IMPACT Branding & Design Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

IMPACT Branding & Design Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
IMPACT Branding & Design Founder and CEO Bob Ruffolo  (no image)
Bob Ruffolo
25 Ratings
  1. "Consistently A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMPACT Branding & Design full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've been at IMPACT for almost 5 years, and it's consistently been my favorite job I've ever had. Does that mean it's always been easy and sunshine and roses? No. What it does mean is that I've been challenged, I've gained more experience than I would have working in a more traditional setting for 20 years and I've grown every single day. Growth isn't easy. It requires self awareness, being humble, adaptability and the willingness to put in the work, even when things aren't completely clear for your future or how the company is going to tackle its aggressive goals. That is what I like most about working here, along with being surrounded by like-minded peers who push each other every day while having a great time doing it. All of what I said could also be seen as a big con for others, and it has happened with some of our teammates before. IMPACT isn't for everyone. In fact, it's for a very special type of person who thrives in an environment where you get to build the future with no playbook on how to do it. Aside from that very big pro, some other perks include our unlimited time off policy - which we do take. This is not just for flashy vacations you want to take. It provided parents more flexibility to take care of a sick child or go to your child's school party at 10am. You can have work-life balance here as long as you know how to manage your time well and understand there are ebbs and flows with work and life. Some days you are heavy on work, others you can build in more time for your personal life. It's culturally acceptable to build your own balance and still produce the level of work you are expected to do. You can work remotely in most positions, which provides even more flexibility. This does mean you miss office gatherings sometimes, but the tradeoff can't compare. Lastly, I mention the amazing peers I work with, but to call that out further, our people make this company. They care about you personally, they back each other up and support each other and are there to help you grow, whether someone is an official manager or not. We work very hard, but we also have fun and a great VP of Talent that helps keep our culture alive in-office and remotely.

    Cons

    The biggest con you will often hear is IMPACT moves fast. What that really means is we re-structure often to better meet the needs of the team and our customers (and are prompted to do so in all-company quarterly surveys), we change how we service our clients in order to continuously improve and retain, and we roll big initiatives out quickly because we believe in get it out, then get it right with experimentation and real data. We are also a 70ish person company at this point, so it's not possible for everyone to know every reason and detail behind a decision. You have to be able to trust the stakeholders involved that they are making the right decision and what's best for the company. This can be hard, especially if you're new or if you don't work with a particular team much to have that trust built up yet. If you are someone that likes to see a full project plan and have a slow release, this will drive you crazy. I used to be this way, but I've learned over time it is better to start making improvements before you have every little detail ironed out, and making it better iteratively over time.

    Continue reading
    IMPACT Branding & Design2020-01-23
  2. "An amazing place to work with a great culture!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in New Haven, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMPACT Branding & Design full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    IMPACT has helped me grow not only in my professional life, but also in my personal life. You're constantly given opportunities to show off your strengths while also put into situations that challenge you to discover new ones. This allows each person at the company to learn and grow every day. Not only are you constantly learning, but the culture that the company has built fosters incredible friendships and makes sure that everyone at the company is aligned with our company mission and core values. This helps keep positive morale throughout the teams and allows the company to continue to grow. And let's not forget about the incredible benefits you receive. We get unlimited vacation, free books, 401k matches, and a ton more! I love working for IMPACT and being a member of the IMPACT family.

    Cons

    There are a lot of changes that happen pretty quickly, which I could see as a con for some, but if you're able to manage your time correctly, and seek to understand the reasoning behind the changes rather than fighting them then it's very easy to adapt to the fast-paced environment.

    IMPACT Branding & Design2020-01-23
  3. "IMPACT is Committed to Your Professional Success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HubSpot Consultant in New Haven, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMPACT Branding & Design full-time

    Pros

    This company strives each day to live out its organizational values: passion, helpfulness, and dependability. Working in an agency is not an easy job, but IMPACT will fully support you and ensure that you are set up for success.

    Cons

    The organization is agile and fast-moving. To succeed you need to be willing to embrace change and organizational restructuring.

