

    Continue reading
    Imperial Oil2019-10-16
  5. "co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internship 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Imperial Oil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots for free reign over my own projects, great work culture and work-life balance

    Cons

    you are not paid for overtime

    Imperial Oil2019-09-30
  6. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geotechnical in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Imperial Oil full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good job security, bright and great people to work with, various and nice communities inside company, nice work & life balance

    Cons

    I haven't experienced anything major

    Imperial Oil2019-09-26
  7. "Imperial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imperial Oil full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best company in canada

    Cons

    Best salary and benefits live

    Continue reading
    Imperial Oil2019-10-09
  8. "Rewarding and long term career at a reputable company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imperial Oil full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    long term career oriented, high ethical and safety standards

    Cons

    Long hours, no over time

    Imperial Oil2019-09-18
  9. "Inefficient HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Imperial Oil full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits Salary Colleagues Office outside downtown

    Cons

    Terrible management who only give opportunities to close friends Inability to move out of administrative roles Bogus recruitment practices -managers already have their candidates picked even before the recruitment process is initiated

    Imperial Oil2019-09-27
  10. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Operations Engineer 

    I have been working at Imperial Oil full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Challenging work and personal development

    Cons

    Internally competitive environment stresses employees

    Imperial Oil2019-09-24
Found 196 reviews