Ian Martin Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ian Martin Group Reviews

Updated 16 August, 2018
75 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Tim Masson
61 Ratings

75 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The way of Giving knowledge is innovative and the work environment is very good" (in 11 reviews)

  • "Very good importance is given to work life balance" (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "No benefits, no security, never meet the management" (in 5 reviews)

  • "i see no Cons for Ian Martin Group" (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "Changing business for the better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The biggest pro is that this company actually walks the walk - things like a self-managed culture, the fact that your whole self is encouraged at work, and the fact that you have the freedom to determine your career path may sound like empty corporate businesspeak, but they truly mean it here. The company has a clear purpose and isn't afraid of experimenting with ways of doing things better.

    Cons

    This con is a pro, depending on how you look at it, but if you like to just come in to work and be told what to do, this is not the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening, learning, and being open to a variety of perspectives and we'll continue to grow together!

    Ian Martin Group Response

    11 Jun, 2018 – Chief Steward & CEO

    Hi ... thanks for the post... love it when cons are pros!


  2. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great working environment, Freedom to make decisions on accounts, little micro management and oversight

    Cons

    Company is going through a major management transformation so some things get lost in translation.

    Ian Martin Group Response

    27 Jul, 2018 – Chief Steward & CEO

    Hi ... thanks for posting a review! John and I (as well as anyone else on the management team) are totally open to a lunch or coffee to hear about what's getting lost in translation. In my mind, the... More

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Couldn't be happier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter
    Current Employee - Recruiter
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I am lucky. Not only do I get to do what I love everyday, but I get to make a difference with being a member of Stewardship council. We are passionate about "breaking down barriers to employment" and promoting inclusive hiring for us and our clients.
    We work in a environment where we can give and receive feedback, we are open for coaching by colleagues and upper management and our voices and opinions are heard when we discuss the future direction of this company.
    We take 1 day/year, leave our offices and our responsibilities for that day and volunteer in our communities, we give back with time and can donate to our favourite charities which by the way Ian Martin will match our donation dollar for dollar.
    I am proud of the organization I work for. I have never worked for a company that shares financials in such a transparent way.

    Cons

    The compensation is average. I would say market value or slightly below.
    That said, I would rather make slightly less money then work for a company that doesn't have a sense of direction, purpose or moral compass. The drive into work is good for me as well. So really, I have nothing to complain about.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. You have a lot of people contributing and supporting the future success of Ian Martin

    Ian Martin Group Response

    4 Jun, 2018 – Chief Steward & CEO

    Thanks for all the stuff you're doing to make the company awesome... !


  4. "Back office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great place to work. Employees are treated as family.

    Cons

    no cons as of yet.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to do what you are doing but look more into giving all employees equal opportunities.

    Ian Martin Group Response

    4 Jun, 2018 – Chief Steward & CEO

    Thanks for the post... I've very interested to learn what's behind your comment about "giving all employees equal opportunities"... we have the Role Advice Process, which allows any employee to... More


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Ian Martin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time

    Pros

    Flexible, B corp, Moving toward self-management , self-assessment to match like, wants and needs.

    Cons

    career opportunities, compensation, conservative, unfocused

    Ian Martin Group Response

    4 Jun, 2018 – Chief Steward & CEO

    Thanks for making the effort to post... I'd be very interested in learning what you mean by "conservative" and "unfocused" - perhaps there is an area that you're seeing that could be improved... More


  6. "Forward thinking, growth opportunities, serious about meaningful work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time

    Pros

    Ian Martin Group has worked hard to create a unique offering in a recruitment market without much differentiation. Using the advice process and tools like Cloverpop have allowed more employees voices to be heard in decision making and consequently, there has been more collaboration and better decisions. The newly formed Givers Of Happiness team provides excellent internal resources to all employees. Management has also prioritized learning opportunities and a real partnership with our coworkers in Bangalore. At the Oakville office, you can bring your whole self to work. They're on the Top 50 Great Places to work survey for a reason.

    Cons

    Comp and benefits are slightly lower than the industry average.

    Advice to Management

    It's awesome to work at a place that treats its values as foundational. The balance of creating an excellent offering for customers and an engaging work culture is complementary. Keep it up!

    Ian Martin Group Response

    27 Feb, 2017 – Chief Steward & CEO

    Thanks for making the effort to post... we'll definitely do our best to keep it up! :)


  7. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Toronto, ON
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    -Good Organization
    -Great Values
    -Unique as in they try to be different then most agencies

    Cons

    -Not competitive pay
    -Management is not on your side
    -The only people that grow are managers

    Advice to Management

    -Have a better review/raise process
    -Have succession planning- no one wants to be a recruiter forever

    Ian Martin Group Response

    23 Jan, 2017 – Chief Steward & CEO

    Hi ... thanks for the note. Honestly, I'm very surprised by your Advice to Management because I've been working with both Toronto recruitment teams quite closely lately on: 1. Educating our... More

  8. "An amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakville, ON
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The thing I like most about working here is that the company has a heart and a purpose. While there's always a focus on profit, this is combined with a desire to create a great workplace, develop individuals and have a positive impact on the world.

    From a practical perspective, the compensation package is good, the benefits are decent and the management team is competent and generally open to input.

    Cons

    The benefit program could be better.

    Sometimes it feels like there is not complete agreement at the executive level as to what out long term focus/strategy should be.

    Advice to Management

    It may be time to revamp the benefits program. It's not bad, but it's not great either. The recent increased focus on the visibility packs is good and should be continued.

    Ian Martin Group Response

    23 Jan, 2017 – Chief Steward & CEO

    Hi - thanks for the note. I agree that benefits could be better... we've looked at this a bunch of times ... would love to share the costs/options with you so you can see how limited the options are... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Progressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ian Martin Group full-time

    Pros

    Senior leadership care about the people and try to build a strong culture. They are willing to invest in people and for the most part open to new ideas.

    Cons

    Actions don't always match the message. Some in management don't walk the walk.
    Going through a large change, which may leave some behind.

    Advice to Management

    Avoid flavour of the month (or year) cultural initiatives, and return to old topics that were important to see if they survived in the culture.

    Ian Martin Group Response

    23 Jan, 2017 – Chief Steward & CEO

    Hi - thanks for the note... I agree with your Advice to Management ... I'm always concerned that the work we're doing each year builds one block on another instead of jumping around from topic to... More


  10. "Sr Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time

    Pros

    Concerted effort to improve process and deliverables. Use surveys to get feedback and identify KPI's for upcoming year. Triple bottom line approach to profits is good

    Cons

    Too many changes at any given time. Give staff a chance to adjust before more changes are added on. Finance group is understaffed and overworked

    Advice to Management

    Promote and encourage additional learning through courses and certifications. Not all problems have a software solution. Concentrate on your strengths

    Ian Martin Group Response

    2 Mar, 2017 – Chief Steward & CEO

    I know it's a long time since May 2016 when you posted this... based on your advice, we've been trying to make some improvements to the experience in our Finance group. Let us know how we're... More


Showing 75 of 85 reviews
Reset Filters