    IMPACT Branding & Design2019-11-08
  4. "A Unicorn Agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HubSpot Certified Trainer in Manchester, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMPACT Branding & Design full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture and leadership. I started here 3 and a half years ago and have been so impressed by the growth and vision of this company. I don't say this lightly - it's been a privilege to be part of IMPACT's journey to where it is today.

    Cons

    It's an agency! Which means it's fast-paced, changes a lot, you'll likely be working with clients (or with co-workers who are dealing with clients) which always comes with its own set of challenges. However, you probably won't find a healthier, more enjoyable agency environment than IMPACT.

    Continue reading
    IMPACT Branding & Design2019-10-02
  5. "Better than any agency out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Strategist in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMPACT Branding & Design full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at IMPACT is such a breath of fresh air. After working at another agency, this company gets it! IMPACT actually treats their employees right, gives us opportunities to grow and listens to our feedback THEN they actually do something about it. Also, as a remote employee, I was worried that I would not feel like I was apart of the team. But that is not the case, I feel more a part of a team than I have at any other company.

    Cons

    We are making a shift in the structure which is hard and complex this has caused some people to leave and others grow annoyed. But this is a con that is being fixed. Being a remote employee I feel like we miss out on some of the benefits of being in the office. LIke the free pizza, gym membership and so on. But I guess that is the tradeoff of working from home.

    Continue reading
    IMPACT Branding & Design2019-02-15
  6. "World-class talent at a growing, world-class company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Controller in Wallingford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMPACT Branding & Design full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Transparency & Openness: Open-book financial management is an amazing thing! Not only are we completely transparent about all aspects of our financial statements, but the company has created a plan for the employees to share in IMPACT's success. Everyone in the company has control of their success and the ability to speak up when something isn't right. Very exciting stuff! - Flexibility: Everyone is treated as an adult and expected to get their work done. Under this philosophy, the company is very flexible about where and when the work gets done. - Relaxed, family-oriented environment: With an average age of 31 years old at the company, it is a very tight-knit group made up of arguably the most talented individuals in their respective fields. Everyone is treated as an equal and encouraged to speak their true feelings.

    Cons

    Not a real con, but with a bunch of game-changing new programs rolling out simultaneously, it is going to take some time to perfect them (people tools, open-book-management).

    Continue reading
    IMPACT Branding & Design2018-10-13

    IMPACT Branding & Design Response

    October 25, 2018Director of Talent

    Thanks for leaving such a positive review! Glad you're a fan of the people tools and Great Game of Business. As an employee myself, I'm excited about those as well. Keep the feedback coming if there's anything else we can do to improve!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Review from the CEO. Please read."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Executive Officer in Wallingford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMPACT Branding & Design full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Yes, this is a review from the CEO of IMPACT, but I hope you read this and take it seriously. Everything we've done over the last four years has been to make IMPACT the best possible to place for our people. We understand that if we can attract and retain the best people, they'll deliver for those who put their trust in us, and we'll have a superior product and company. 

 Creating the best place to work has remained one of our core objectives, and every quarter we work towards improving, all based on feedback from our employee NPS, employee advisory board, manager/employee one-on-ones, and regular feedback meetings held by our talent team. Because of this, we’ve built a great culture for both on-site and remote employees, our turnover rate is exceptionally low for an agency, and our people have nominated and helped us win awards for our culture. 

 Although we want our people to be at IMPACT for a long time, we understand the company is not for everyone and sometimes things change. We can only keep people on the team who are performing at a high level, otherwise it creates a hardship for the entire organization. But more importantly, if someone is struggling at IMPACT, they need to find something that’s a better fit for them so they don’t waste time and can continue to grow in their career. Over the years, we’ve had to have tough conversations with several team members when it was time to make a change, but, one thing I think we do differently at IMPACT is that we work with employees through their transitions so we can achieve the best, mutually-beneficial outcome for everyone -- even if it take a few months. We’re happy to go out of our way to help our transitioning employees and many have come back to us saying how valuable this was to them. Most of them have gone on to find great jobs that are perfect for them and we couldn’t be happier, and in almost every case, it’s a great experience for everyone. 

