Icing by Claire's "50 discount" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Icing by Claire's Employee Reviews about "50 discount"

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
28%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Regional managers were rude and demanding, often work alone(in 20 reviews)

  • "Upper management is also petty and will basically bully you(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "50 discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Company needs to hire leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Medford, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Icing by Claire's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The 50% discount (does not combine with promotions)

    Cons

    Everything else- you have to dress like aol every day, push piercings on people, and you are forced to push things on people that they don’t want.

    Continue reading
    Icing by Claire's2019-12-11
  2. "hire more keyholders. sincerely, all keyholders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Third Key Holder 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Icing by Claire's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% discount (60% on cosmetics)

    Cons

    almost all shifts are by yourself for 6-8 hours with no break. sign changes every. single. night. even if you’re scheduled for a break, you probably won’t get one unless you make a big deal about it. Not enough employees to be able to have coverage if you’re sick, so you have to come in even if you have a fever or are throwing up.

    Continue reading
    Icing by Claire's2019-09-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Stressful if you are management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Icing by Claire's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working here you will receive a 50% discount on everything at both icing and Claire’s

    Cons

    Regardless of sales you work 90% of the time alone

    Continue reading
    Icing by Claire's2018-09-15
  4. "Not that great.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Icing by Claire's part-time

    Pros

    50% Discount Becoming close to your workers

    Cons

    Ear Piercings Rude customers Work alone most of the time Manager doesn't know how to act like one People stealing

    Continue reading
    Icing by Claire's2018-04-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Key Holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Holder in Menlo Park, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Icing by Claire's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% discount Laid back work environment Reward opportunities Flexibility

    Cons

    You do just as much work as the assistant manager and store manager and get paid way less harassment by superiors if your numbers are not up to par We are also trained to do ear piercings and don’t get a raise when we become certified No raises ever unless you get promoted

    Continue reading
    Icing by Claire's2017-12-04
  6. "Third key"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Third Key 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Icing by Claire's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% discount Great coworkers Have learned a lot about management operations Flexible scheduling

    Cons

    -unreal expectations from management. Our performance as an employee is pretty much based off of one aspect, our individual ads (average dollar sale), so you can be great at operational tasks and have high sales but if your ads falls below store's, you get yelled at. -Store manager should not be in the position she is. Myself and the assistant pretty much do her job and she does not lead by example, so I do the work while she gets the title amd paycheck. -work alone often and you are expected to stay out front which means no bathroom breaks or ability to grab a snack. - very little payroll hours so 3rd keys can get as few as 12 hours a week. (The job is best for a highschool student looking to make some extra money, not for someone trying to pay bills) - So much gossip! Between the employees, management, and stores! -no raises this year but they still expect a lot from employees and managers -very little training hours given.

    Continue reading
    Icing by Claire's2016-10-11
  7. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lafayette, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Icing by Claire's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent hours. 50% discount at icing and the sister store claires. Store was in the mall.

    Cons

    Work every holiday, if manager is lady you deal with everything. College students don't want to work.

    Continue reading
    Icing by Claire's2016-06-29
  8. "Part Time Keyholder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Icing by Claire's part-time

    Pros

    fun product to sell, amazing discount (50% off)

    Cons

    tiny store, worked alone a lot

    Icing by Claire's2016-03-23
  9. "Very Stressful Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Sterling Heights, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Icing by Claire's for more than a year

    Pros

    50% off discount full-price, 10% discount on clearance, benefits are ok, Interview process was easy not intimidating

    Cons

    Work alone all the time, 1-on-1 coverage during weekdays, Only get breaks on the weekends, small payroll allocation, high turnover in multiple districts, upper management very rude and disrespectful, lots of pressure for sales, low pay, no help for coverage

    Continue reading
    Icing by Claire's2015-11-13
  10. "Third Key Holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Third Key Holder in Tippecanoe, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Icing by Claire's part-time

    Pros

    Employee discount of 50%. Pay above minimum wage. I honestly can not think of anything other than that to say.

    Cons

    They will hire just about anybody. While I was working there for less than a year, I witnessed multiple district manager and several store managers that I saw, I did not have a store manager for more than half of that. The employee turnover is so high because they are unorganized, do not know how to communicate effectively and accuse every employee of stealing. There is a lack of trust not only with in the employees that work in the store, but also the corporate with each store. Most of the time you work alone and are forced to make executive decisions that they do not take the time to train you for.

    Continue reading
    Icing by Claire's2015-10-16
Found 24 reviews