Illumina Intern Reviews

Updated Apr 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Illumina President & CEO Francis deSouza
Francis deSouza
12 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern - Hourly in Foster City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Illumina for less than a year

    Pros

    People are nice, very open environment, and change quickly

    Cons

    Sometimes internal documentation/approval process is slow like big firm

    Illumina2020-04-07
  2. "Amazing Place to grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Illumina for less than a year

    Pros

    Young team. The company has a lot of innovative ideas.

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    Illumina2019-11-22
  3. "Summer Intern"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Research Intern in Cambridge, England

    I worked at Illumina for less than a year

    Pros

    Good management and mentor at Illumina

    Cons

    Less progress opportunities and development for newbies

    Illumina2019-11-11
  4. "Lovely Company, Friendly People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Data Science Intern in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Illumina for less than a year

    Pros

    Cheap gym, coffee machines and tea,

    Cons

    Code quality isn't great. For what is nearly a tech company, the GitHub is very messy.

    Illumina2019-10-21
  5. "Good company, great people, good atmosphere"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company goals, considerate of employees, well-run

    Cons

    Communication between certain areas of company lacking, causes odd issue/repetition of work

    Illumina2019-08-30
  6. "Incredible experience!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern - Hourly in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina for less than a year

    Pros

    This internship has taught me SO much and allowed me to get hands-on experience. I was able to take projects from ideation to implementation on multiple occasions throughout my internship. Outside of my specific intern projects, I also worked on an intern group project and a poster presentation. The interview process was long, but 100% worth it. Overall INCREDIBLE experience! Apply if you're at all interested!

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons!

    Illumina2019-08-13
  7. "I enjoyed my internship at illumina"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great, fun company to work at. People are smart, young and kind.

    Cons

    Health insurance is not covered

    Illumina2019-05-17
  8. "The place to work for DNA Sequencing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Mechanical Engineering Intern in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Illumina for less than a year

    Pros

    The iAspire program is very well run, interns almost get treated better than full time employees. Fun atmosphere, fast paced work environment. Francis is GOAT. Try to work at HQ in SD if possible to get full benefits of program.

    Cons

    I worked in product development, so very short timelines, everyone had a masters, if not PhD. Very smart people in building, could be hard to rise up to high expectations as undergraduate summer intern.

    Illumina2018-11-01
  9. "Logistics Analyst Intern"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Logistics Analyst Intern in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Illumina for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredibly talented employees, collaborative environment, beautiful campus, fast-growth, great projects for interns

    Cons

    Can sometimes be too fast-moving where projects aren't given full attention

    Illumina2018-10-30
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Overall good experience as an intern, but largely depends on your role"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Illumina for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Intern bonding programs (there was one time when we went for karting and the senior manager lent her sporty pants to me HAHA), supportive teammates, nice supervisors

    Cons

    Cross-department coordination not so efficient. A lot of chaos regarding the documentation process.

    Illumina2018-10-24
Found 26 reviews