In 2015, we created a company vision which the entire team was invited to contribute to. That vision, in addition to being a great place to work, included us being recognized for the quality of our work, holding industry events where we could showcase the thought leadership of our team and interact with some of the brightest and most-respected people in our field. I’m proud to say, we’ve achieved that vision a year early, and we’re now focused on our bigger vision for 2020, also co-created by the entire team. 

 In terms of compensation, we continue to focus on improving pay and benefits. We have made huge strides in this area in the past four years and believe they are above average, but they can always be better. OK - I may be biased… I get that, but I will invite you to go to our team page, ping anyone at our company, and validate anything you’d like about our culture. We’re very proud of what we’ve accomplished and apologies for giving myself a thumbs up on the “rate the CEO” section. I try very hard. :)

    Cons

    No doubt, we have a lot we still need to work on. First, we want to improve our benefits even further. In the last few years, we rolled out a larger contribution to health insurance, a 401k with a 3% match, and up to 8 weeks of maternity/paternity leave, but I’d really like to see us increase our health insurance contribution, specifically for families, and up our 401k match. I’m also very focused on finding the right plan for employees to have a path towards ownership of IMPACT, which I think we’ll have in 2019. Our office is cool but certainly isn’t at Google-level. I think there’s an opportunity to improve there. The reason for deficiencies in these areas is because we pay our people very well, and most of our budget goes to salaries. I’m confident that we’ll address all of this in the next 6-12 months.

    Continue reading
    IMPACT Branding & Design2018-04-27

    IMPACT Branding & Design Response

    October 25, 2018Director of Talent

    Thanks for the review, Bob :)

    Continue reading
  8. "AWESOME CULTURE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMPACT Branding & Design full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture is contagious. Team is incredibly engaged.

    Cons

    I don’t like that I am forced to put a con.

    IMPACT Branding & Design2018-04-20

    IMPACT Branding & Design Response

    October 25, 2018Director of Talent

    Glad you love our culture so much! If you do think of any cons please feel free to let us know - we're always looking to improve :)

    Continue reading
  9. "My ultimate post-HubSpot IPO experience...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMPACT Branding & Design full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *A firm that's considered at the top of their niche (Diamond-tier HubSpot Agency Partner, HubSpot's N. American Partner of The Year) *Team is large enough that there are resources to support you and a diverse culture to be a part of, but also small enough so that every team player's impact can be felt. *A very much not "corporate" culture, while still staying organized and professional. That's a pro for me.

    Cons

    *Small but growing business so sometimes there are bumps and ruts are we evolve and grow. *Sometimes long hours are called for in order to hit the goal *Our product, marketing strategy and website design services, is in a very broad (and often hard to understand) market of services/solution providers. It's tough to always be valued for what we do.

    Continue reading
    IMPACT Branding & Design2017-11-14

    IMPACT Branding & Design Response

    November 16, 2017Director of Talent

    Thank you so much for the review! So happy you're enjoying working here. Definitely trying to provide the most value for our clients and other people who follow the brand, and hoping to have a lot more success stories coming soon!

    Continue reading
  10. "It doesn't get much better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategist in Wallingford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMPACT Branding & Design full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Where do I even start: The people and Culture are next to none. Management is always listening, learning, and most importantly knows that the people at IMPACT are what make IMPACT great. They pay is very competitive. IMPACT embodies the work hard, play hard mentality. I could go on forever about the pro's of working at IMPACT. All around, everyone at IMPACT is treated like an executive, and expected to perform like one.

    Cons

    IMPACT is not for everyone. Specifically, it's not a place for those who are looking for their job to occupy as little of their life as possible. IMPACT is a group of people on a mission and because of that the team here pours their heart and soul into their work. Personally, I wouldn't have it any other way, but again, it's not for everyone. Also, it's pretty hard to maintain a diet here. Everyone's always brining in something delicious.

    Continue reading
    IMPACT Branding & Design2017-08-17

    IMPACT Branding & Design Response

    February 23, 2018Director of Talent

    I love this review! Thank you so much for posting! Really happy you're enjoying what IMPACT has to offer, while also embracing of the type of work environment this is. And I agree with the diet part. Those gummy bears are just so good...

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 32 reviews