Illumina Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Illumina Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 779 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Illumina CEO Francis deSouza
Francis deSouza
361 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is an exciting, fast paced company where things are always evolving(in 77 reviews)

  • "care to employees welfare; work-life balance(in 56 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance, growing faster than our resources(in 63 reviews)

  • "No real cons but it is a fast paced, changing environment which might not be for everyone(in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun, enthusiastic."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Preamble: The group I work with was formerly the Victoria, BC company called Genologics; it is now called Genologics, an Illumina Company. It was purchased about 7 months ago, so the good atmosphere and management and policies in Victoria are mainly attributable to Genologics. I'm not sure what it's like to work in other Illumina software labs. In the Victoria software lab, the team works very hard, but also... has a lot of fun. The atmosphere is supportive, engaging, energetic, enthusiastic, and generally happy; although you're allowed to be grumpy and out of sorts... usually greeted with humour and jokes. They are not afraid to explore and adopt new technologies that make development work faster and easier to maintain; and management encourages developers to do so. They supply a lot of food, snacks and full meals when required. It's a mac development environment. Team members support each other without hesitation in achieving business goals. The office building in which they sit is surrounded by beautiful park land. Parking is cheap and covered by the company. Benefits are good. Bonus: I'm getting paid to work here :)

    Show More

    Cons

    If you like to work in a noisy urban environment, with lots of eatery choices/shopping in walking distance, then this is not the place for you. It's situated in a bucolic rural/suburban area surrounded by forest and farmland. It's only 15 minutes to downtown Victoria, though, and there are some excellent restaurants within a 5 minute drive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Illumina should learn from Genologics! The management training for Victoria appears to be excellent, because all the managers and leaders I've worked with in Victoria are down-to-earth, a pleasure to be around, a pleasure to work with, and they engender a positive attitude towards the product and working hard for the company.

    Illumina2016-03-25
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Good benefit

    Cons

    High level management is the problem

    Illumina2018-01-26
  3. Helpful (3)

    "It was fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Illumina full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is really good at showing you the positive impacts your work has in the genomic research sector.

    Cons

    They closed their office in Victoria just a few years after purchasing it from a local company. They didn't provide much info to support their decision.

    Illumina2017-12-17

    Illumina Response

    February 9, 2018HR

    Thank you for writing this review, and we’re glad that enjoyed your time at Illumina. We’re excited to continue our mission to improve human health and hope that you’ll continue to see the connection between the work that you did and the impact that genomics has. We wish you the best ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Interesting but highly unstable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very interesting science, genomics. Working there feels like you're helping improve human health.

    Cons

    Constantly changing corporate structure. They take the "move fast and embrace change " value a little too far. The last move in 2017 was to "focus" and shut down their amazing software division barely two short years after "diversifying" by purchasing them in the first place, affecting hundreds of "valued" employees and their family members right at Christmas time. (A more cynical view would say it smells... suspiciously like a plan hatched months earlier to improve their stock value at years end). The corporate structure is highly stratified, and a lot of decisions that directly affect employees and middle management get made behind closed doors without their input or consideration of their input.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Step down from the boardroom and actually understand all your people.

    Illumina2017-12-09
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Hi Tech company, great vision and execution of mission. Pretty good benefits.

    Cons

    Too many separate groups with competing priorities. With great success comes the challenges of growth.

    Illumina2015-10-25
  6. "Brilliant Company / Amazing Mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time

    Pros

    Smartest company I've ever worked for. One of the few companies out there truly focused on changing the world. Very inspiring to be part of such a mission centric organization. Very progressive internally and externally. Senior leaders truly care about doing what's right. Compensation and benefits are mostly really strong and very progressive.

    Cons

    Some longer tenured leaders really struggle to adapt and change and can stagnate progress (and they are tolerated for too long). We have critical processes and tech infrastructure that can still be immature/outdated and are in need of fresh thinking. Things tend to be SD centric, but that is slowly improving as we bring in more global, dynamic, mature senior leaders. We are a constantly changing company in a dynamic... market (which is great), but there are pockets of employees who really struggle with this level of change.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please keep making the hard decisions at the leadership level. We need dynamic, global, mature senior leaders at all levels ... even more so as we grow and scale. Don't worry about the vocal minority as we roll out progressive new org structures, programs, and processes. Keep striking the right balance of short term vs long term performance.

    Illumina2019-09-20
  7. "Great experience so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    One of the best benefits of working at Illumina is knowing you're working for a company that's actually making a difference in the world. The people here are smart, collaborative, and hard working. I feel complete ownership in my responsibilities and have tons of opportunities to work across functional areas.

    Cons

    We're a growing company. The org structure is still developing and maturing, which makes clear roles and responsibilities challenging. Fortunately, leadership is proactively addressing these issues

    Advice to Management

    Invest in people with healthcare experience. We have a lot of scientists (including me), but I rarely meet clinicians at Illumina.

    Illumina2019-09-18
  8. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome mission, amazing people, amazing work environment to thrive i

    Cons

    We want to do sooooo much at once. Prioritization is key at every level. We need to learn to say “no”.

    Advice to Management

    Empower Directors to quickly make decisions. Keep adding amazing, industry leading benefits - we love FTO and CCTO!

    Illumina2019-09-13
  9. Helpful (18)

    "Unstructured and lack directions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are smart and work is interesting. Great campus. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Unstructured and lack directions. Hard working is not valued. The goal is not to make great product but to fight for credits (even for things you didn't do). Not many innovations/research going on. Gender/racial diversity if not good and no one really cares (at least from what I saw).

    Advice to Management

    Hire more real researchers/engineers than politicians.

    Illumina2019-08-22
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Clinical Laboratory Technologist 

    I have been working at Illumina full-time

    Pros

    Illumina is a great place to work, everyone has a positive attitude.

    Cons

    None, I can not think of any cons.

    Illumina2019-09-10
Found 779 reviews