Ian Martin Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ian Martin Group Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
83%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Ian Martin Group CEO and Chief Steward Tim Masson (no image)
Tim Masson
94 Ratings
Pros
  • "The way of Giving knowledge is innovative and the work environment is very good(in 13 reviews)

  • "To anyone in the recruiting industry whether a trainee or experienced, I recommend IMG to work for as you'll have good opportunities here(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no cons but we should not misuse the given freedom(in 15 reviews)

  • "Still now i didn't find any cons, If I found any, sure I will update(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great office

    Cons

    No cons working here. Very nice

    Continue reading
    Ian Martin Group2019-11-08

    Ian Martin Group Response

    November 18, 2019Chief Steward & CEO

    Thanks for posting a review... much appreciated!

    Continue reading
  2. "Ian Martin acted as proxy H.R. department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laboratory Technician in Ancaster, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ian Martin Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Little interference in 7 plus years, decent salary.

    Cons

    The company did the bare minimum to be considered an employer, while collecting 10k a year.

    Continue reading
    Ian Martin Group2019-12-11

    Ian Martin Group Response

    December 18, 2019Chief Steward & CEO

    Hi ... thank you for posting a review. I only wish we'd had some of this feedback while you were working here so we could have worked on addressing it for you.Feel free to reach out to me (connect via LinkedIn) if you'd like to provide more detail. Thanks again!Tim Masson, Chief Steward & CEO

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Just be wary..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ian Martin Group full-time

    Pros

    - work from home - most of the team is friendly, great to work with - generally treat the employees very well - lunch room is well stocked and you’re given more than normally - flexibility in your hours - work outings

    Cons

    - don’t trust your co-workers - TEAL isn’t always followed properly - in fact from day one you’re responsible for something that most of us have never heard of - although there are no “managers” there are definitely people who seem to have the power to be - CEO isn’t involved in day to day decisions and probably doesn’t know about half of the things going on - company says one thing and then does another - very untrustworthy group of people within each “brand” of the business - no support from management when you do need it - staff will say how much of a team the environment is but will display differently via actions

    Continue reading
    Ian Martin Group2019-02-19

    Ian Martin Group Response

    February 21, 2019Chief Steward & CEO

    Thank you for the feedback. I think I may know who this is, and some of what happened. Through this difficult experience, I think our team learned more about how we could better screen for, communicate and prepare new employees for the significant responsibility that self-management entails. I’m very sorry you felt mistreated. If you would like to tell me more about your experience, and how we could have handled things better, I'd be happy to hear it. Otherwise, best of luck as you pursue future opportunities. - Tim

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Job Candidate in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are very responsive. They walk you through the entire enrolment process and explain everything. Once you are working on assignment they don’t forget about you, you still have their support if you need it. My recruiter was just as excited for me when I landed a placement.

    Cons

    None I can think of.

    Ian Martin Group2018-12-31

    Ian Martin Group Response

    January 7, 2019Chief Steward & CEO

    Wow, thanks for the post... we really appreciate it!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "no leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakville, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ian Martin Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -ability to work remotely or during special hours -occasional food and lunch catering -friendly staff (for the most part) - have done Christmas parties/Christmas bonuses - allow drinking of alcohol in the office

    Cons

    -no accountability when an individual is not doing there job continually over many quarters or does not do things described in their job description -implementation of "teal management" has led to immense disorganization and a communist environment leaving individuals to argue with each-other for respect and fair treatment -there are individuals who receive special treatment for personal reasons (family relation etc.) creating a biased and unfair environment for many - there is no possibility for career advancement/ growth from your assigned role and attempting to do so may result in your dismissal from the company -the staff has proven to be derogatory and blatantly disrespectful to one another both to ones face and in a cyber bullying/harassing capacity - individuals have had wrongful dismissed based on legitimate terms and many work place laws are disregarded - the CEO has split himself thin across roles managing multiple companies and does not realize Ian Martin needs supportive and accountable leadership

    Continue reading
    Ian Martin Group2019-02-07

    Ian Martin Group Response

    February 21, 2019Chief Steward & CEO

    Thank you for the feedback. I do appreciate the fact that you’ve included specific details in your feedback but it’s difficult to follow-up or address your concerns because I can’t place the situation(s) you’re referring to. I looked at the list of people who’ve left in the last 6 months (it’s short) … I know all of the people and their situations personally and I can’t place the concerns you’ve highlighted. Nonetheless, I’d love to hear from you directly if you have feedback that you think could help us improve. Otherwise, all the best in your future endeavors! Tim

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Such a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If your looking to work for a company that cares and values you, this is the place to be. Ian Martin is moving in the direction of becoming "Teal" which is refreshing, empowering and brilliant. They are also a certified "B Corp" aiming to seek higher purpose, contribute to our communities and reduce our footprint.

    Cons

    Not a con, just something to be aware of. We are currently in the process of moving to a teal organization so things are rapidly changing and evolving.

    Ian Martin Group2018-08-29

    Ian Martin Group Response

    August 30, 2018Chief Steward & CEO

    Thanks for posting... it's true that Teal organizations are more adaptable and agile, which does mean that change can happen fast... the key thing is that everyone has an opportunity to influence the change and I think you captured that well in your cons! :)

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Full Time Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time

    Pros

    They really do care about your home life as well. Having appointments that are family or health related are never an issue. I have experienced a whole new level of independence, and it has given me the freedom to ensure my responsibilities are taken care of all while being respected.

    Cons

    I love the change that has been discussed for about a year of going "Teal" - if you aren't sure what this means, google it you'll have a great read. This organizational hierarchy change is unique but not all higher ups are as committed as others. I have experienced being extremely valued but also have experienced some delegation from management which is the total opposite of the Teal movement

    Continue reading
    Ian Martin Group2018-08-30

    Ian Martin Group Response

    August 30, 2018Chief Steward & CEO

    Thanks for your feedback... I'd love it if you can find a way to give the feedback you're talking about to the "higher ups" ... I'm happy to chat on a confidential basis if I can help coach you in this. Thanks! Tim

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Truly a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Transparency - Authenticity - Everyone is encouraged to be a leader - Positive, supportive environment

    Cons

    - Benefits plan is weak

    Ian Martin Group2018-08-31
  9. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great working environment, Freedom to make decisions on accounts, little micro management and oversight

    Cons

    Company is going through a major management transformation so some things get lost in translation.

    Ian Martin Group2018-07-27

    Ian Martin Group Response

    July 27, 2018Chief Steward & CEO

    Hi ... thanks for posting a review! John and I (as well as anyone else on the management team) are totally open to a lunch or coffee to hear about what's getting lost in translation. In my mind, the only transition happening is part of an ongoing multi-year process toward greater levels of empowerment across the company so if you see something that isn't working, you have the power to identify and communicate it or propose a fix... I'd love to chat and hear your perspective ... just send me a note... thanks! Tim

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Changing business for the better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The biggest pro is that this company actually walks the walk - things like a self-managed culture, the fact that your whole self is encouraged at work, and the fact that you have the freedom to determine your career path may sound like empty corporate businesspeak, but they truly mean it here. The company has a clear purpose and isn't afraid of experimenting with ways of doing things better.

    Cons

    This con is a pro, depending on how you look at it, but if you like to just come in to work and be told what to do, this is not the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Ian Martin Group2018-06-08

    Ian Martin Group Response

    June 11, 2018Chief Steward & CEO

    Hi ... thanks for the post... love it when cons are pros!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 113 reviews