Illumina Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated May 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Illumina President & CEO Francis deSouza
Francis deSouza
471 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is an exciting, fast paced company where things are always evolving(in 84 reviews)

  • "Management that emphasizes work/life balance(in 76 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company, Values, and Mission"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Project Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Our products make a positive impact Work life balance Team sports Team mentality Great pay & benefits Stock options Diversity support LGTQ+ support

    Cons

    It is fast paced and can be crazy. You need to force yourself to stop working because there is so much to do. Some people are very title focused and treat people differently based on their title.

    Continue reading
    Illumina2020-04-29
  2. "Great company with a relatable mission"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast pace, innovative company with considerable emphasis on collaboration. Excellent products and relative lack of arrogance despite market position. Work life balance is a challenge at times

    Cons

    Fast pace leads to lack of attention to details. Desire to be "clinical" company but a long way from this with respect to SOPs QC and customer communication. Very HQ-centric (US) at times with lack of respect to regulatory and work practices in EMEA and APJ.

    Continue reading
    Illumina2020-05-05
  3. "AMAZING!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Data Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance Amazing work culture

    Cons

    Apart from Poor Base Compensation best place to work

    Illumina2020-04-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very good work life balance

    Cons

    you do not feel the stability

    Illumina2020-04-23
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great perks, poor work-life balance"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Quality Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing technology and projects. Room for career growth.

    Cons

    Lots of politics. Quality is treated as "optional". Quality reports into Operations - not a true IVD company. Focus is on RUO projects, because that is what brings in money to the company. Poor to none work-life-balance. Ofcourse this really varies from department to department. Depends on your manager within Quality. You will end up working every weekend and overtime (not just during deadlines) until you get fed up. You get stressed out, and leaves you barely any energy to deal with the constant politics and push-back. Hard to practice diplomacy when you are overwhelmed. Always under-resourced Quality departments.

    Continue reading
    Illumina2020-05-03
  6. Helpful (24)

    "Not the place to be if you're looking for stability"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance with flexible time off is great. 2 company shutdowns for weeks of 4th of July and Christmas Most people are easy to work with. Company stock grants for full time salary employees plus vcp and wellness bonus Free onsite gym Collegiate sports

    Cons

    I felt lucky and excited when I first received my offer to work here and it is unfortunate that my experience has been less than ideal and the cons outweigh the positives. INSTABILITY: I have only been here about 2 years and from from day one, I have seen multiple people have their positions eliminated from one day to the next. Recently, myself included. The severance package offered is not the greatest and rather than trying to retain you and helping you to find other internal positions, the company pairs you with an external career assistance recruiter that does very little to help you find a new position externally. UNPROFESSIONAL: For a company that "cares" about their employees, the way that lay offs are handled is in my opinion, completely unprofessional. There is no transparency or warnings for employees. My entire department was on the edge for months wondering when and who was going to be let go after rumors started circulating. Whenever clarification or reassurance was needed, directors and vps would provide vague answers like "all I can say is changes are coming". Not exactly the kind of thing you want to hear when you are being pushed even further to extend your resources and take on more work. It is demotivating and unnecessary stress. The actual layoff itself was also unprofessional and confusing. I received a meeting invite with no subject. The meeting lasted a total of 5 minutes. I was handed a packet, told to read it through on my own, and that it was optional from that point forward for me to come into the office and continue to work, yet I was told to turn in my badge and computer after the meeting and gather my things from my desk. I was not allowed to speak to anyone and someone would escort me out. It was a bit embarrassing and traumatic since it seemed like more of a firing than a lay-off. Even more infuriating was that they timed it right before performance evaluations and raises hit. I was encouraged to continue to apply internally and I was lucky to land an interview for a similar position within my ideal department. During the entire process, the recruiter made me feel like I was a top candidate and made it sound like I was a shoe-in for hire. The day before my final interview I received an offer from a different org and tried to do right by being transparent with the illumina recruiter. I gave them a head's up and asked about the details of my candidacy and the length of the process. In a very unprofessional manner, my third interview was cancelled 2 hours before and I was told they were going with a candidate with additional experience and they wanted to let me continue the interview since nothing was set in stone. It was very disheartening news to hear and made me feel like my time was being wasted and I was only given the interviews because of the lay-off situation I was in. NO ALIGNMENT AND TRANSPARENCY BETWEEN DEPARTMENTS: Each department kinda roams feral and does what they want without researching the impact and notifying other departments causing more work and stress for others. Additionally to this, job roles are not well defined or not grouped correctly so compliance gaps in training are created or irrelevant training is being inappropriately assigned. Unvalidated systems are feeding data into validated systems and later on discoveries are made that certain pieces of data are no longer in use, have been change, or were never populated upstream and causes more cleanup efforts No ownership for tackling ever increasing issues. Teams pass the buck between departments. LIMITED RESOURCES Many departments are understaffed forcing others to take on more work or share the workload with other understaffed departments. HIRING CONSULTING FIRMS Consulting firms constantly come in, set up systems or provide content, do their damage, then dip out, leaving FTEs to clean up the mess and adding to their workloads FOOD POISOINING Everyday there is a new post about someone getting sick from the ICafe food, or catering, or something random like finding plastic in the sandwiches. BATHROOM/BREAKROOM FACILITIES Are disgusting. For as fancy as the buildings look on the outside, you'd be surprised at how disgusting the facilities are on the inside. Every 3 days the toilets back up and overfill leaving a constant lingering stench, wet toilets and floors. The breakrooms also have an issue with brown water on occasion and sinks backing up. Some people also disrespect and disregard the cleaning and maintenance staff and create more work for them by failing to pick up after themselves if they make a mess. They look down upon them and it's sad to see. OPEN WORK SPACES Creates for noisey and nosey environments and lack of privacy. GROWTH The company has been expanding its lab spaces and thus restricting more and more buildings and floors and limiting already scarce meeting rooms. Good luck trying to book anything at HQB1. More growth also opens the question about where are the displaced departments going to be housed? I3 is at capacity in terms of parking and many now have to park at HQ and shuttle over which makes it slightly more inconvenient.

    Continue reading
    Illumina2020-03-12
  7. "Great culture, changing rapidly"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web/Graphic Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Super work culture. Lots of intelligent people. The company is genuinely changing the world for the better and values work/life balance.

    Cons

    Lots of change as company grows. Re-orgs have become more frequent and politics have become less transparent.

    Illumina2020-04-07
  8. "Focused Impact"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accounting Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Clear goals and realistic expectations have been refreshing. After working for several other companies and industries, this team is emotionally mature and supportive (as needed). It has been refreshing to work in a drama free zone and despite the busy workload, work life balance is actually achievable here.

    Cons

    People are very focused and independent resulting in a lack of "Good morning/ Goodnight" greetings or chit chat which can make for a long day but this varies by various teams in Accounting functions.

    Continue reading
    Illumina2020-03-12
  9. "great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Scientist in San Diego, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good work/life balance, and working environment

    Cons

    salary is in lower range compared to the market

    Illumina2020-03-05
  10. "Great innovative company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mechanical Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working on cutting edge technology. Smart and collaborative development teams. Management that emphasizes work/life balance.

    Cons

    Ultra fast moving company with development timelines.

    Illumina2020-03-02
Found 142 reviews