IMS (Insurance & Mobility Solutions) Reviews

Updated Oct 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 of over 54 reviews

2.8
42%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
IMS (Insurance & Mobility Solutions) CEO Nick Corrie (no image)
Nick Corrie
9 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Sales Engineer

Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

682

227 Comments

Tech

82.7K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=IMS (Insurance & Mobility Solutions)~297880
Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Not saying

    Dec 7, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome Vacation, Benefits, and pay

    Cons

    Manual everything really All the meaningless uppper management upon management.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    not too bad

    May 20, 2021 - Data Engineer in Waterloo, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nice colleagues, relative flexible on time

    Cons

    no career development, bad management..............

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Disappointment on a grand scale

    May 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Waterloo, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, decent compensation, flexible work from home arrangements

    Cons

    Turnover is approximately 25% as indicated in a previous review. There is zero regard for employee welfare and the environment is extremely toxic. Middle, senior and exec management provide really good lip service but there is zero substance or action behind the words. Employees are expected to give up their first born as a result of poor decision making, poor planning, and promises are to customers that are highly unrealistic. The foundation of any employer are the people and this organization does almost no recognition for employees and accountability is none existent.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Sigh

    Apr 26, 2021 - Software Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    not too much saying about it

    Cons

    not too friendly work space

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    IMS (Insurance & Mobility Solutions) Response

    Talent Acquisition Manager

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Leaving a 1 star review is disappointing with few words to back this up particularly as we carry out interviews with all our leavers and haven’t had this type of feedback. We encourage leavers to be honest and open so I would like to invite you to get in touch with me directly to express your feedback or suggestions

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great People - Big Growth!

    Dec 4, 2020 - Support Function Team Member in Waterloo, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - team members are awesome to work with; driven by innovation and collaborative - great opportunity to work for a global, growing company - remote work opportunities - flexibility for what works for you - lots of time off - vacation, sick days, personal days and birthday day - opportunity to be mentored by senior engineers/ developers

    Cons

    - we're growing and changing, which can be challenging at times

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Ignorance is bliss

    Dec 14, 2020 - Anonymous 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Better culture than under previous ownership - New office was nice - Lots of amazingly talented people who really do care.

    Cons

    - Management is completely ignorant of what's happening in Canada, and any attempts to inform them are ignored. - Manual EVERYTHING, no one is willing to automate anything, even if it would save them days of work in the end, because it's too much upfront 'investment' - Clueless product team that is too focused on delivering new features rather than solving current issues - Lots of finger pointing - No clear direction on the future.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    IMS (Insurance & Mobility Solutions) Response

    CTO

    Hi, Thank you for your feedback. Feedback like this is truly valuable and we are always keen to ensure we are improving as a business and as a team. In 2020, we have significantly invested in our technology and in our future delivery capability - with a major focus on automation and continuous delivery. Our technical strategy is 100% centered around building repeatable, automated delivery of quality shippable product. We have exciting plans for 2021 and we will soon start to truly see the value that those investments will bring. As a business that has been building market leading telematics solutions for over a decade, of course we have software solutions in our portfolio that have not always had the benefit of this form of investment and we are working very hard to support our customers on older solutions whilst investing heavily in new Cloud Native SaaS solutions. I’m disappointed you feel you weren’t listened to during your time in the business, and I am personally committed to ensuring that nobody feels that way moving forwards. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please feel free to drop me a line if you would be willing to do so. Kind Regards, // Nik S.

  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Chaotic & disorganized dead-end company

    Dec 5, 2020 - Software Developer in Waterloo, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Some people are nice and friendly - Salary is more or less decent - Remote work (but only due to COVID)

    Cons

    Working at IMS feels like you're in a constant vortex of crap flying around. Two years ago the company got into a huge debt and was sold to the company from UK called Trak. It was only downhill right from that point. UK bosses talk about great benefits, prosperity and company values a lot. In reality none of the pre-sold benefits or office perks were given back since then, nothing in two years. No snacks, no free lunches, no company shares, no yoga etc - literally nothing but base salary & health benefits. They keep promise bonuses and raises and then give nothing at the end of every year. There is a lack of good engineers but instead they hire dozens of managers nobody needs, layers and layers of them. The company keeps bloating up with people who does literally nothing. Scrum Masters that come to meetings say nothing and disappear. Nobody wants to take responsibility for anything, lots of politics and ping pong and at the end people who are down the food chain are always to blame. The company itself is not that big but it feels worse than as it's a huge corporation in terms of the processes and people. There is no way to grow in position unless you talk your way up and do politics. Unqualified people get promoted to the positions they can't do. Mobile app is outdated so much as it wasn't updated since 1992. You don't get to work on any new features, get stuck working on bugs for years literally. New projects go to the contractors while you're drowning in the swamp of legacy code and bugs. Don't believe all those mega positive reviews you see here, they all are fake. Nothing innovative or collaborative about this company. People talk a lot but nobody cares about anything. I'd not recommend anybody to join unless you're some sort of a Scrum Manager. That's a great company for you.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    IMS (Insurance & Mobility Solutions) Response

    CTO

    Hey, Thanks so much for the feedback - we appreciate it greatly. You are right that there is a lot going on within IMS, it’s an exciting time for the business and as such it can seem chaotic at times. I personally joined the business 3 months ago to assist in bringing some structure and control to the chaos to ensure we can continue to build industry leading software solutions in a marketplace that is rapidly changing. The consolidation of our two businesses has not been without challenge, I agree with you there, but we are moving swiftly in the right direction. These challenges are commonplace when two business come together to form one. It's rarely easy, but nothing worthwhile is easy so we accept the challenge. In the last 2 years a huge amount has been achieved - opening new headquarters in Waterloo, and consolidating our global teams and technology. This year, COVID-19 has provided an unusual and specific set of challenges that has made this even more difficult but we are committed to continuing to bring together our teams under any circumstances. We are confident that we have the right plan, and the right people to deliver it. I disagree that we don't have the right Engineers in the business - we do, we simply have not always invested enough in their continued development - this is something I am resolutely committed to. As you are a current member of the team I am disappointed that you didn't feel you could approach me to discuss – my door is always open so please feel free to reach out to me personally. Kind Regards, // Nik S.

  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Software Engineering

    Feb 23, 2020 - Software Developer in Waterloo, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting problem at hand and huge potential

    Cons

    lack of vision, company is concentrated on few employees

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Outdated reviews below no longer reflect what IMS is like

    Jan 29, 2020 - Technical Support Agent in Waterloo, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Open concept office with lots of windows, supportive environment, established and well-run

    Cons

    Not a lot of cross-team collaboration, more of an "old school, corporate" feel than other tech companies in the area

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Configurator

    Feb 18, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice people, free coffee. Open Concept office

    Cons

    Unorganized and struggling to handle load.

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 50 Reviews

Popular Careers with IMS (Insurance & Mobility Solutions) Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at IMS (Insurance & Mobility Solutions)? Share Your Experiences

or