Illumina Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Illumina Reviews

Updated Dec 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Illumina President & CEO Francis deSouza
Francis deSouza
382 Ratings
  1. "Overall, a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, innovation and market leader.

    Cons

    A pro and also a con, the pace is constant. Not for everyone, but great if you enjoy a dynamic environment.

    Illumina2019-10-14
  2. "Inclusive, exciting environment where you know you make the world better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hardworking, dedicated, passionate people who are driven to make an impact. Friendly colleagues always willing to help or provide input. Innovative culture focused on being cutting edge and always improving. Awesome campus and great employee benefits. You know the work you do here matters and makes a positive impact on the world.

    Cons

    Location of HQ is in the middle of SD traffic

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be open, honest, and engage everyone in dialogue. Could improve 401(k) match.

    Illumina2019-10-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A company that trusts their employees and actually incorporates its values."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Coordinator in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture, the environment, and the mission. Seems like a place that strongly leverages on internal talent.

    Cons

    Less ethnic and backgeound diversity among the leadership level.

    Advice to Management

    There doesn't appear to be a clear path for upward mobility or a large increase in diversity.

    Illumina2019-09-25
  4. "Fast Pace Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina

    Pros

    Great employee's benefits, plenty of learning opportunities and fast pace working environment with good employees and leadership

    Cons

    Work flow and business processes are getting more and more complicated as the company scales upwards. Workload can be overwhelming at times due to demand and fast change

    Illumina2019-10-10
  5. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exciting industry, really making an impact in the world. Great work life balance, flexible work schedule, career development/growth

    Cons

    For a tech company, the maternity leave is TERRIBLE. Company only offers 6 weeks of paid time off while other companies in similar industry offer 16 weeks

    Advice to Management

    Offer better parental leave

    Illumina2019-09-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Brilliant Company / Amazing Mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time

    Pros

    Smartest company I've ever worked for. One of the few companies out there truly focused on changing the world. Very inspiring to be part of such a mission centric organization. Very progressive internally and externally. Senior leaders truly care about doing what's right. Compensation and benefits are mostly really strong and very progressive.

    Cons

    Some longer tenured leaders really struggle to adapt and change and can stagnate progress (and they are tolerated for too long). We have critical processes and tech infrastructure that can still be immature/outdated and are in need of fresh thinking. Things tend to be SD centric, but that is slowly improving as we bring in more global, dynamic, mature senior leaders. We are a constantly changing company in a dynamic... market (which is great), but there are pockets of employees who really struggle with this level of change.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please keep making the hard decisions at the leadership level. We need dynamic, global, mature senior leaders at all levels ... even more so as we grow and scale. Don't worry about the vocal minority as we roll out progressive new org structures, programs, and processes. Keep striking the right balance of short term vs long term performance.

    Illumina2019-09-20
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Used to be a tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Illumina full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Still leading player in the field; management is continuing investment huge in R&D for innovation and new platform development.

    Cons

    Illumina was used to a technology focused company before 2017. With the expanding of business, more and more irresponsible manager and upper management flooded in which generate huge budget overload and waste of resources.

    Advice to Management

    Improve efficiency instead of head count.

    Illumina2019-09-30
  8. Helpful (21)

    "Unstructured and lack directions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are smart and work is interesting. Great campus. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Unstructured and lack directions. Hard working is not valued. The goal is not to make great product but to fight for credits (even for things you didn't do). Not many innovations/research going on. Gender/racial diversity if not good and no one really cares (at least from what I saw).

    Advice to Management

    Hire more real researchers/engineers than politicians.

    Illumina2019-08-22
  9. "Great experience so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    One of the best benefits of working at Illumina is knowing you're working for a company that's actually making a difference in the world. The people here are smart, collaborative, and hard working. I feel complete ownership in my responsibilities and have tons of opportunities to work across functional areas.

    Cons

    We're a growing company. The org structure is still developing and maturing, which makes clear roles and responsibilities challenging. Fortunately, leadership is proactively addressing these issues

    Advice to Management

    Invest in people with healthcare experience. We have a lot of scientists (including me), but I rarely meet clinicians at Illumina.

    Illumina2019-09-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome mission, amazing people, amazing work environment to thrive i

    Cons

    We want to do sooooo much at once. Prioritization is key at every level. We need to learn to say “no”.

    Advice to Management

    Empower Directors to quickly make decisions. Keep adding amazing, industry leading benefits - we love FTO and CCTO!

    Illumina2019-09-13
Found 807 reviews