Ian Martin Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ian Martin Group Reviews

Updated 5 June, 2017
48 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Tim Masson
34 Ratings

48 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The way of Giving knowledge is innovative and the work environment is very good (in 7 reviews)

  • Great place to work:-) I am glad to be a part of Ian Martin (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • I haven't came through any Cons till Date (in 2 reviews)

  • Haven't come across any cons till now (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The company is so transparent that every quarter the CEO come to office across the GTA to discuss our successes and budgets, where we are? what is the year to date financials? and where can we improve? Its refreshing to have a CEO so involved in our day to day operations. This company feels like a family, I can happily say that Sunday afternoons are never a disappointment when I look at the upcoming week ahead. I'm happy to work in a organization that cares about their employees and volunteer their time to make our communities a better place to live

    Cons

    Not a negative, but in terms growth, there is not a structured path of development that you go down. There are however opportunities in every corner, you just need to find your niche and go with it. There are ladders to climb, but they are not necessarily vertical.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, the employees that work for IMG are firm believers on what you are trying to accomplish and we stand behind you 100%


  2. "Forward thinking, growth opportunities, serious about meaningful work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time

    Pros

    Ian Martin Group has worked hard to create a unique offering in a recruitment market without much differentiation. Using the advice process and tools like Cloverpop have allowed more employees voices to be heard in decision making and consequently, there has been more collaboration and better decisions. The newly formed Givers Of Happiness team provides excellent internal resources to all employees. Management has also prioritized learning opportunities and a real partnership with our coworkers in Bangalore. At the Oakville office, you can bring your whole self to work. They're on the Top 50 Great Places to work survey for a reason.

    Cons

    Comp and benefits are slightly lower than the industry average.

    Advice to Management

    It's awesome to work at a place that treats its values as foundational. The balance of creating an excellent offering for customers and an engaging work culture is complementary. Keep it up!

    Ian Martin Group Response

    27 Feb, 2017 – Chief Steward & CEO

    Thanks for making the effort to post... we'll definitely do our best to keep it up! :)


  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Toronto, ON
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    -Good Organization
    -Great Values
    -Unique as in they try to be different then most agencies

    Cons

    -Not competitive pay
    -Management is not on your side
    -The only people that grow are managers

    Advice to Management

    -Have a better review/raise process
    -Have succession planning- no one wants to be a recruiter forever

    Ian Martin Group Response

    23 Jan, 2017 – Chief Steward & CEO

    Hi ... thanks for the note. Honestly, I'm very surprised by your Advice to Management because I've been working with both Toronto recruitment teams quite closely lately on: 1. Educating our... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "An amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakville, ON
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The thing I like most about working here is that the company has a heart and a purpose. While there's always a focus on profit, this is combined with a desire to create a great workplace, develop individuals and have a positive impact on the world.

    From a practical perspective, the compensation package is good, the benefits are decent and the management team is competent and generally open to input.

    Cons

    The benefit program could be better.

    Sometimes it feels like there is not complete agreement at the executive level as to what out long term focus/strategy should be.

    Advice to Management

    It may be time to revamp the benefits program. It's not bad, but it's not great either. The recent increased focus on the visibility packs is good and should be continued.

    Ian Martin Group Response

    23 Jan, 2017 – Chief Steward & CEO

    Hi - thanks for the note. I agree that benefits could be better... we've looked at this a bunch of times ... would love to share the costs/options with you so you can see how limited the options are... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Progressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ian Martin Group full-time

    Pros

    Senior leadership care about the people and try to build a strong culture. They are willing to invest in people and for the most part open to new ideas.

    Cons

    Actions don't always match the message. Some in management don't walk the walk.
    Going through a large change, which may leave some behind.

    Advice to Management

    Avoid flavour of the month (or year) cultural initiatives, and return to old topics that were important to see if they survived in the culture.

    Ian Martin Group Response

    23 Jan, 2017 – Chief Steward & CEO

    Hi - thanks for the note... I agree with your Advice to Management ... I'm always concerned that the work we're doing each year builds one block on another instead of jumping around from topic to... More


  7. "Sr Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time

    Pros

    Concerted effort to improve process and deliverables. Use surveys to get feedback and identify KPI's for upcoming year. Triple bottom line approach to profits is good

    Cons

    Too many changes at any given time. Give staff a chance to adjust before more changes are added on. Finance group is understaffed and overworked

    Advice to Management

    Promote and encourage additional learning through courses and certifications. Not all problems have a software solution. Concentrate on your strengths

    Ian Martin Group Response

    2 Mar, 2017 – Chief Steward & CEO

    I know it's a long time since May 2016 when you posted this... based on your advice, we've been trying to make some improvements to the experience in our Finance group. Let us know how we're... More


  8. Helpful (2)

    "Meaningful work, employee engagement and flexiblility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time

    Pros

    Ian Martin Group is innovative, professional and fun! They are constantly finding ways to better engage their employees, while helping communities, and the environment. Employees have autonomy, flexibility and opportunities to grow and continually learn.

    Cons

    If you are reluctant to change, this is not the place for you.

    Ian Martin Group Response

    2 Mar, 2017 – Chief Steward & CEO

    Thanks for the post... love it when even the "cons" are a "pro", for the people we're looking to grow with! ;)


  9. Helpful (2)

    "A great place to grow..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ian Martin Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    open dialogue - if it matters you can just say it
    caring - they really do care if you are in the right job, IMG wants everyone to succeed
    people - a completely different mix of people, a great group
    growth - if you can dream it, and IMG can provide it, you can grow into it!
    Benefits/RRSP
    Flexible work schedule

    Cons

    I really can't think of any...


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ian Martin Group full-time

    Pros

    Nice work environment and tools to work with. The company has gone through many positive changes the last few years. People at IMG are great.

    Cons

    The compensation package should be reviewed

    Advice to Management

    Keep those positive changes coming

    Ian Martin Group Response

    14 Dec, 2015 – Chief Steward & CEO

    Sir, yes sir! :)


  11. Helpful (1)

    "A great Place to work that has a meaningful impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I have seen an incredible turnaround in the 56 year old company.Collaborative work environment with all divisions has led to incredible growth in recent years. It treats its employees as adults allowing them to be involved in the direction of the company. Transparent management providing complete financials and reporting to all employees every month

    Cons

    some greater flexibility in its benefits for employees

    Advice to Management

    keep up the great work! Changes within the organizaion are having an impact outside the organization particulary helping others to find meaningful work

    Ian Martin Group Response

    27 Oct, 2015 – Communications

    Thanks - it's nice to see what we're doing well, and how we can still make things better for our people as professionals- and what would help you.


Showing 48 of 53 reviews
Reset Filters