Imperial College London Employee Reviews about "career progression"

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
92%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Imperial College London President Prof. Alice Gast
Prof. Alice Gast
232 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some bureaucracy with expenses and we perhaps not enough career progression feedback(in 32 reviews)

  • "long hours, the supervisor is a bit unstable(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "career progression"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good place to work!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laboratory Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Imperial College London full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The atmosphere is really good, people are friendly but of course it all depends on the team you are working with as well.

    Cons

    The salaries are not high, since it is academia and not industry and career progression is very slow.

    Imperial College London2020-05-27
  2. "Research Associate at Imperial College London"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imperial College London full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High quality research, high level of facilities, good networking opportunity, good collaboration opportunities

    Cons

    Difficult to make career progression

    Imperial College London2020-05-11
  3. "Great university to work at"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Configuration Management Engineer 

    I have been working at Imperial College London full-time

    Pros

    Good line manager Good professional development workshops

    Cons

    Career progression can be difficult

    Imperial College London2020-01-29
  4. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Programmer I in London, England

    I have been working at Imperial College London full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working atmosphere. Opportunity to work with many smart people.

    Cons

    Slow career progression. Low salary

    Imperial College London2020-01-27
  5. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imperial College London for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Open environment surrounded by leaders in their fields

    Cons

    Sometimes lack of budget for new technologies. Some bureaucracy with expenses and we perhaps not enough career progression feedback

    Imperial College London2020-01-13
  6. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contracts Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Imperial College London full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    friendly people, interesting work, opportunities to learn, support from management, great leave allowance

    Cons

    slow reflexes on career progression (re-active, not pro-active)

    Imperial College London2019-11-16
  7. "Research Fellow"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Fellow 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imperial College London full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice organisation and supportive structure

    Cons

    Career progression in academia is difficult

    Imperial College London2019-11-06
  8. "Modeller and Epidmeiologist"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher in London, England

    I have been working at Imperial College London full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, wfh, holidays, stimulating environment.

    Cons

    Bad pay, work environment, career progression

    Imperial College London2019-07-23
  9. "Project Manager"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Imperial College London full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and good salary for the sector.

    Cons

    Limited career progression in the project management hierarchy.

    Imperial College London2019-06-28
  10. "Great place for Research"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imperial College London part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - lots of resources - direct connection to lead academics in any field - flexible working hours - nice location

    Cons

    - very competitive environment - lack of career progression

    Imperial College London2019-06-22
Found 32 reviews