IKEA Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

IKEA Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3387 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great benefits coworkers oriented plus advancement opportunities(in 300 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, pay was pretty good for a part time position(in 167 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Returns and Exchanges Coworker in Coquitlam, BC

    I worked at IKEA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    IKEA has a phenomenal work culture, benefits package and pay set up for those seeking to grow with the company. Management is kind and accommodating. Teamwork is promoted.

    Cons

    Customers can have a stick up their a..es sometimes so be prepared for rude people bringing back have assembled furniture and kitchens that they want you to fix.

    IKEA2019-06-03
  2. "Hard work, but gets your foot in the door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IKEA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    insurance, pay increase every 6 months,unionized

    Cons

    Job is tiring and not well staffed at times.

    IKEA2019-06-14
  3. "nice experience to work in ikea"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at IKEA part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      good place to work in Ikea

      Cons

      good but not so perfect

      IKEA2019-06-04
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Representative 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at IKEA part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good work environment for the coworkers

      Cons

      Have no bad words for this place

      IKEA2019-05-30
    • "Stay away from Recovery"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Recovery Co-Worker in Calgary, AB
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at IKEA full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good benefits (healthcare) and loyalty rewards (DPSP) Cheap staff cafeteria (although food may be too basic for some, frequently made me feel sick)

      Cons

      Serious issues with understaffing Company is afraid to fire/discipline seriously troublesome co-workers Management has deaf ears when it comes to co-worker concerns Company says it's above and beyond when it comes to advancement, in reality it's the same old grind as any other job where you simply have to wait for openings.

      Advice to Management

      If you want to work here, work anywhere but Recovery. The Recovery department is segregated from the rest of the store with restricted access; it is not part of the whole and expected to self-function with basically no outside support. In a retail environment where all the other departments have a "you scratch my back" policy where departments help each other, this is a massive disappointment. I have been working here...

      Show More
      IKEA2019-06-14
    • "Specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - E-Commerce Specialist in Montreal, QC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at IKEA full-time

      Pros

      Good benefits, good work life balance

      Cons

      Pay was a bit low compared to competitors

      IKEA2019-05-21
    • "Great employer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at IKEA full-time

      Pros

      Work life balance is great

      Cons

      Depending on position you take work home

      IKEA2019-05-17
    • "Shopkeeper"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at IKEA full-time

      Pros

      Good place to develop yourself

      Cons

      There’s nothing to complains about

      Advice to Management

      All good

      IKEA2019-05-12
    • "Below Average"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Richmond, BC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at IKEA part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Benefits, lenient, food, and hours

      Cons

      No upward trajectory, and management who is not helpful or sophisticated

      IKEA2019-05-26
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Supervisor 
        Recommends

        I have been working at IKEA part-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Full benefits after one year of working, amazing coworkers who become family, Discounts

        Cons

        HR only looks out for the business and not the people who work there

        IKEA2019-05-09
      Found 3387 reviews