INgrooves Music Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

INgrooves Music Group Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
INgrooves Music Group CEO Bob Roback (no image)
Bob Roback
6 Ratings
  1. "Gave me autonomy & career growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at INgrooves Music Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When I started 1.5 years ago, I was given the chance to take ownership over a huge complicated section of live code, which was exactly what I was looking for in a workplace. My manager was and still is very interested in my career development as well. The hours are flexible (& remote work is welcomed) and the process wasn't overbearing - I spend a lot of time just writing code which is perfect for me. Office is... comfortable with a decent view and snacks are plentiful. I am very picky about people that I like and I like most of the people here. Most of them are a similar sort: focused, thoughtful, and a little cynical, making them pretty enjoyable (for me) to work with. They really care about writing good code and delivering in a timely manner. Process pretty much is all standard "agile" fare - 2-week sprints, with some backlog grooming and sizing in between.

    Show More

    Cons

    The upper management and product teams are currently be very busy and sometimes take a bit to get back to you. However, they're always open to questions and good-natured when you can find some time to talk to them.

    INgrooves Music Group2019-08-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic and political environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at INgrooves Music Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some coworkers are very knowledgeable

    Cons

    Highly political people get ahead claiming other people's contributions as their own and managing up but never doing the actual work

    Advice to Management

    Try to see beneath the surface instead of promoting toxic employees who manage up but terrible with subordinates and use the confusion (during changes at executive levels ) to their advantage - in such a case it is easy to mask who did what and claim another person's hard work as their own. Performance or performance is valued instead of real performance.

    INgrooves Music Group2019-09-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Ingrooves Review (Victoria BC Office)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at INgrooves Music Group full-time

    Pros

    - Everyone on team very approachable - Well organized and structured - Lots of help available from many directions - Company future looking stable - Great office

    Cons

    - Different teams can feel a bit isolated - Parking (if you choose to drive)

    Advice to Management

    Nothing too significant right now! All managers I have worked and interacted with have been great (keen to listen/help, clear with communication, organized)

    INgrooves Music Group2019-07-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good first internship experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at INgrooves Music Group full-time

    Pros

    Great mentorship, oppurtunities to work on actual codebase and features.

    Cons

    Company structure is very top-down.

    INgrooves Music Group2019-03-29
  5. "Overall great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Developer 

    I have been working at INgrooves Music Group full-time

    Pros

    Great team members and direct managers and leads Independence to explore technology and solutions

    Cons

    Business goals often leads to abrupt switches.

    Advice to Management

    Sometimes not enough transparency from upper management on overall direction

    INgrooves Music Group2019-02-18
  6. Helpful (7)

    "It was a pretty good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends

    I worked at INgrooves Music Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere, nice people, free snacks

    Cons

    Management and HR was very secretive. The rumor mill ran rampant. Went through several rounds of layoffs, getting called into a meeting was scary because we never really knew what was going on.

    Advice to Management

    Tell people what's going on. Let people know there are layoffs coming or when people quit. Sometimes you might not see a person in the office for a few days and wonder where they went, turns out they were let go.

    INgrooves Music Group2017-07-07
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Isolation Network"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineering Intern in Victoria, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at INgrooves Music Group

    Pros

    Good work Life Balance if you want it

    Cons

    Company appears to be downsizing which is super stressful. Management recently changed and they are spinning in an new direction

    INgrooves Music Group2016-03-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at INgrooves Music Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Industry in which you work in People you work with Culture of simply being in the music industry

    Cons

    Compensation is below market without any equity Inefficiently run company with resources directed to the wrong areas Lack of communication from leadership

    INgrooves Music Group2018-11-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "ING review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at INgrooves Music Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    opportunities to learn. good people

    Cons

    upper management out of touch with clients and industry changes. short sighted

    Advice to Management

    invest in long term growth

    INgrooves Music Group2018-05-08
  10. "Leadership team could care less about you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at INgrooves Music Group full-time

    Pros

    Your fellow employees are great

    Cons

    It's an every man for himself culture

    Advice to Management

    Try it for a change

    INgrooves Music Group2018-01-05
Found 32 reviews