Illumina Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Illumina President & CEO Francis deSouza
Francis deSouza
419 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is an exciting, fast paced company where things are always evolving(in 84 reviews)

  • "Management that emphasizes work/life balance(in 76 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior SAP Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great managers and team environment

    Cons

    Low pay For current employees

    Continue reading
    Illumina2019-12-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome addition to my life"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent managers, high pace, high pressure, results driven environment. Community respect. Closely partnered with key accounts

    Cons

    Heavy workload, high demands for your time.

    Continue reading
    Illumina2019-11-10
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great working environment"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Good benefit

    Cons

    High level management is the problem

    Illumina2018-01-26
  4. Helpful (3)

    "It was fun"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Illumina full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is really good at showing you the positive impacts your work has in the genomic research sector.

    Cons

    They closed their office in Victoria just a few years after purchasing it from a local company. They didn't provide much info to support their decision.

    Illumina2017-12-17

    Illumina Response

    February 9, 2018HR

    Thank you for writing this review, and we’re glad that enjoyed your time at Illumina. We’re excited to continue our mission to improve human health and hope that you’ll continue to see the connection between the work that you did and the impact that genomics has. We wish you the best of luck in your endeavors moving forward. Greg Bullock – Director, Talent Management

  5. Helpful (6)

    "Interesting but highly unstable"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very interesting science, genomics. Working there feels like you're helping improve human health.

    Cons

    Constantly changing corporate structure. They take the "move fast and embrace change " value a little too far. The last move in 2017 was to "focus" and shut down their amazing software division barely two short years after "diversifying" by purchasing them in the first place, affecting hundreds of "valued" employees and their family members right at Christmas time. (A more cynical view would say it smells suspiciously like a plan hatched months earlier to improve their stock value at years end). The corporate structure is highly stratified, and a lot of decisions that directly affect employees and middle management get made behind closed doors without their input or consideration of their input.

    Continue reading
    Illumina2017-12-09
  6. "Fun, enthusiastic."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Preamble: The group I work with was formerly the Victoria, BC company called Genologics; it is now called Genologics, an Illumina Company. It was purchased about 7 months ago, so the good atmosphere and management and policies in Victoria are mainly attributable to Genologics. I'm not sure what it's like to work in other Illumina software labs. In the Victoria software lab, the team works very hard, but also has a lot of fun. The atmosphere is supportive, engaging, energetic, enthusiastic, and generally happy; although you're allowed to be grumpy and out of sorts... usually greeted with humour and jokes. They are not afraid to explore and adopt new technologies that make development work faster and easier to maintain; and management encourages developers to do so. They supply a lot of food, snacks and full meals when required. It's a mac development environment. Team members support each other without hesitation in achieving business goals. The office building in which they sit is surrounded by beautiful park land. Parking is cheap and covered by the company. Benefits are good. Bonus: I'm getting paid to work here :)

    Cons

    If you like to work in a noisy urban environment, with lots of eatery choices/shopping in walking distance, then this is not the place for you. It's situated in a bucolic rural/suburban area surrounded by forest and farmland. It's only 15 minutes to downtown Victoria, though, and there are some excellent restaurants within a 5 minute drive.

    Continue reading
    Illumina2016-03-25
  7. "Great"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Hi Tech company, great vision and execution of mission. Pretty good benefits.

    Cons

    Too many separate groups with competing priorities. With great success comes the challenges of growth.

    Illumina2015-10-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Brilliant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Applications Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people, the mindset and the possibility of growth

    Cons

    Salary not very competitive but great benefit scheme

    Illumina2020-05-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Product and People"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Systems Analyst III in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Illumina full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People you work with. Upward Mobility.

    Cons

    Not Applicable. My experience there was very satisfying.

    Illumina2020-05-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great technology, minimal individual contributor recognition"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Scientist in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The technology is top notch

    Cons

    Under paid by industry standards

    Continue reading
    Illumina2020-05-22
Found 869 reviews